health insurance

ahboy82

hi all,

i have been looking at my health insurance lately and. i am currently on prudential's prushield A premier plan. any experts can share on the areas which I am still lacking for coverage and protection? i understand that to be fully covered, there is this cash component i need to fork out. i am unclear what this cash component which cant be paid using medisave further covers. anyone can share?

also, how do u all rate great eastern health policies as compared to prudential?

FP_IFA

hi all,

i have been looking at my health insurance lately and. i am currently on prudential's prushield A premier plan. any experts can share on the areas which I am still lacking for coverage and protection? i understand that to be fully covered, there is this cash component i need to fork out. i am unclear what this cash component which cant be paid using medisave further covers. anyone can share?

also, how do u all rate great eastern health policies as compared to prudential?

Prushield A Premier provide you hospital bills coverage up to private hospitals in Singapore. However you lack the rider that will remove off deductible and co-insurance.

Take for eg if you are staying in a private hospital and the bill is $3000, you will not be able to make a claim as $3000 is under the deductible amount for private hospital. If you bill is $10000, minus off the $3500 deductible you can claim 90% of the remaining $6500 while 10% co-insurance you have to pay.

To complete the coverage though you need to add the rider Prushield extra A Premier. What the rider do is to remove the deductible and co-insurance.

Premium rates for all the shield plans are now undergoing changes. Expect big jump as insurers are now required to add in cover for congenital cover, inpatient psychiatric treatment and increase policy year limit.

PsyClick

wait, big jump meaning the annual fees using cash having a big jump? jialat

PruCorgi

It's an increase across the board... doesn't matter which company.

But seriously, it's still cheaper than many countries and it's still cheaper than paying the medical bills directly.

ahboy82

Prushield A Premier provide you hospital bills coverage up to private hospitals in Singapore. However you lack the rider that will remove off deductible and co-insurance.

Take for eg if you are staying in a private hospital and the bill is $3000, you will not be able to make a claim as $3000 is under the deductible amount for private hospital. If you bill is $10000, minus off the $3500 deductible you can claim 90% of the remaining $6500 while 10% co-insurance you have to pay.

To complete the coverage though you need to add the rider Prushield extra A Premier. What the rider do is to remove the deductible and co-insurance.

Premium rates for all the shield plans are now undergoing changes. Expect big jump as insurers are now required to add in cover for congenital cover, inpatient psychiatric treatment and increase policy year limit.

thks for the clear explanation.

pills

when is the jump expected?

how much do we have to pay on average for a basic hospitalisation plan?

vincent007

I think almost all price increase come out already.

Need some opinion guys, do we really need the rider? I'm currently also under prushield.
The rider/prushield extra cost $350 which is quite high altho it's one year basis.
I mean it wont be too frequent i go to hospital right? The rider could cost more then the deductible and coinsurance in the end?

Suleyman

Need some opinion guys, do we really need the rider? I'm currently also under prushield.
The rider/prushield extra cost $350 which is quite high altho it's one year basis.
I mean it wont be too frequent i go to hospital right? The rider could cost more then the deductible and coinsurance in the end?

IMHO, if you can afford it, then yes. Think about it. Claim 1 time already more than 10 years worth of premium. I mean, of course it's best if you never claim, but that's why we buy insurance, right?

NTTDoCoMo

GE New Price is Out

Any Place to compare New Premium across all companies?

:eek:

gobbyyy02

Jialat lah like that. Does anyone know if there's a price hike for posb myshield premiums? Went to their health insurance page but the prices like never change loh. If so i can buy now and it's still under the stated price right?

ccostagmont

Jialat lah like that. Does anyone know if there's a price hike for posb myshield premiums? Went to their health insurance page but the prices like never change loh. If so i can buy now and it's still under the stated price right?

i tot ish across de board increase means ALL pple kena.
doesn't matter when you buy.
prices are NOT locked in in the contract.

if increase, & chiu bought rast yr, prolly chiu will tio letter telling chiu new increased premiums for the insurance.

MaoZeDuo

For the next 20 years u would have paid about $7000 (not factoring increased premiums with age). So it depends whether u wanna "bet" on this $7000, or a large sum of expense, e.g. an accident requiring an operation. "bet" is not e right word to use though. thats insurance bro :)

MaoZeDuo

i tot ish across de board increase means ALL pple kena.
doesn't matter when you buy.
prices are NOT locked in in the contract.

if increase, & chiu bought rast yr, prolly chiu will tio letter telling chiu new increased premiums for the insurance.

yup. sooner or later

FP_IFA

MyShield so far seems to have one of the highest price hike especially the riders.

Strikk

Hello. Borrow thread for something relevant.
My dad bought AIA goldshield sometime ago, paid by cpf.
Now that I have some financial stability, I would like to enhance it.
What else should I get?
I want a scenario wherby I dont need to pay anything if I ever get sick in a hospital.

NiteX2

What else should I get?
I want a scenario wherby I dont need to pay anything if I ever get sick in a hospital.

If your healthshield has the Essential rider, then hospital bill is fully covered. Essential rider is payable in cash only.

Alfdorel

What else should I get?

Double check your hospital plan and see if it's fully covered or not. Ask your dad did he paid cash monthly or not. Get the rider which covers hospital 100% and PA or life plan. Thats what i think tho haha

bigmice

What else should I get?

just check have rider or not, if not, buy rider is ok.
if have already. no need do anything, already 100% cover.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.