Help building computer (Budget $800)

Phen8210

If it's a she just buy dell pre build. Rma easy for her. You don't have to worry

If chiobu then different story

i agree with this.

Btw this kind of budget want to impress chio bu must get parts from black market, no other way. :(

kjke1986

Doesnt make sense. If you want to get a dGPU like a 1050ti then why would you spend so much on a newer 2200G. The powerful integrated Vega graphics are a complete waste here.

Plus its expensive, and needs an expensive mobo. And since TS never mentioned overclocking, a ryzen CPU wouldnt be relevant either.

G4560 priced at sim lim for 85 SGD. Versus 2200G priced at 149SGD at sim lim.

A G4560+ mobo for < 200SGD paired with a used/new GTX 960 or GTX 1050 would be a better fit. If TS doesnt mind playing No Man's Sky on lower settings.

And highly rec throwing in a cheapass 120gb ssd for OS. The speed diff is night and day compared to the dinosaur HDDs.

Hey thanks for chiming in. So I am pretty confused about what you are mentioning (not a tech guy).

Is this what you are recommending?
- Asrock AB350M Pro4 + Intel G4560 (???)
- GTX 1050 or GTX 960 (???)
- Crucial Ballistix Traver 4GB x2 ($133 via Lazada)
- Superflower Leadex ECO Silver 500W ($88 from Make Fine)
- Toshiba 1TB HDD ($53)
- Liteon MU3/WD Green SSD 120GB (???)

Thank you for your time.

i agree with this.

Btw this kind of budget want to impress chio bu must get parts from black market, no other way. :(

Haha, this made me LOL. It's for my girlfriend so not trying to impress anyone. Just wanted to get a good deal for her. I made my existing computer the same way previously (asking on hardwarezone) and couldn't be happier. 4 years without a single breakdown!

Phen8210

ab350m is amd platform.. how to put intel cpu inside.

4 years ago $800 can build mid range.., now cannot already.. est also 1.2k

kjke1986

ab350m is amd platform.. how to put intel cpu inside.

4 years ago $800 can build mid range.., now cannot already.. est also 1.2k

Hi Phen8210, I don't come from a tech background would you mind helping me out? Thank you.

trunkss1

CPU + MOBO: Asrock AB350M Pro4 +Ryzen 3 2200g - $258 PC Themes
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 4GB x2 - $133 from Lazada
PSU: Superflower Leadex ECO Silver 500W - $89 from Lazada
SSD: Sandisk SSD Plus 240 GB - $69.90 from Lazada
HDD: Toshiba 1 TB 7200 RPM - $53 from PC Themes
GPU: RX 570 4GB - $230-$250 from Carousell
Case : Fractal Design Focus Mini - $75 PC Themes

Total: $923.90

-Above budget as need dedicated GPU. Alternatively if budget is tight, can forgo the GPU and play graphic intensive games like NMS using vega igpu on the 2200g with low settings. esport games will run like a breeze though.

-Not recommended to get 2 cores 4 thread from Pentium G4560 if doing gaming. R3 2200G + B350M motherboard very good value.

- There's many RX 570 GPU being sold in carousell right now due to Lazada's flash sales last week. Performance wise comparable to a GTX 1060 3GB
https://www.techspot.com/review/1411-radeon-rx-570-vs-geforce-gtx-1060-3gb/

-Look out for 10.10 coupons to use at Lazada

maniamcool

Just save up at least 1.2k then come. Scm and ask

No point wasting 800 on something that can barely run even esport titles

kjke1986

GPU: RX 570 4GB - $230-$250 from Carousell

Total: $923.90

-Above budget as need dedicated GPU. Alternatively if budget is tight, can forgo the GPU and play graphic intensive games like NMS using vega igpu on the 2200g with low settings. esport games will run like a breeze though.

-Not recommended to get 2 cores 4 thread from Pentium G4560 if doing gaming. R3 2200G + B350M motherboard very good value.

- There's many RX 570 GPU being sold in carousell right now due to Lazada's flash sales last week. Performance wise comparable to a GTX 1060 3GB
https://www.techspot.com/review/1411-radeon-rx-570-vs-geforce-gtx-1060-3gb/

-Look out for 10.10 coupons to use at Lazada

Hey many thanks for the reply. So just to confirm that the setup you have previously minus the GPU would work? Gaming isn't that important to me. Falling within the budget is more important.

Ie. like this:

Also, may I know how you know that Lazada would be cheaper than PC themes for certain things?

Possible to give me another configuration too just in case I can't get the required parts at pc themes?

Thank you once again.

kjke1986

Just save up at least 1.2k then come. Scm and ask

No point wasting 800 on something that can barely run even esport titles

Hey would you mind explaining why this is so? Why has the price gone up over the years? Just out of curiosity. Thought moore's law meant that stuff should get cheaper over time. Thanks.

Phen8210

Hey would you mind explaining why this is so? Why has the price gone up over the years? Just out of curiosity. Thought moore's law meant that stuff should get cheaper over time. Thanks.

Nowadays there is only apple's law where new stuff get more and more expensive.

Anyway, it's better you to save 1.2k because for $800 you cannot get a 6 core processor and 16GB ram.

Getting a 4 core processor and 8GB ram is a complete joke in 2018. You could have got better performance 1-2 year ago at the same price.

The only prices that has gotten better are cases, cpu coolers and fans.

trunkss1

Hey many thanks for the reply. So just to confirm that the setup you have previously minus the GPU would work? Gaming isn't that important to me. Falling within the budget is more important.

Ie. like this:

Also, may I know how you know that Lazada would be cheaper than PC themes for certain things? Is there a site that does the comparison easily?

Thank you once again.

Yup it would work. In terms of gaming performance,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfUgbyHcv8o

Price comparison manually look at PCT price list online

kjke1986

Nowadays there is only apple's law where new stuff get more and more expensive.

Anyway, it's better you to save 1.2k because for $800 you cannot get a 6 core processor and 16GB ram.

Getting a 4 core processor and 8GB ram is a complete joke in 2018. You could have got better performance 1-2 year ago at the same price.

The only prices that has gotten better are cases, cpu coolers and fans.

Thanks for the explanation but my friend isn't willing to spend beyond that unfortunately :(

michael_thm

Just an alert that Amazon Prime Now has the EVGA GTX 1050 2GB Gaming for S$115. Use POSB everyday card for $10 off and it become S$105. Delivered in 2hrs.

Tartar Sauce

Haha, this made me LOL. It's for my girlfriend so not trying to impress anyone. Just wanted to get a good deal for her. I made my existing computer the same way previously (asking on hardwarezone) and couldn't be happier. 4 years without a single breakdown!

Thanks for the explanation but my friend isn't willing to spend beyond that unfortunately :(

girlfriend or friend? if girlfriend maybe top up a little for her lor cuz like many people said, your $800 parts will be obsolete very quickly. $1200 will give you breathing room to upgrade specific parts instead of an overhaul in future

shadow84

girlfriend or friend? if girlfriend maybe top up a little for her lor cuz like many people said, your $800 parts will be obsolete very quickly. $1200 will give you breathing room to upgrade specific parts instead of an overhaul in future

Maybe kena degraded from girlfriend to friend so he like bochup liao. lol.

lifeishard

Maybe kena degraded from girlfriend to friend so he like bochup liao. lol.

If I am him I will also bochup lor, just wanna build a simple pc not for gaming (playing donut factory Nia) and was told to save till 1.2k first lmao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.