HELP: First time wearing spectacles

Firestorm1978

Old flower eyes riao rah..

I'm almost 45...Been wearing specs since 9, got use to it anyway..Recently did a pair of progressive, my eyes have been enlighten :s13:

But tiagong as your lao hua gets worst, your myopia sorts of gets better..Then in future cataract surgery, suddenly no need correction lenses.. :s13:
I happened to see this 'progressive specs' thingy at an optical shop. What exactly is this?

popsune1

For my case, I wear glasses I cannot see near very clearly. Have to take off glasses than can see near.

winningeleven

"However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further "

Very ill advised !This is a sabotage! U should wear now as not to strain your eye even further!

Welcome to the lao hua Yan club!

I also have perfect eye sight since born and start to wear progressive len when I was around 42. My eye sight started to deteriorate in the late 30. Now looking far also not so good. Every 2 years plus have to get my eyes checked and prescribe new glasses 🤓

LoneTraveller

My eyesight seems to be getting worse. A little blurry when I try to look at things/words from afar. If the words are too small, also finds it a little hard to see even when I am near. Now, I guess my eyesight is at the early stage of deterioration (cos everything still seems quite clear except for the above scenarios).

I am contemplating of having my eyes checked and possibly getting a pair of specs. However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further (i.e. my eyes will get used to the lens and 'adjust' according to it). It also means that in future, whenever I don't wear my specs, the images will become even more blurry than before as my eyes have been 'adjusted' to the lens. It will only become worse. Also, heard that wearing specs is a hassle (e.g. uncomfortable when perspiring/ rash). Should I opt for contact lens instead?

Thus, now in a dilemma. Please advise. Thank you.
Are u in ur 40s?if yes, just go and do a pair of progressives lor. Do it at lenskart if u want to save money. Go for their premium lenses as it's comparable to branded lenses like essilor.

Making a pair there only costs 300+ compared to 600+ and over at other normal optical shops.

Firestorm1978

"However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further "

Very ill advised !This is a sabotage! U should wear now as not to strain your eye even further!

Welcome to the lao hua Yan club!

I also have perfect eye sight since born and start to wear progressive len when I was around 42. My eye sight started to deteriorate in the late 30. Now looking far also not so good. Every 2 years plus have to get my eyes checked and prescribe new glasses 🤓
What are progressive lens?

winningeleven

What are progressive lens?
Progressive len is bifocal len. It is different from "reading glass". Where u need to remove it when u want to see far since your eye sight for far distance is still "ok"

In simple terms. The bottom half of the progressive len is for reading and the mid part is normal distance viewing.

LoneTraveller

Progressive len is bifocal len. It is different from "reading glass". Where u need to remove it when u want to see far since your eye sight for far distance is still "ok"

In simple terms. The bottom half of the progressive len is for reading and the mid part is normal distance viewing.
When doing such lenses, tell the optician that u want to do close corridor lenses such that u don't have to keep looking up or down to switch between far and near sight.This ilooking up and down is why a lot of people can't get used to progressive lenses.

If done correctly, a pair of close corridor progressive lenses will be as natural as a normal pair of eyes letting u see far and near without any hassle.

maumu

there're a few myths (or truths?) that seems to perpetuate our understanding of the human body...

for example:
1. the more you cut your hair, the faster it grows back (especially nose hair, leg hair, etc.)
2. wear specs will make eyesight deteriorate worse, and faster

... anymore?

CrucifyMyLove

My eyesight seems to be getting worse. A little blurry when I try to look at things/words from afar. If the words are too small, also finds it a little hard to see even when I am near. Now, I guess my eyesight is at the early stage of deterioration (cos everything still seems quite clear except for the above scenarios).

I am contemplating of having my eyes checked and possibly getting a pair of specs. However, I have been advised by many not to do it yet as wearing specs will only worsen my eyesight further (i.e. my eyes will get used to the lens and 'adjust' according to it). It also means that in future, whenever I don't wear my specs, the images will become even more blurry than before as my eyes have been 'adjusted' to the lens. It will only become worse. Also, heard that wearing specs is a hassle (e.g. uncomfortable when perspiring/ rash). Should I opt for contact lens instead?

Wear contact lens could more of a hassle

Gixxerfied

I happened to see this 'progressive specs' thingy at an optical shop. What exactly is this?

Someone mention riao..Bottom portion is for near distance, upper portion is for long distance for moi since myopia..

For my case, I wear glasses I cannot see near very clearly. Have to take off glasses than can see near.

Welcome to old flower club..

Eruditeswine

Please do not follow the advice about not wasting medical resources. Please go see an ophthalmologist. If cost is an issue, you can get a referral from your nearest polyclinic.

There are a myriad causes for blurred vision. Let the specialist see you, then go from there. Good luck.

Intel888

Just go optician get your eyes checked.

If it is short-sighted (myopia), and not too high degree, then wear glasses/ contact lenses when driving or when needed.

If it is lao hua (presbyopia), then wear reading glasses when you need to read stuff.

If it is a combination, then more troublesome. Have to get progressive lens glasses.

Better don't wait. If you already feel cannot see properly, means your eyes already straining.

NintendoSwitch

Hi friend,
Relax la. I have been hearing all the tiagongs from some people around me ma. That's why I hope to find the facts from the majority of people here who wear specs ma. So don't say that I ignore the facts la. If what you guys said are based on facts (including you, whom I presume), I will definitely appreciate leh. Not forgetting I have never had shortsightedness or lao hua etc in my entire life lor.
Definitely don't go poly to get referral to SNEC. They will keep having annual or more often checkups and find nothing wrong but u continue to bleed time n money. See those jpb more than decade liao. Every time is nothing. Come back review. Stop going then poly tell u to go back there n review. Bloodsuckers.

NintendoSwitch

A waste for money at first u less u r in front office role where impression matters. Most of the time take off specs is clearer than looking at the bottom of the progressive lens that is meant for reading. Notch cheap either like ard half a k.

Monstruo^

Hi friend,
Relax la. I have been hearing all the tiagongs from some people around me ma. That's why I hope to find the facts from the majority of people here who wear specs ma. So don't say that I ignore the facts la. If what you guys said are based on facts (including you, whom I presume), I will definitely appreciate leh. Not forgetting I have never had shortsightedness or lao hua etc in my entire life lor.
Because it can be dangerous if you can’t see well. Go to an optician to do a check first. This means walking into optical shops. Then see whether it is short sightedness or old flower. I recommend Owndays.

For contact lenses, I wear for 20 over years. Daily / bi-monthly / monthly type. Nobody will only own contact lens and not glasses. Even the most hiao person will have a pair of glasses.

Let’s say after the checks and you are short sighted and still want to only wear contact lens, sure go ahead, but I definitely won’t recommend. Ownself try liao you will know why it doesnt make sense. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.