[HELP] high temperatures...

Teng Zai

Acceptable temps for H100i(w/pre-applied) and 4770k?

Complete buying my rig today, start it up, no issue...

Except it's running 50 degrees idle on h100i :s22:

4770k on MSI Z87 GD65. Halp?
I haven't install more case fan cos havent buy, but I have a BIG BIG FAN(ya blow ppl de fan) blowing directly at it, naked.

First time DIY, success a bit happy... but then the temps really :(

Was still hoping to get it delidded by spyboy and see how high I can go..

Pls read on to see discussion instead of replying to this original post. Apparently problem is fixed but now discussing ideal temps and how to achieve better.

wiwi

wait till u try it at load. BTW r u a gamer or enthusiast?

Teng Zai

wait till u try it at load. BTW r u a gamer or enthusiast?

Gamer nia, but very interested and love to play with hardware just recently only.

Temp seem abit too high at idle... did u try remount ur HSF?

Bo remount, but guys I just did some search and found that BIOS Temps should be higher. True or no? I'm still downloading the mobo drivers at the moment..

What should I expect to see in mobo temps? Mine normal? And what should I expect to see idle temps in idle win8?

Thanks all for responses.

Teng Zai

Ok figured it out guys. Apparently BIOS love to make me depress and show higher temps due to it loading full on a single core(from what i read)

Temps around 35 now at idle! Hehe.............................

Biff73

You should buy good thermal compound like artic silver 5 or mx4,tim included with h100i sucks

Teng Zai

You should buy good thermal compound like artic silver 5 or mx4,tim included with h100i sucks

My temps now aren't too bad le. But really got use meh? At most 1-3 deg diff? Cos many search I did alot of good review on stock paste.

Like this
http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/corsair_hydro_series_h100i_review,11.html

Anyway whats the average idle temps for a stock speed 4770k with h100i?

Biff73

My temps now aren't too bad le. But really got use meh? At mos
Its more about load temps especially when oced,you are willing to pay for decent aio cooler, but unwilling to buy decent tim?expect 90c on ibt runs with no air con room at 4.5ghz, decent tim maybe 5-8c lower at load, sg weather temps & humidity very high compared to Europe or U.S.

Assault

he's probably scared to dismantle his whole rig and pull out the cooler to apply good aftermarket TIM...

royfrosty

Bios sure show higher temp.

Probably try to change the paste. Cause I notice most of the stock paste isnt really that good.

Just when I purchase my xigmatek gaia on idle im getting lowest 30. Max 35. With prime 95 running for about 30mins im getting 60 at min. 65 at max.

So after removing the stock paste replace with artic silver. On idle I got 27 at min. 31 on max. With prime95 running for 30mins. Got it at 56 on min. 60 on max. A good 3-5 degrees difference.

wuweiz

Gx gx to TS.. what's the final build that u bought and assembled?

gladiusgg

since idle temp is fine then u shld look at load temp to see if ur h100i is is performing normally.

Teng Zai

Wah why some people can say i scared to open cooler, when i took hours to slowly diy my very first rig? Very hard meh the only thing i missing is better paste and an alcohol wipe..?

Will upload pics guys. And ya, royfrosty is right, i got the gd65.

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
Wah why some people can say i scared to open cooler, when i took hours to slowly diy my very first rig? Very hard meh the only thing i missing is better paste and an alcohol wipe..?

It's okay to do it slowly but have to do it properly. Just like your title, which I changed for you.

The change of paste will of no difference if you do not apply it properly.

Also make sure the ventilation in your case is good.

Some examples (depending on your casing):
computer-case-airflow-diagram.jpg

dustfree_d01.jpg

cool-computer.jpg

eminus

awesome mobo...the stock thermal paste of H100i is very good but needs a bit of curing

Teng Zai

Gx gx to TS.. what's the final build that u bought and assembled?

Thanks bro!! Here below.

MOBO: MSI Z87 GD65
CPU: i7-4770K
RAM: Avexir Core Series (4x4GB)
GPU: ASUS HD7970 Direct CU II TOP 3GB
SSD: Plextor M5Pro Xtreme 128gb
HDD: Toshiba 1TB
CASE: NZXT Switch 810
PSU: Corsair AX1200
COOLER: H100i

It's okay to do it slowly but have to do it properly. Just like your title, which I changed for you.

The change of paste will of no difference if you do not apply it properly.

Also make sure the ventilation in your case is good.

Some examples (depending on your casing):
computer-case-airflow-diagram.jpg

Yesterday shag liao then I see crap temps, anyhow put title mah :s22:
Ya I have my ventilation all planned out, heading down to sls today to get more case fans. FYI ytd was a big fan I use to blow directly on the naked case.

awesome mobo...the stock thermal paste of H100i is very good but needs a bit of curing

Will google on 'curing'. Edit: Just did. If your curing meant by burn in, I will get it done asap!! Which is tonight or tomorrow ):

Some of the guys posting on top need to chill leh, I still beginner everything I deduce is from google, I have zero experience on field which is why I asking. If you tell me stock tims are crap, but others here saying it is good, who do I believe? I confirm will replace one what I drop 2.2k on a rig I believe $15-20 on a good investment such as thermal paste which can use multiple times shouldn't be a problem?

And apparently, what I was asking is not whether stock(h100i) paste need to reapply. I was asking if my TEMPS now, with stock h100i pre applied paste is normal or above average on idle. I decided not to get thermal paste first because I heard the tims on it are high quality. Changing it in future is no problem and 'why not'?

Yeah will run load tests, not now though no time at the moment.
Last night finish up and cleaned up already 5am++.

All the friendly bro's here, wait abit. Pics up in abt 10mins~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.