[HELP] high temperatures...

Teng Zai

Okay pics here. I know very few keep forgetting to take haha.
Cable management is all good, but do take note that the last few pic when I put in h100i, I haven't manage the h100i yet cos it was very late already, just wanted to test if it boots properly. More pics tonight or tomorrow? If I can get my case fans today!

Hoots from SLS! (Not all from SLS but I spend the most there)
Tradepac indian uncles very friendly and give me good good very the best prices :p

Me at work.

Avexir Core Rams. SIBEI PRETTYY gonna poison you bros out there.
Get from KuanYu, if you need his ctc I can pm u. Good prices and very nice and honest guy(Cables havent manage yet. Only h100i pump suppose to run across.

Was thinking of putting this infront, but nah I'll do something else in future.

Again, cables not finish managing on h100i. All the hanging cables from h100i only.

ChandlerBing

Thanks bro!! Here below.

MOBO: MSI Z87 GD65
CPU: i7-4770K
RAM: Avexir Core Series (4x4GB)
GPU: ASUS HD7970 Direct CU II TOP 3GB
SSD: Plextor M5Pro Xtreme 128gb
HDD: Toshiba 1TB
CASE: NZXT Switch 810
PSU: Corsair AX1200
COOLER: H100i

Yesterday shag liao then I see crap temps, anyhow put title mah :s22:
Ya I have my ventilation all planned out, heading down to sls today to get more case fans. FYI ytd was a big fan I use to blow directly on the naked case.

Will google on 'curing'. Edit: Just did. If your curing meant by burn in, I will get it done asap!! Which is tonight or tomorrow ):

Some of the guys posting on top need to chill leh, I still beginner everything I deduce is from google, I have zero experience on field which is why I asking. If you tell me stock tims are crap, but others here saying it is good, who do I believe? I confirm will replace one what I drop 2.2k on a rig I believe $15-20 on a good investment such as thermal paste which can use multiple times shouldn't be a problem?

And apparently, what I was asking is not whether stock(h100i) paste need to reapply. I was asking if my TEMPS now, with stock h100i pre applied paste is normal or above average on idle. I decided not to get thermal paste first because I heard the tims on it are high quality. Changing it in future is no problem and 'why not'?

Yeah will run load tests, not now though no time at the moment.
Last night finish up and cleaned up already 5am++.

All the friendly bro's here, wait abit. Pics up in abt 10mins~

First off, congrats on your first self-assembled work! You do feel a sense of accomplishment don't you? Happy for you. :)

Now to address the issue of whether you should reapply the thermal paste on your h100i. I think your idle temps now @ 35 degrees is ok. Like what most of the others have said, the indication of a good and effective cooler / thermal paste is when the CPU is under load. Otherwise, most of the idle temps is about 33-39 or thereabouts for the H100i or similar AIO water coolers. Run AIDA64 on it for about 30 mins and see what the temps are like.

Don't bother using BIOS to read your CPU temps. They're usually hopelessly inaccurate. Download CoreTemp or RealTemp. Since you have the H100i, download the Corsair Link software to configure your cooler's fans, they make a difference too. To the temps and the noise levels haha.

My idle temps on the h100i are about 32-34, so I don't really see a need for you to reapply thermal paste for now. Maybe you can buy a good thermal paste and reapply it say maybe 6 months down the road as part of your maintenance schedule. But I doubt it will make a significant difference at stock.

Another thing you can do is make sure the airflow in your casing is good. That can help lower temps a wee bit, but don't expect too much. You haven't shared the fan setup in your build with us yet.

Get some rest and fuss over your build later lah. You will need the energy to iron out the little details later!

Teng Zai

First off, congrats on your first self-assembled work! You do feel a sense of accomplishment don't you? Happy for you. :)

Now to address the issue of whether you should reapply the thermal paste on your h100i. I think your idle temps now @ 35 degrees is ok. Like what most of the others have said, the indication of a good and effective cooler / thermal paste is when the CPU is under load. Otherwise, most of the idle temps is about 33-39 or thereabouts for the H100i or similar AIO water coolers. Run AIDA64 on it for about 30 mins and see what the temps are like.

Don't bother using BIOS to read your CPU temps. They're usually hopelessly inaccurate. Download CoreTemp or RealTemp. Since you have the H100i, download the Corsair Link software to configure your cooler's fans, they make a difference too. To the temps and the noise levels haha.

My idle temps on the h100i are about 32-34, so I don't really see a need for you to reapply thermal paste for now. Maybe you can buy a good thermal paste and reapply it say maybe 6 months down the road as part of your maintenance schedule. But I doubt it will make a significant difference at stock.

Another thing you can do is make sure the airflow in your casing is good. That can help lower temps a wee bit, but don't expect too much. You haven't shared the fan setup in your build with us yet.

Get some rest and fuss over your build later lah. You will need the energy to iron out the little details later!

Thumbs up for you bro, informative and another one of the nice bros here.
Haha yeah getting rest now going out for some air!!

These are temps I took ytd idle. Good or no? Paiseh use phone was lazy cos haven't configure LAN connection for it and just transfer CPUID installed through thumbdrive.

For case fan setup, I going to follow something like this. What are cheap, quiet and good LED case fans?

nzxt-switch-fan-setup-v1.0 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

The rams gt other colours? Can pm me?

Ya bro but duno have stock anot. Wait ah I ask KuanYu for u 1st. He haven't tell me if I can share his ctc.

ChandlerBing

Thumbs up for you bro, informative and another one of the nice bros here.
Haha yeah getting rest now going out for some air!!

These are temps I took ytd idle. Good or no? Paiseh use phone was lazy cos haven't configure LAN connection for it and just transfer CPUID installed through thumbdrive.

For case fan setup, I going to follow something like this. What are cheap, quiet and good LED case fans?

nzxt-switch-fan-setup-v1.0 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Your idle temps are normal. Not to worry.

Wah so many fans ah? You sure you can tahan the noise haha. Oh, and your h100i fans are configured as intake or exhaust? Coz I can see that there're 3 other exhaust fans on the top of the case in your proposed setup. Are you gonna do a push-pull?

lyfeforce

Senior Moderator
The temperatures don't look too bad. But what when you are stress testing?

royfrosty

Msg him already. He only left white 1600mhz kit. And red only got 2133mhz. Just prdered from him the 1600mhz

Teng Zai

Your idle temps are normal. Not to worry.

Wah so many fans ah? You sure you can tahan the noise haha. Oh, and your h100i fans are configured as intake or exhaust? Coz I can see that there're 3 other exhaust fans on the top of the case in your proposed setup. Are you gonna do a push-pull?

That's not my setup leh, got online.
Not sure wor, but I planning to dump the h100i stock fans and all the stock nzxt case fans(except maybe the front I put stock nzxt case fans?
h100i fans too noisy liao. Any quiet fans with LED?

And for the top part, I don't really know how also leh.. H100i do push pull ah? What's better?

The temperatures don't look too bad. But what when you are stress testing?

What you mean? I tonight or tomorrow then do all these things ba haha I settle my cable management and fans first! Also, IDK how to stress test YET. Will look up on the necessaries when the time comes.

Msg him already. He only left white 1600mhz kit. And red only got 2133mhz. Just prdered from him the 1600mhz

GL bro, hope ur hoots come in ASAP!

royfrosty

Not sure wor, but I planning to dump the h100i stock fans and all the stock nzxt case fans(except maybe the front I put stock nzxt case fans?

And for the top part, I don't really know how also leh.. H100i do push pull ah? What's better?

What you mean? I tonight or tomorrow then do all these things ba haha I settle my cable management and fans first! Also, IDK how to stress test YET. Will look up on the necessaries when the time comes.

GL bro, hope ur hoots come in ASAP!

Btw bro. I saw online that this ram could actually get the LED to work in timing. Damn suiiiiiiiI~~~~~~~~~~~~ lah.

Any idea how to do it?

Avexir Core Series DDR3 RAM with Flashing & Dimming Blue LEDs - YouTube

shadow84

Wun it be a little distracting if im watching movies n all... something beside me keeps flashing here and there... wonder if can make it light up all the way...

Also, if i get the bitfenix alchemy led, and paste it onto my cover case, making it like a spotlight, wonder how will the ram's light compare...

royfrosty

Wun it be a little distracting if im watching movies n all... something beside me keeps flashing here and there... wonder if can make it light up all the way...

Also, if i get the bitfenix alchemy led, and paste it onto my cover case, making it like a spotlight, wonder how will the ram's light compare...

Not sure though.

But for me what I intending to do is get the red ram. Then get the red led strips. Cause red led strips shine at a certain angle. So able to at lease shine at other portion of the mobo. Buying a red cold cathode is possible also. But it will probably shine till the red led ram unable to see clearly.

Gattberserk

Everything look good except your way-overkill PSU...
1.2K is meant for those running tri-Xfire HD 7970

A 600W decent PSU is more than sufficient to power your setup...

royfrosty

Everything look good except your way-overkill PSU...
1.2K is meant for those running tri-Xfire HD 7970

A 600W decent PSU is more than sufficient to power your setup...

He actually going for Xfire in the future IIRC.

Teng Zai

He actually going for Xfire in the future IIRC.

Thanks frosty bro for explaining.
Besides, whats wrong with overkill psu? People go for overkill mobo, cpu, gpu, and most commonly cooling systems and casings for their minimal needs but everyone loves to pick on psu's only.

I got the ax1200 at a superb great deal, second hand looks brand new and 6.5y+ warranty remaining on it. I don't see why not go higher if you can get higher at a lower price?
Also, got it because I can :)

Went sls just now, unfortunately cybermind no stocks for spectre pro red led 140mm. Anyone know where else to hoot? Thanks!

ChandlerBing

Yeah I know it's not your setup, that's why I said "looking at your proposed setup" mah. Anyway, the stock h100i fans are pretty good, don't dump them away lah. IMO you should use them, don't waste money. Besides, I'm not sure if Corsair Link would be able to configure them should you swap them out for another pair of non-Corsair PWN fans.

Opinions on push-pull are divided online. Some people swear it works, others say push-pull makes no friggin' difference. Hell, even the opinion on whether to use the fans as intake or exhaust on such AIO coolers is divided too! So I guess it really depends on you, your casing, budget, available space etc.

Although I've never used NZXT fans before, I used to look-see-feel them when Bell Systems was still around, since they display a whole load of spinning NZXT fans outside their shop. Feels powerful, but I'm not too sure about the noise though, coz the stupid music from the nearby shops drown all other noise out!

Personally, I find Cougar Performance fans vastly underrated. The Vortex ones come with HDB (hydraulic dynamic bearing), have good rated airflow CFM, static pressure, and relatively less noise than its more expensive counterparts. More importantly, they're pretty cheap! I'm using a pair of 140s as my front intake - good stuff. AIM Resources on the 5th floor SLS is the local distro for Cougar fans, and I recently saw the new LED versions in the store so I guess you can go check them out. You might want to consider them if you can't get the BitFenix fans.

Thanks frosty bro for explaining.
Besides, whats wrong with overkill psu? People go for overkill mobo, cpu, gpu, and most commonly cooling systems and casings for their minimal needs but everyone loves to pick on psu's only.

I got the ax1200 at a superb great deal, second hand looks brand new and 6.5y+ warranty remaining on it. I don't see why not go higher if you can get higher at a lower price?
Also, got it because I can :)

Went sls just now, unfortunately cybermind no stocks for spectre pro red led 140mm. Anyone know where else to hoot? Thanks!

Well said on the PSU, especially if you got it on a good deal! I think I saw the thread for this. From the blue forum right? If it is the same thread then I'd say yes you got yourself a good deal. So what if it's 1200W?

shadow84

From Cybermind FB:

Celebrate this year National Day with brilliant colors in your chassis.........

AVEXIR Core series DDR3 designed for gamers.
with vibrant colour LEDs

Stocks available now in :
1. 4GBx2 1600 CL9 kit (choice of white led or red led or yellow led) : SRP : SGD115,
2. 4GBx2 1866 CL9 kit (blue led) : SRP : SGD119,
3. 8GBx2 1600 CL10 kit (blue led) : SRP : SGD219,
4. 8GBx2 2400 CL10 kit (blue led) : SRP : SGD259

Stocks available now.

Which makes kuanyu's deal more worth the money...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.