[HELP] high temperatures...

Teng Zai

Yeah I know it's not your setup, that's why I said "looking at your proposed setup" mah. Anyway, the stock h100i fans are pretty good, don't dump them away lah. IMO you should use them, don't waste money. Besides, I'm not sure if Corsair Link would be able to configure them should you swap them out for another pair of non-Corsair PWN fans.

Opinions on push-pull are divided online. Some people swear it works, others say push-pull makes no friggin' difference. Hell, even the opinion on whether to use the fans as intake or exhaust on such AIO coolers is divided too! So I guess it really depends on you, your casing, budget, available space etc.

Although I've never used NZXT fans before, I used to look-see-feel them when Bell Systems was still around, since they display a whole load of spinning NZXT fans outside their shop. Feels powerful, but I'm not too sure about the noise though, coz the stupid music from the nearby shops drown all other noise out!

Personally, I find Cougar Performance fans vastly underrated. The Vortex ones come with HDB (hydraulic dynamic bearing), have good rated airflow CFM, static pressure, and relatively less noise than its more expensive counterparts. More importantly, they're pretty cheap! I'm using a pair of 140s as my front intake - good stuff. AIM Resources on the 5th floor SLS is the local distro for Cougar fans, and I recently saw the new LED versions in the store so I guess you can go check them out. You might want to consider them if you can't get the BitFenix fans.

Well said on the PSU, especially if you got it on a good deal! I think I saw the thread for this. From the blue forum right? If it is the same thread then I'd say yes you got yourself a good deal. So what if it's 1200W?

Thanks for the detailed insight! Where can I pick up cougar fans? Sounds great by the way you tell me about them, don't mind trying if they're relatively cheap!
The stock h100i fans quite noisy eh, and don't like how they look. Was thinking of putting them as intake at front, but realise I need 140mm fans for the front intake.

Yeap, got the PSU at 250 and the seller threw in some freebies. The price of a 850w gold/plat rated PSU for 1200w gold rated PSU with 6.5years warranty, even most 800w+ PSU's have about 5Y warranty only. 6.5 years is a long time man, 1200w easily overkill now, but 2-3 years down the road? Systems might be much more powerful and easier accessed with cheaper price point. Not to mention how things may be in 5-6 years time.

Yeah highly possible systems may be more power-conservative in future, but why not broaden my options and grab a 6.5y insurance for a great price?

Not to mention it is FULLY MODULAR, hardly present a feature in PSU's below such wattage. Hell even most 1200+w PSU's aren't fully modular. Also, the sleeving looks damn pretty and I have the option of changing to corsair's own individually SLEEVED cables full upgrade kit available in at least 4-5 colors.

Teng Zai

From Cybermind FB:

Which makes kuanyu's deal more worth the money...

Yeah get from kuanyu. Honest+friendly+reliable+responsive+ask him anything type. Also, his prices for the 1600 cl9 kit,trust me at least 30% cheaper than the price in cybermind. Do note he sell other things too, and I'm reccing him although I only buy SSD+Rams from him, because he has been really honest and responsive to me, and some things he will really tell me not to get from him because he cannot match pricing and earnings.

Two thumbs up for KuanYu :s12:

shadow84

Yeah get from kuanyu. Honest+friendly+reliable+responsive+ask him anything type. Also, his prices for the 1600 cl9 kit,trust me at least 30% cheaper than the price in cybermind. Do note he sell other things too, and I'm reccing him although I only buy SSD+Rams from him, because he has been really honest and responsive to me, and some things he will really tell me not to get from him because he cannot match pricing and earnings.

Two thumbs up for KuanYu :s12:

He said if he were to make new orders, he would get a quote and let me know, since i wanted the 1600mhz with blue led...

What else did he sell?

Gattberserk

Yeap, got the PSU at 250 and the seller threw in some freebies. The price of a 850w gold/plat rated PSU for 1200w gold rated PSU with 6.5years warranty, even most 800w+ PSU's have about 5Y warranty only. 6.5 years is a long time man, 1200w easily overkill now, but 2-3 years down the road? Systems might be much more powerful and easier accessed with cheaper price point. Not to mention how things may be in 5-6 years time.

Yeah highly possible systems may be more power-conservative in future, but why not broaden my options and grab a 6.5y insurance for a great price?

Not to mention it is FULLY MODULAR, hardly present a feature in PSU's below such wattage. Hell even most 1200+w PSU's aren't fully modular. Also, the sleeving looks damn pretty and I have the option of changing to corsair's own individually SLEEVED cables full upgrade kit available in at least 4-5 colors.

First, I didnt know you got it on a good deal and it is 2nd hand.

Reason why PSU are always pick on because overkill effectively does no benefit at all... Certain overkill like 4K display or 8ms response 2ms response are being debate on because the human eyes cant detect anything below 16ms, yet the unseen benefit is still there...

Definitely if you got it at a good price, there is nothing to be said, but if u compared it with SRP, den its pointless because 1200W is way too much for a single gpu setup system and the additional cost is just going down the drain.

Bottom line: If you know what you are doing, it is perfectly fine. I have seen forumers who bought overkill-wattage PSU and end up selling in marketplace section just a few days after purchase.

Teng Zai

He said if he were to make new orders, he would get a quote and let me know, since i wanted the 1600mhz with blue led...

What else did he sell?

He sell almost everything ba? Just ask him directly. Price wise I think not advisable to compare with prices other people got from him, he also need to earn one haha. So just research yourselves and try and get him to beat prices, or if you willing to let him earn then go ahead! Sometime not many people can beat tradepac prices since they have some underhand methods of avoiding taxes and stuff, but there are things kuanyu give that can own TP prices. Look around yourself! :)

Teng Zai

First, I didnt know you got it on a good deal and it is 2nd hand.

Reason why PSU are always pick on because overkill effectively does no benefit at all... Certain overkill like 4K display or 8ms response 2ms response are being debate on because the human eyes cant detect anything below 16ms, yet the unseen benefit is still there...

Definitely if you got it at a good price, there is nothing to be said, but if u compared it with SRP, den its pointless because 1200W is way too much for a single gpu setup system and the additional cost is just going down the drain.

Bottom line: If you know what you are doing, it is perfectly fine. I have seen forumers who bought overkill-wattage PSU and end up selling in marketplace section just a few days after purchase.

4K display and input lag of monitor is never overkill one, since there is still considered an improvement. Only PSU these kind can call overkill cos no benefit. However, if you think about it, some people play 1080p they get GPU like titan and play games past 60fps on a 60hz monitor. A bunch of people are like this brother, this goes to me. I got a 7970 asus DCU II TOP just to play DOTA 2 at the moment, but I have to prepare for the future, and even if I don't, I will still buy it because I can. How about people with custom WC loops just for looks? Some of them have done tests pre and post wcing loops with high end air cooling before and then custom wcing before, and some have almost no difference in temps. What about people buying sleeves for cables? Or Very big cases just for better cable management? Buying a 6400 dpi mouse when barely anyone in the world can control anywhere near that kind of DPI speed?

It all comes down to personal preference, your own enjoyment and how you are willing to spend your money. If it makes you feel better even though it's not worth it to drop $800 bucks on a custom loop just to show off to your buddies, then go ahead, heck you probably don't even care if the temps are better or worse than a <$100 air cooled hsf, I know tons of people with that kind of mentality. You say getting overkill PSU no benefit.

I do benefit. And have stated all above. Cheaper price, more flexibility for future upgrades, fully modular cables, ability to buy corsair's pre-sleeved coloured cables, longer warranty, etc etc. In my eyes, these are much more than enough to justify my need to buy the PSU.

I honestly rather buy something good now and be able to use it for solid 7Y, than buy something that may not be sufficient in future and end up spending double or triple, buy and sell buy and sell. Waste of time too.

Assault

4K display and input lag of monitor is never overkill one, since there is still considered an improvement. Only PSU these kind can call overkill cos no benefit. However, if you think about it, some people play 1080p they get GPU like titan and play games past 60fps on a 60hz monitor. A bunch of people are like this brother, this goes to me. I got a 7970 asus DCU II TOP just to play DOTA 2 at the moment, but I have to prepare for the future, and even if I don't, I will still buy it because I can. How about people with custom WC loops just for looks? Some of them have done tests pre and post wcing loops with high end air cooling before and then custom wcing before, and some have almost no difference in temps. What about people buying sleeves for cables? Or Very big cases just for better cable management? Buying a 6400 dpi mouse when barely anyone in the world can control anywhere near that kind of DPI speed?

It all comes down to personal preference, your own enjoyment and how you are willing to spend your money. If it makes you feel better even though it's not worth it to drop $800 bucks on a custom loop just to show off to your buddies, then go ahead, heck you probably don't even care if the temps are better or worse than a <$100 air cooled hsf, I know tons of people with that kind of mentality. You say getting overkill PSU no benefit.

I do benefit. And have stated all above. Cheaper price, more flexibility for future upgrades, fully modular cables, ability to buy corsair's pre-sleeved coloured cables, longer warranty, etc etc. In my eyes, these are much more than enough to justify my need to buy the PSU.

I honestly rather buy something good now and be able to use it for solid 7Y, than buy something that may not be sufficient in future and end up spending double or triple, buy and sell buy and sell. Waste of time too.

7 years... I doubt you will even know where you left the PSU in 4-5 years, let alone 7.

TLDR; what he's saying is that, lim peh got $$, I buy 2000W PSU also can, you buay song? :s13::s13:

ChandlerBing

Thanks for the detailed insight! Where can I pick up cougar fans? Sounds great by the way you tell me about them, don't mind trying if they're relatively cheap!
The stock h100i fans quite noisy eh, and don't like how they look. Was thinking of putting them as intake at front, but realise I need 140mm fans for the front intake.

I mentioned it in my earlier post liao.

Personally, I find Cougar Performance fans vastly underrated. The Vortex ones come with HDB (hydraulic dynamic bearing), have good rated airflow CFM, static pressure, and relatively less noise than its more expensive counterparts. More importantly, they're pretty cheap! I'm using a pair of 140s as my front intake - good stuff. AIM Resources on the 5th floor SLS is the local distro for Cougar fans, and I recently saw the new LED versions in the store so I guess you can go check them out. You might want to consider them if you can't get the BitFenix fans.

Gattberserk

I guess everyone opinion do differ, I am a more budget conscious person, and trust me I have build a 4K+ rig-alone setup before, I have all the cash to spare, but I realized that having such high end CPU doesn't justify the amount spent lavishly. This is where me and you differ in opinion.

I believe the general population overall have opinion closer to me than yours, maybe I just didnt come across you are the just-wack-if-good person so I just offer what general public would like to have. (Cost effective setup)

Dun be mistaken tho, right now I am still someone who will still aim for high end setup for bragging right, but I'm just abit more conscious only. For eg the PSU I had right now, 850W is definitely a overkill for my GTX 670 alone, but I got it because I wanted a SLI setup when maxwell is release, but in the end I realised I probably couldn't justified buying these 2 GPU when most games can already be played in mid-range kepler capability already. On top of that I am not going to get a 4K display to maxmise the power of GPUs, giving me lesser reason for SLI setup. Back den I didnt consider so deep, but now I kinda regret.

Gattberserk

7 years... I doubt you will even know where you left the PSU in 4-5 years, let alone 7.

TLDR; what he's saying is that, lim peh got $$, I buy 2000W PSU also can, you buay song? :s13::s13:

I dun think it boil down to who can afford it, I believe alot of ppl with poor PC are damn rich as well... it just whether the person see the need to spent or how the cost is justifiable for his basic need compare to his luxury need.

Teng Zai

I mentioned it in my earlier post liao.

Paiseh bro idk how i missed it but i'm sure i read through everything! Thanks for info I head down buy some time this week. Which cougar fans are good? LED ones preferably red/blue? Thanks!! Since vortex no led If I'm correct?

To other bro's here, I agree each person perspective differ. And no I wont use 3-4 years and forget where I put the PSU, because I am a hardcore desktop user and will never have something other than a desktop as my primary gaming/computing device(at least for the next 10 years unless there is a tech breakthrough). Since I probably only own one rig at a time, I'll just reuse the PSU and clean it up when it gets dusty. I don't see how it's not possible to reuse it?

Everything real in this world needs money, honestly u got money anything also can get, so i really agree with you guys that it all depends on whether the cost justifies its value to you, and will definitely differ person to person. To me, the mentioned pros and the fact I got it for a very cheap price is enough to warrant a buy on the product. $250 is money, but is not very far from a platinum modular 650w psu at $180 and allows no flexibility for future upgrades :o

Thanks for the enjoyable debate guys, love to see other people's views and opinions and broaden my view to look at things. I really enjoy trying to understand other's views that totally do not meet with mine, and feel happy that I can accept it at the end of the day :)

ChandlerBing

I dun think it boil down to who can afford it, I believe alot of ppl with poor PC are damn rich as well... it just whether the person see the need to spent or how the cost is justifiable for his basic need compare to his luxury need.

No lah, I'm quite sure TS got the 1200W PSU simply because it was a good deal. Not for bragging rights. I would do the same too. ;)

I am a firm believer in what you said about whether the cost is justified. I believe in getting my stuff at worthwhile prices. If something comes along at a price which I think is worth getting, I'd do so.

Anyways, this thread is about helping TS to get optimal temps for his rig so let's steer the discussion back on track, shall we? :)

ChandlerBing

Paiseh bro idk how i missed it but i'm sure i read through everything! Thanks for info I head down buy some time this week. Which cougar fans are good? LED ones preferably red/blue? Thanks!! Since vortex no led If I'm correct?

The LED ones are rated similarly to the Vortex ones. The design is the same I think, the difference being only whether it is LED or non-LED. I can't remember how much the LED ones cost, probably $25 or so? I know I got my Vortex at like $16 or something. Check it out and compare the rated specifications between the models and decide for yourself which ones are worth buying.

I think I saw red and blue LED ones the last time I looked through the stock there. Coz I was looking for green ones to fit my build, unfortunately they didn't have any green ones, else I'd gotten them.

Teng Zai

The LED ones are rated similarly to the Vortex ones. The design is the same I think, the difference being only whether it is LED or non-LED. I can't remember how much the LED ones cost, probably $25 or so? I know I got my Vortex at like $16 or something. Check it out and compare the rated specifications between the models and decide for yourself which ones are worth buying.

I think I saw red and blue LED ones the last time I looked through the stock there. Coz I was looking for green ones to fit my build, unfortunately they didn't have any green ones, else I'd gotten them.

Thanks, will head down soon again. Hopefully got stocks, if not empty handed come home again!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.