Help me build a decent computer

jayz89

Hi all,

help me build a decent computer from this website

GooGoo Custom Computers

and lastly, my budget is around 1k only.

i dont really play high end game, so graphic card no need very satki.

oh and shld i buy the windows 7? cos i got a friend got cracked win7. im in dilemma over this too.

thanks a million

shadow84

That websites sells products at RRP.. and quite ex for a few... you are better off getting from PC themes.

jayz89

That websites sells products at RRP.. and quite ex for a few... you are better off getting from PC themes.

huh no wonder sia. i see all the recommended they give adds up to around 1.2k

then i think i hv to go down sim lim see2 liao

shadow84

Best to just state your requirements here and let the pros recommend for you...

jayz89

okay here goes:

i need a normal decent pc only

brief explanation of what i want is:

i7 proccessor
8gb ram
decent GPU (i dont really play games anymore)
1tb HD
Casing
power supply
hard disk drive
windows 7?

i want to know how to partition hard disk too. like install everything on c drive but runs on d drive etc.

lastly my budget is around 1k. +/-

melovelinux

like others said, their prices is expensive, but if u got money and dun mind pa abit more den its ok

anyway, i try my best to do with your budget at their price

Peripherals

S/N Category Item Unit Price Qty Price
1 Processor (LGA1155) Intel Core i7 3770 3.4GHz S$ 413.00 S$ 413.00
2 Mainboard (LGA1155) Gigabyte B75M-HD3 (M-ATX) S$ 115.00 S$ 115.00
3 Memory Kingston DDR3 1600 CL 11 KVR16N11/8 8GB S$ 79.00 S$ 79.00
4 Hard Drive Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB SATA3 WD10EZEX S$ 87.00 S$ 87.00
5 PC Case Coolermaster Elite 344 (MATX) S$ 59.00 S$ 59.00
6 Power Supply Seasonic S12II 620 Bronze 620W S$ 105.00 S$ 105.00
7 Graphics Card Asus HD7750 1GB HD7750-1GD5 S$ 159.00 S$ 159.00

Sub Total 7 S$ 1,017.00
Delivery Charge waived
Goods and Services Tax (GST) S$ 66.53
Grand Total (inclusive of GST) S$ 1,017.00

its cheaper if u shop at sls ofcuz

killerslayer92

drop to a i5, use the money saved to get a cheap SSD, will do leaps and bounds to improve ur performance

rAcEr

if u dont game, can drop to pentium g2020 or i3. See one of my other threads on the Inwin BQ660 casing recommendation...should comfortably fit into your budget assuming integrated graphics.

jayz89

im not too sure what's the diff between i5 and i7

if i5 can last me, i will take it too of cos.

im not savvy in this kind of stuffs.

and i dont know how to use a SSD.

:(

killerslayer92

im not too sure what's the diff between i5 and i7

if i5 can last me, i will take it too of cos.

im not savvy in this kind of stuffs.

and i dont know how to use a SSD.

:(

ur looking for a normal decent pc i can say for sure i5 is enough for ur needs. im running a i5 and it can do video,photo editing and play intensive games.

difference btw i5 and i7 is hyperthreading, 4 core i5 has 4 threads (aka brains), a 4 core i7 has 8 threads (2 brains per core). so a i7 can process faster than a i5 but only in software that was designed to take advantage of it.

imagine going NTUC and they open 4 counter (i5) vs 8 counter(i7). but the customers see 8 counters can only use the first 4 counters (maybe cos they buy more than 10 item cannot use the express lane). same logic. some programs cant make use of the extra "counters"

SSD.. imagine your 32gb sandisk sd card, take it x4 = 128gb. take that put it inside a harddisk case and u have an SSD. difference is SSD read and write data much faster. SD cards is abt 10-30MB/s, normal harddisk is 100-150MB/s, SSD is 300-500MB/s, ur computer will fly with SSD

jayz89

ur looking for a normal decent pc i can say for sure i5 is enough for ur needs. im running a i5 and it can do video,photo editing and play intensive games.

difference btw i5 and i7 is hyperthreading, 4 core i5 has 4 threads (aka brains), a 4 core i7 has 8 threads (2 brains per core). so a i7 can process faster than a i5 but only in software that was designed to take advantage of it.

imagine going NTUC and they open 4 counter (i5) vs 8 counter(i7). but the customers see 8 counters can only use the first 4 counters (maybe cos they buy more than 10 item cannot use the express lane). same logic. some programs cant make use of the extra "counters"

SSD.. imagine your 32gb sandisk sd card, take it x4 = 128gb. take that put it inside a harddisk case and u have an SSD. difference is SSD read and write data much faster. SD cards is abt 10-30MB/s, normal harddisk is 100-150MB/s, SSD is 300-500MB/s, ur computer will fly with SSD

Ooooo.

i kinda get it now.

u got any recommendation for me in this case?

FatalityV

okay here goes:

i need a normal decent pc only

brief explanation of what i want is:

i7 proccessor
8gb ram
decent GPU (i dont really play games anymore)
1tb HD
Casing
power supply
hard disk drive
windows 7?

i want to know how to partition hard disk too. like install everything on c drive but runs on d drive etc.

lastly my budget is around 1k. +/-

Partitioning hard disk is not what you mean like install everything on C Drive but runs on D Drive leh.

It's more like your hard disk 1tb, you can split into like 400gb for a designated C drive and 600gb for a designated D drive. Something like that.

If you have a laptop,t hose laptop with "two drives" most of the time is only 1 drive, partitioned into two seperate drives.

Can be easily done with disk management.

jayz89

Partitioning hard disk is not what you mean like install everything on C Drive but runs on D Drive leh.

It's more like your hard disk 1tb, you can split into like 400gb for a designated C drive and 600gb for a designated D drive. Something like that.

If you have a laptop,t hose laptop with "two drives" most of the time is only 1 drive, partitioned into two seperate drives.

Can be easily done with disk management.

ooo really ah? hahah like i said i really noob in this stuffs :s22:

then i supposed what i mean is i need a SSD in this case bah. :s12:

FatalityV

I'm not really sure what you mean by "install everything on one hdd" then "run everything on another" so can't really say..

But yeah, SSD is kind of like a dedicated hard disk for installing important stuff on (ie: OS, Microsoft word, bla bla bla), that you will use on a daily basis and you don't want it to be slow or anything.

Then you'll need a seperate hard disk for all your other progs, data files, games, prawn, etc.

I went really budget on my build, reused a second hand gtx 460 that I purchased off some dude in the vr forums a year back, reused monitor, mouse, keyboard, and hard disks. Total cost me about just over 500. (or was it 600?)

If you factor in your ssd, gfx, hdd, I think should be about 900+ :/

I dont really play games anymore too so yeah 460 is more than enough.

i5 confirm + chop more than enough for your needs one ^^

shadow84

You can set your SSD for installing of OS and impt programs like Office, etc.. And use your other HDD for storing of music, movies, games, pictures, etc..

GrimaH

Intel Core i5 4570 + Asrock B85M Pro4 - $388
Kingston 1600MHz CL10 Value RAM 8GB - $82
Plextor M5S 128GB SATA-3 SSD - $139
WD Caviar Green 2TB 64MB HDD - $119
Powercolor HD7770 1GB - $157
Seasonic S12II 520W - $89
24X DVD-RW SATA - $25
Xigmatek Helios 232 USB3.0 mATX - $59

Total: $1058

From latest PC Themes pricelist. Picked a smaller case because I'm guessing you won't be looking to upgrade to expensive large components in the future. Otherwise the Antec Solo is the same price and can fit ATX mobos.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.