help me fix my life

neoniclax

hi everyone, I'm unsatisfied with my current position in life and am seeking advice. I'm 24 years old currently earning 1.5k a mth befor cpf at a logistics firm paying 300 dollars for rent a month. my highest education is higher nitec in business studies. I want to have a higher salary and I do not mind going for further education while working. I'm also not receiving support from my parents. if you guys have any direction or plans for me to follow do help me out. I thank you all on advance

hwmook

Drive uber/grab while you work on that further education.

neoniclax

hi everyone, I'm unsatisfied with my current position in life and am seeking advice. I'm 24 years old currently earning 1.5k a mth befor cpf at a logistics firm paying 300 dollars for rent a month. my highest education is higher nitec in business studies. I want to have a higher salary and I do not mind going for further education while working. I'm also not receiving support from my parents. if you guys have any direction or plans for me to follow do help me out. I thank you all on advance

hi I've read on that before but their homepage said that u will need 2 years of experience in driving

henrylbh

Want riches, go be a pastor like con hee or want peace, go be a monk :s13:

windwaver

Higher education or sales.

BTW, to make it in sales, you cannot be too honest. If you're honest, go for higher studies :s13:.

iCubes

Sadly in our country, paper qualifications count, so if you want a stable career, you have to consider going for further education. If not, like others have said, you can go for a sales positiobn that rewards based on hardwork and commitment regardless of your education.

elnewbie

Long term wise, u definitely need a piece of paper but your short term needs are that u have to cover your own living expenses while studying.

Do you have any interest in studying at all ?

sgdividends

Can u cook well?

I think opening up a hawker stall can earn big bucks but food must be good.

Going the paper qualification route is not advisable and it's a glut. From my observation , I suspect you prefer hands on, not judging but I have many friends from ite who damn Sian theory stuff.

Take courses where u get hands on skill, learn to repair brompton bikes...learn to repair Rolex watches, ....trust me, these is where the big bucks lie and they are niche..

Mecisteus

If you are a good talker or someone who can convince, you can try sales. ie electronic stores, insurances, etc.

Mr.Canberra

Welcome to the keeping up with appearances society.

Come on lah your pay scale cannot be as sucky as mine decades ago. S$1.90/Hour at fast food restaurant. Work my way up with my own way till now can relax a bit. Take it easy. :s13:

Bros here are speaking from experience. Either achieve higher education or build up technical skill sets that can benefit you a lifetime. F&B is good if you are not afraid of hardship.

Nothing comes without hard work. You must think differently in order to hit the motherload. Along the way there will be many a**holes that will try to undermine your struggles. All the best.

Perisher

WSQ cert are worth nothing but can pick up skills to get jobs. Possibly higher than what you are earning.

delceer

Don't waste time further study with your Nitec. Unless you can go in NUS/NTU/SMU.
Your age is on your side, make use of it.
Go and become an apprentice plumber in Singapore.
Don't hiam the low salary.
Learn the plumbing trick for 1 or 2 years.
Then go to Australia become plumber.
Your life is full of colour in the future.
Your salary confirm more than degree holder in Australia.
Thanks me later.

dgeralds

Very practical. Salute.

Don't waste time further study with your Nitec. Unless you can go in NUS/NTU/SMU.
Your age is on your side, make use of it.
Go and become an apprentice plumber in Singapore.
Don't hiam the low salary.
Learn the plumbing trick for 1 or 2 years.
Then go to Australia become plumber.
Your life is full of colour in the future.
Your salary confirm more than degree holder in Australia.
Thanks me later.

pcmdan

Can consider Aetos, cisco etc. Pay quite good but long working hours + shift work

When u old how? I think this not practical.

Ur *job hopping* chance also small..

What if 10years later u are being retrenched...gone liao

pcmdan

I believe if u don't mind hard work..can do sales...I see my Facebook alot in poly can't study one now got BMW, Audi to drive and can buy condo (all are insurance agents)

I go NTU after poly...can't even afford any of those.

Oh and all of them age 31-32 only

elnewbie

All these agents are paying through their nose to upkeep their lifestyle..trust me, i know.

I believe if u don't mind hard work..can do sales...I see my Facebook alot in poly can't study one now got BMW, Audi to drive and can buy condo (all are insurance agents)

I go NTU after poly...can't even afford any of those.

Oh and all of them age 31-32 only

pcmdan

All these agents are paying through their nose to upkeep their lifestyle..trust me, i know.

that one i duno liao... even my own insurance agent also drives Lexus and talking about how he is expanding his team now.

Apparently, he now has a PA, and got a few underlings.

Maeda_Toshiie

In another thread, we advise people to avoid buying expensive policies from insurance agents.

Here, people are advised to become insurance agents...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.