Help needed!

masashi

Recently, my screen will keep getting large chunks of pixellated images after using it for some time, making some portions hard to read/see. Worse still, after a while, the monitor will simply go into standby and hang just like that.
I'm not sure if this is the fault of the graphics card or could it be an issue with my PSU or even RAM or motherboard.
Many thanks :)

Vulpix

Recently, my screen will keep getting large chunks of pixellated images after using it for some time, making some portions hard to read/see. Worse still, after a while, the monitor will simply go into standby and hang just like that.
I'm not sure if this is the fault of the graphics card or could it be an issue with my PSU or even RAM or motherboard.

Take a picture of the graphic distortions with your handphone. Might be easier to tell.

aCuria

Do you get the same issue with a different screen? (you can try with your TV)

Do you get the same issue after a fresh reformat?

Do you get the same issue with integrated graphics?

Do you get the same issue with all but 1 stick of RAM removed? -> if yes try a different 1 stick of RAM?

Do you get the same issue with a different graphics card?

Do you get the issue with your current graphics card on a different computer?

masashi

Do you get the same issue with a different screen? (you can try with your TV)

Do you get the same issue after a fresh reformat?

Do you get the same issue with integrated graphics?

Do you get the same issue with all but 1 stick of RAM removed? -> if yes try a different 1 stick of RAM?

Do you get the same issue with a different graphics card?

Do you get the issue with your current graphics card on a different computer?

How can I try it with my TV?
I have not tried with a reformat yet.
My computer only uses a dedicated HD7870 graphics card.
Currently only 1 stick of ram is being used.
I've tried opening up and cleaning up the excess dirt and after trying, the problems still persists :( I got a feeling that my graphics card is giving me problems. I'll try taking a picture of a severely pixellated screen soon to show how serious it can get, but normally there will just be some minor pixellations randomly.

masashi

Take a picture of the graphic distortions with your handphone. Might be easier to tell.

I'll try taking a picture of the worse case scenario very soon. Worse still that it can cause my computer to hang and I'll have problems rebooting it with nothing on the screen.

Elijahonli

I'll try taking a picture of the worse case scenario very soon. Worse still that it can cause my computer to hang and I'll have problems rebooting it with nothing on the screen.
2 possibilities, either GPU or monitor...but since u say comp hang then maybe is GPU liao....

Vulpix

I'm so glad newer gen mobos got built in dvi ports. :s13: At least I know I can troubleshoot graphics problems.

peterchan75

Download and install the latest HD7870 driver from AMD. You can do it from your Catalyst control panel.

masashi

Download and install the latest HD7870 driver from AMD. You can do it from your Catalyst control panel.

Sure, I'll try downloading the 13.4 Win 8 64bit driver and continue to monitor the situation. :) Will report back on the findings.

Update: I tried searching for my previous update that I've downloaded and found out that the file was actually 13-4 vista win 7_Win8_64_dd_ccc_whql.exe Looks very similar to the file that I'm downloading right now though that file was downloaded on May 10 whereas the one I'm downloading now is actually released on May 29 or could it be 13.5 but they mislabelled it by mistake hmm... :(

peterchan75

Assuming that you have install the correct driver, then another possibility is to verify your monitor. If you have a laptop or another PC, can try connect to this monitor. Or.. like someone suggested earlier.. you can connect to LCD TV via HDMI cable. The powercolor HD7870 comes with mini-HDMI to HDMI connector. You can use that and a HDMI cable to connect to your TV.

masashi

Sian...I'm having the same issues. Think it's my graphics card going to uplorry soon. :(

melovelinux

why not bring to gs shop @SLS#02-32 and let him have a look :) or you can use his place N check urself if u know how

Mos prbly GPU is bad :s

masashi

why not bring to gs shop @SLS#02-32 and let him have a look :) or you can use his place N check urself if u know how

Mos prbly GPU is bad :s

Ya...damn irritating lor, especially when I'm on a page where it's word intensive, really a pain >.<

masashi

Just sent my card to Ban Leong and they will reply to me soon. Surprisingly, the loan HD6670 didn't give me any of the problems I had with my HD7850. Should be the GFX RAM uplorry already :sad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.