Help on getting started!

Teng Zai

Hello all,

Called Singtel today and upgraded existing plan to the 200mbps Home Entertainment Fibre plan. 18th Sept they will come and install.

Have a few questions to ask though.

1. What kind of Router will they provide and how are the experiences of other users on it? From my own experience on their 10mbps broadband, the router is pretty bad, constant disconnections etc.

2. What is the best router I can get under $400 that is compatible with the Home Entertainment Fibre Bundle(with MioTV)? From what I've been reading, is it the RT-N56U or is there something better already?

3. Since I upgraded over the phone, the CSO told me that wireless will be free, but wired connection I will have to pay upwards $80? Asked but didn't hear properly because of the CSO accent. May I know what is this for? If from ONT wire to my rig, need to pay?

Sorry, really noob in networking stuff, some things not that I don't want to search, but don't really know where to start from!

Hope bros here can enlighten me if you have any spare free time :o

cyberet

Hello all,

Called Singtel today and upgraded existing plan to the 200mbps Home Entertainment Fibre plan. 18th Sept they will come and install.

1. What kind of Router will they provide and how are the experiences of other users on it? From my own experience on their 10mbps broadband, the router is pretty bad, constant disconnections etc.

2. What is the best router I can get under $400 that is compatible with the Home Entertainment Fibre Bundle(with MioTV)? From what I've been reading, is it the RT-N56U or is there something better already?

3. Since I upgraded over the phone, the CSO told me that wireless will be free, but wired connection I will have to pay upwards $80? Asked but didn't hear properly because of the CSO accent. May I know what is this for? If from ONT wire to my rig, need to pay?

Sorry, really noob in networking stuff, some things not that I don't want to search, but don't really know where to start from!

1. should be some pace wireless n dual band router

2. $400 is quite alot, can get asus ac68u or the cheaper ac56u

3. I'm guessing its to lay a lan cable from the router to the pc

ussr_1991

Hello all,

1: All Singtel RG are Pace branded one. Wi-Fi, I assure you is crappy (Why not switch ISP ah!!!???).

2: Asus's router is one of the best no doubt, but if you want IPV6, I think you might have issues with it. BTW, other than the ones given by Singtel (Mostly 2Wire and now Pace), Singtel customer service does not support any other brand and that includes Asus. It is easy job for their CSO (Other than being scolded as "walk dogs aka 走狗" or "过街老鼠人人喊打 aka the one asking for beatings" since they come come go go (来来去去) only these few supported products but not easy for you as you will be left on HWZ or Asus helpline for that.

PS: Asus's router has some kind of presets for Singtel. But if you use their MioTV or Voice, things can get complicated and without internet access, you left expensive 4G / joke 3G to access HWZ for help.

3: Not sure. Installation / Activation of Fiber service?

Teng Zai

1. should be some pace wireless n dual band router

2. $400 is quite alot, can get asus ac68u or the cheaper ac56u

3. I'm guessing its to lay a lan cable from the router to the pc

AC68U Got sinktel presets?

1: All Singtel RG are Pace branded one. Wi-Fi, I assure you is crappy (Why not switch ISP ah!!!???).

2: Asus's router is one of the best no doubt, but if you want IPV6, I think you might have issues with it. BTW, other than the ones given by Singtel (Mostly 2Wire and now Pace), Singtel customer service does not support any other brand and that includes Asus. It is easy job for their CSO (Other than being scolded as "walk dogs aka 走狗" or "过街老鼠人人喊打 aka the one asking for beatings" since they come come go go (来来去去) only these few supported products but not easy for you as you will be left on HWZ or Asus helpline for that.

PS: Asus's router has some kind of presets for Singtel. But if you use their MioTV or Voice, things can get complicated and without internet access, you left expensive 4G / joke 3G to access HWZ for help.

3: Not sure. Installation / Activation of Fiber service?

Wah seems quite complicated leh, I don't think can afford the downtime or time to figure out how to hook an Asus router instead of the one Singtel provide.

And bobian, my family 5 mobile line under Singtel, want to take advantage of the 25% total discount on all mobile subs.

Besides, current plan only 6 months. No way we can wait 1.5Y to get fibre. Singtel let us upgrade. Change ISP need pay termination fee, or wait expire...

Anyway, how would getting an Asus router be, compared to using the provided one? (I still want to use MIOTV services etc)

ussr_1991

AC68U Got sinktel presets?

Wah seems quite complicated leh, I don't think can afford the downtime or time to figure out how to hook an Asus router instead of the one Singtel provide.

And bobian, my family 5 mobile line under Singtel, want to take advantage of the 25% total discount on all mobile subs.

Besides, current plan only 6 months. No way we can wait 1.5Y to get fibre. Singtel let us upgrade. Change ISP need pay termination fee, or wait expire...

Anyway, how would getting an Asus router be, compared to using the provided one? (I still want to use MIOTV services etc)

For a start, read this thread:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/internet-bandwidth-networking-clinic-4/asus-n56u-singtel-presets-3540200.html

If you cannot understand it, wait for another 1.5Y to change ISP once and for all. Singtel Mobile not cheap either, per minute block + per 6 second block. All other telco gives per second billing (Starhub recently go a step backwards, per minute block + per second billing). For a $39.90 plan with 2GB data (Pretty standard), Singtel gives 100 mins outgoing but M1 gives 120 mins. Singtel gives 800 SMS / MMS, while M1 gives 600 SMS / MMS.

We know that for both Singtel (See section 1.3) and M1 (Scroll below for "Mobile Plans" at the page that shows the price), every extra local minute at 16.05 cents.

Hence, a 20 minute works out to be: 321 cents = $3.21

200 SMS = $10

But provided, that your calls are always exactly 1 minute or 1 min 6 secs and so on as if that you play basketball (They must pass the ball within 24 secs, so counting seconds on the line should not be a problem), if not, for every call that last 30 secs (Less than 1 min block), you lose 8 cents and every call that exceeds by 1 sec block (I.e. 1 min 7 sec), you lose 1.3375 cents that with every 8 such calls, you will lose by 10 cents.

4G Extra data is also cheaper on M1 since Singtel recently announced double of existing price such that it worth > $7 difference offered by Singtel, realistically saying.

Teng Zai

For a start, read this thread:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/internet-bandwidth-networking-clinic-4/asus-n56u-singtel-presets-3540200.html

If you cannot understand it, wait for another 1.5Y to change ISP once and for all. Singtel Mobile not cheap either, per minute block + per 6 second block. All other telco gives per second billing (Starhub recently go a step backwards, per minute block + per second billing). For a $39.90 plan with 2GB data (Pretty standard), Singtel gives 100 mins outgoing but M1 gives 120 mins. Singtel gives 800 SMS / MMS, while M1 gives 600 SMS / MMS.

We know that for both Singtel (See section 1.3) and M1 (Scroll below for "Mobile Plans" at the page that shows the price), every extra local minute at 16.05 cents.

Hence, a 20 minute works out to be: 321 cents = $3.21

200 SMS = $10

But provided, that your calls are always exactly 1 minute or 1 min 6 secs and so on as if that you play basketball (They must pass the ball within 24 secs, so counting seconds on the line should not be a problem), if not, for every call that last 30 secs (Less than 1 min block), you lose 8 cents and every call that exceeds by 1 sec block (I.e. 1 min 7 sec), you lose 1.3375 cents that with every 8 such calls, you will lose by 10 cents.

4G Extra data is also cheaper on M1 since Singtel recently announced double of existing price such that it worth > $7 difference offered by Singtel, realistically saying.

Signed the fibre today liao, no going back.

I have informed my parents of the savings if we hopped ISP to M1, they are they account holder. But think they find it too 'leceh'... I roughly worked out everything le bro, savings and losses, how long to save back what we lost if we change one by one to M1.

Haha it's okay ba their decision. Home network really not enough, thats why they want to up to fibre. I plan everything out for them only, I have to respect their choice :o

Will take a look at that thread although I have never studied/self-studied networking.

ussr_1991

Signed the fibre today liao, no going back.

I have informed my parents of the savings if we hopped ISP to M1, they are they account holder. But think they find it too 'leceh'... I roughly worked out everything le bro, savings and losses, how long to save back what we lost if we change one by one to M1.

Haha it's okay ba their decision. Home network really not enough, thats why they want to up to fibre. I plan everything out for them only, I have to respect their choice :o

Will take a look at that thread although I have never studied/self-studied networking.

Nevermind, it is understandable. But do a research on potential time bomb for M1 fiber on all the threads for the next 2 years and see what is more worth than other.......

Kvicez

Hello all,

1. The default router given to you will most likely be a Aztech router. While its wireless speed will definitely lose out to more powerful routers like those from Asus, frequent disconnections is not a common problem (at least for me). All in all, mai hiam buey pai, enough for normal usage.

2. An easier way is to get a third party router and link it to the default one given to you. The default one will act as a bridge while the third party one will act as an Access Point for your wireless. This is pretty simple to do.

3. The cost is for laying of Cat5e points from your ONT to any other rooms that you wish to use wired Internet connection. If you want to use pure wireless, this option can be ignored. My personal opinion is to go for it if you can afford it. Wired connection will definitely win wireless, both in terms of speed and stability. The downside is the cost, trunking of cables and loss of mobility. If you have more desktops than laptops or frequently sit at the same spot to use your laptop, you can consider this.

Teng Zai

1. The default router given to you will most likely be a Aztech router. While its wireless speed will definitely lose out to more powerful routers like those from Asus, frequent disconnections is not a common problem (at least for me). All in all, mai hiam buey pai, enough for normal usage.

2. An easier way is to get a third party router and link it to the default one given to you. The default one will act as a bridge while the third party one will act as an Access Point for your wireless. This is pretty simple to do.

3. The cost is for laying of Cat5e points from your ONT to any other rooms that you wish to use wired Internet connection. If you want to use pure wireless, this option can be ignored. My personal opinion is to go for it if you can afford it. Wired connection will definitely win wireless, both in terms of speed and stability. The downside is the cost, trunking of cables and loss of mobility. If you have more desktops than laptops or frequently sit at the same spot to use your laptop, you can consider this.

Thanks bro, very informative.

I'll wait until I get the connection, test first then see if I want to change the router or not.

Don't really understand what you mean by Cat5e points from ONT?
Is it just using a Cat5e cable plug into ONT and the device I want to connect? If so, I can do myself leh.

Cause I called up, the CSO say very vaguely and never clarify properly, but he said it would be $80+ onwards for wired installation... Can I skip that and DIY?

Because Cat5e damn cheap in sls or anywhere. What for I paying $80+??

cyberet

I'll wait until I get the connection, test first then see if I want to change the router or not.

Is it just using a Cat5e cable plug into ONT and the device I want to connect? If so, I can do myself leh.

Cause I called up, the CSO say very vaguely and never clarify properly, but he said it would be $80+ onwards for wired installation... Can I skip that and DIY?

Asus ac68u should have the mio presets, you might have to turn on the miotv if you experience slowdowns, not sure if this problem still exists

$80+ should be with trunking

Kvicez

Maybe the CSO doesn't even know what's it about. haha.

Yes, the $80+ includes trunking. Cat5e cables are cheap but the installation with trunking can get expensive.

TP -> ONT (Optical fibre cable)
ONT -> Router (Cat5e)
Router -> LAN points (Cat5e) [This is the $80 you're paying for.]

Feel free to DIY yourself and save the costs. I did my own trunking which cost less than $60. Third party contractors will quote you $110 onwards per point.

Teng Zai

Asus ac68u should have the mio presets, you might have to turn on the miotv if you experience slowdowns, not sure if this problem still exists

$80+ should be with trunking

Maybe the CSO doesn't even know what's it about. haha.

Yes, the $80+ includes trunking. Cat5e cables are cheap but the installation with trunking can get expensive.

TP -> ONT (Optical fibre cable)
ONT -> Router (Cat5e)
Router -> LAN points (Cat5e) [This is the $80 you're paying for.]

Feel free to DIY yourself and save the costs. I did my own trunking which cost less than $60. Third party contractors will quote you $110 onwards per point.

So AC68U the best I router I can get? Or AC66?

I think adding third party router should be manageable if I follow the step by step in the thread you give me?

Thanks for writing out the connections and cables used! Useful info clarified!

By the way, for WIRED connectivity, does a third party router improve the speed over the aztec?
Or only WIRELESS improved if I change to a better router?

Cos I planning for my main rig and HTPC to be wired(since both in living room near the TP), and wireless connection doesn't need to be extremely good speed. Just need good range will do.

Kvicez

So AC68U the best I router I can get? Or AC66?

I think adding third party router should be manageable if I follow the step by step in the thread you give me?

Thanks for writing out the connections and cables used! Useful info clarified!

By the way, for WIRED connectivity, does a third party router improve the speed over the aztec?
Or only WIRELESS improved if I change to a better router?

Cos I planning for my main rig and HTPC to be wired(since both in living room near the TP), and wireless connection doesn't need to be extremely good speed. Just need good range will do.

I don't think the AC-68U is out in the market already. If so, that is the best that you can get.

Only wireless speeds are improved when you change to a third party router. Wired speeds are the same.

I have decent range for my Aztech but I don't have a lot of walls, so it depends.

Teng Zai

I don't think the AC-68U is out in the market already. If so, that is the best that you can get.

Only wireless speeds are improved when you change to a third party router. Wired speeds are the same.

I have decent range for my Aztech but I don't have a lot of walls, so it depends.

Great, then have to reconsider the thought of getting a third party router.
Most important is my main rig and HTPC, which will definitely be wired.

So it doesn't matter what I use, as long as it is wired, buying anything else wont make a difference eh.

ussr_1991

Great, then have to reconsider the thought of getting a third party router.
Most important is my main rig and HTPC, which will definitely be wired.

So it doesn't matter what I use, as long as it is wired, buying anything else wont make a difference eh.

True, but must check if the default one has all 4 ports are Gigabit port or not. The earlier fiber RG from Singtel has only 1X Gigabit port even though now should be a standard all 4 ports are gigabit port....

Teng Zai

True, but must check if the default one has all 4 ports are Gigabit port or not. The earlier fiber RG from Singtel has only 1X Gigabit port even though now should be a standard all 4 ports are gigabit port....

They going to give me a single band router, just signed up, if Im not wrong is the aztec 7000gvr?
So as long as I use wired, use the gigabit port best liao?

Kvicez

They going to give me a single band router, just signed up, if Im not wrong is the aztec 7000gvr?
So as long as I use wired, use the gigabit port best liao?

The Aztech DSL7000GRV has 4 gigabit ports. Use any port also can.

Teng Zai

The Aztech DSL7000GRV has 4 gigabit ports. Use any port also can.

Thanks a lot for all the fast responses bro, and everyone else who have helped.

Hopefully all goes well after installation, don't need WOB and post more thread requesting newbie help.

Once again, thanks all :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.