Help on Mini-ITX Build

hawthorne

In order to run kaby I have to update the BIOS first right? Doesn't that means I need a sky processor to let it run first? :s11:

Normally that is the case. Unless the new batches have already been firmware updated. If u have no spare skylakes

Your options are:
1. buy the board, test it. If doesn't work, then send to distro to ask them to flash

2. pay the installation charges to the shop ask them assemble everything. They will need to flash the firmware if u paid them to do everything for u

3. Cham siong with the shop and ask them to on goodwill flash for u. No guarantee they will do it for u

YangWuu

Normally that is the case. Unless the new batches have already been firmware updated. If u have no spare skylakes

Your options are:
1. buy the board, test it. If doesn't work, then send to distro to ask them to flash

2. pay the installation charges to the shop ask them assemble everything. They will need to flash the firmware if u paid them to do everything for u

3. Cham siong with the shop and ask them to on goodwill flash for u. No guarantee they will do it for u

Got it bro! I will check with them for the 100 series mobo.
Check with you, you mentioned
Using it with the Zotac 1060 6GB mini. This gfx runs rather hot (~82C under load)

What others 1060 you would recommend? My initial plan was to get Asus 1060 Dual actually.
My Zotac still haven't opened yet leh, still new in box lol.

hawthorne

I can only share what I read, since I only used the Zotac 1060 mini. I'll look for those with more fans or more sophisticated cooling systems. Based on what other reported, those can up to 10C cooler.

That being said, the Zotac mini was based on Nvidia FE. Nvidia has in a way endorsed that they design is sufficient for normal operations. The GPU was designed to work under 90C conditions apparently.

So to change or not it's up to u lor. I'm pretty happy with mine so far.

YangWuu

Understood bro! I'll see how it goes, will source all the other components first.

For a single fan GPU working at such high temp condition is actually pretty impressive.
But of course prolonged won't do any good, therefore use of others cooling system come into place as per your suggestion.

hawthorne

Actually it's the fan noise that's more annoying. I usually game with my headphones, so I dun really hear it. But my wife, who is in the same room when I game will definitely hear it. Not helping is the clicking of my mechanical keyboard. so far she has not complaint about it though.:D

shadow84

Actually it's the fan noise that's more annoying. I usually game with my headphones, so I dun really hear it. But my wife, who is in the same room when I game will definitely hear it. Not helping is the clicking of my mechanical keyboard. so far she has not complaint about it though.:D

Change to gentle typhoons ap-15 1850rpm... I max all 6 fans yet its still inaudible.

hawthorne

Change to gentle typhoons ap-15 1850rpm... I max all 6 fans yet its still inaudible.

Think my fan noise comes from the GPU blower, not the case. Dun think there is anyway to solve this without voiding the warranty

shadow84

Think my fan noise comes from the GPU blower, not the case. Dun think there is anyway to solve this without voiding the warranty

Only way is to create a quieter fan curve for your GPU, but temps will go up. Its a trade off, so you have to find the balance for both...

shadow84

2150 also just mild wind turbulence whirlling or inaudible...

Unless the case in question intake has a design flaw causing an echo chamber effect in noise, maxing RPM on these are completely fine.

Last time i read an article about 2150rpm PWM was that it has a different design as compared to 1850rpm 3pin. At that time, 1850rpm do not have PWM but can be modded to include.

For the 2150rpm, it had a slightly louder whinning at 1850rpm as compared to the actual 1850rpm. Not sure if the present 2150rpm is still the same as previously designed though..

YangWuu

Hey guys! I managed to finally finished my rig!

Only took 2 photos at the end...
Got panic when POST didn't showed up after troubleshooting twice.
End up was the RAM didn't slot in properly, this board only has 1 bracket ledge.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/kkvboiywvf544xs/AABQnRJZOU9tl0qINUtG_lVZa?dl=0

@singupingu: Thanks a lot for the advice bro! I'm glad I chose this board in the end.

So far everything is running great! The C7 cooler really reduced the fan noise compared to stock one. Cable management was hell, luckily Thermaltake V1 have removable panels all side. I guess next time better to stick with tower sua lol.

Just need some help on couple of things on H110i I can't seem to get access to:

1. Is there a EZ Mode BIOs for this board? I can't seem to find in the Click BIOs?

2. I notice there is a Fan Management Control thingy UI feature on the MSI page. How to I access that?

3. Speakers! Does this board have in-built audio? I can't seem to play anything unless plugged into the 3.5mm. Forgive if I'm dumb T.T

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.