Help to analyse Financial Report

Sturtles

Hi Guys,

Any kind souls can enlighten me on this attached FR?

safe upload site

The total number of shares keep change every year, and the Earnings per share and the NAV per share does not tally when the shares are totalled...

Any points I am missing out on?

TIA!

henrylbh

Hi Guys,

Any kind souls can enlighten me on this attached FR?

safe upload site

The total number of shares keep change every year, and the Earnings per share and the NAV per share does not tally when the shares are totalled...

Any points I am missing out on?

TIA!

Number of shares may changed from year to year depending on whether there are new shares issued or shares repurchased by the company.

NAV is total equity divided by number of shares at end of year. This is fairly easy determined from info provided in the FS.

EPS is profit after tax divided by the weighted average number of shares during the year. Info in FS is not available to do your own calculation of EPS.

sulpice

Number of shares may changed from year to year depending on whether there are new shares issued or shares repurchased by the company.

NAV is total equity divided by number of shares at end of year. This is fairly easy determined from info provided in the FS.

EPS is profit after tax divided by the weighted average number of shares during the year. Info in FS is not available to do your own calculation of EPS.

obviously the guy up there in first post maybe ite or poly student. ignore him. but yeah, boy, read the notes, COME ON, english u understand or not?

Sturtles

Henry, thank you!

Does it mean the number of shares for each year = (4 + 5 + 6) / 7?

If yes, can get EBITA from No. of shares x EPS?

Thanks again!

henrylbh

Henry, thank you!

Does it mean the number of shares for each year = (4 + 5 + 6) / 7?

If yes, can get EBITA from No. of shares x EPS?

Thanks again!

The financial highlights have no info on the number of shares at end of year.

Even if you are able to know the number of shares at the end of the year from notes, you will never know the weighted average number of shares, unless the dates of movements of shares during the year are given. The former is needed to calculate NAV per share and the latter to calculate EPS.

wahkao3

wa u very hardworking
i remember when i was at your stage, pouring through financial statements and digging all the details, not knowing what those numbers mean :o

wahkao3

calculate a single PE ratio also take a lot of effort
most people short cut and grab it off bloomberg, yahoo finance or stock facts @sgx

but hor... those website not accurate one, and not updated
I had to hand calculate to get an accurate number

henrylbh

calculate a single PE ratio also take a lot of effort
most people short cut and grab it off bloomberg, yahoo finance or stock facts @sgx

but hor... those website not accurate one, and not updated
I had to hand calculate to get an accurate number

PE ratio how to be accurate or updated? It changes from day to day based on closing price.

wahkao3

PE ratio how to be accurate or updated? It changes from day to day based on closing price.
I discover that the lack of accuracy is not in the P part, its in the E part. E part dont change daily woh!

also,by right a good data provider should update it according to closing price

it shouldnt be hard to program. Last closing price/earnings. How difficult could this be? haha

peterchan75

I discover that the lack of accuracy is not in the P part, its in the E part. E part dont change daily woh!

also,by right a good data provider should update it according to closing price

it shouldnt be hard to program. Last closing price/earnings. How difficult could this be? haha

The saying part is easy BUT the doing part is hard. Real hard !:D

After so many posts, still cannot understand. :o

@ TS,
Please allow me to point you to the good free resource for your Financial Analysis. It's called Morningstar. :)
Here is the link for AAPL.
http://www.morningstar.com/stocks/xnas/aapl/quote.html

Let's use SIA ticker symbol C6L.
Replace xnas with xses.
You get this URL.
http://www.morningstar.com/stocks/xses/C6L/quote.html
Cut & paste this link to your browser and hit enter.
Click on the Financial tab and you can have the following....
Income Statement
Cash Flow
Balance Sheet
At the end of the drop down menu... there is a export to Excel icon. Wait! :eek: Before you export, adjust the rounding to the highest precision,

Wah..lah.. You have all the numbers in Excel. :D:D:D Now you can add, subtract, multiply and divide all the financial lines to your heart's content. You should be an expert in no time. :s13:

Sturtles

The saying part is easy BUT the doing part is hard. Real hard !:D

After so many posts, still cannot understand. :o

@ TS,
Please allow me to point you to the good free resource for your Financial Analysis. It's called Morningstar. :)
Here is the link for AAPL.
http://www.morningstar.com/stocks/xnas/aapl/quote.html

Let's use SIA ticker symbol C6L.
Replace xnas with xses.
You get this URL.
http://www.morningstar.com/stocks/xses/C6L/quote.html
Cut & paste this link to your browser and hit enter.
Click on the Financial tab and you can have the following....
Income Statement
Cash Flow
Balance Sheet
At the end of the drop down menu... there is a export to Excel icon. Wait! :eek: Before you export, adjust the rounding to the highest precision,

Wah..lah.. You have all the numbers in Excel. :D:D:D Now you can add, subtract, multiply and divide all the financial lines to your heart's content. You should be an expert in no time. :s13:

Hi Peter,

Excellent find!

Appreciate the link and explanation!

Hope you made some on the recent SGX bull-run

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.