Help with building i5 gaming PC!

lionheart80

getting discount depends on individual, some might get a lot and some minimum or not even have any privilege, after scanning most price list seems like tradepac offers the most attractive price line for CPU + mobo

I am intending to buy everything from tradepac except odd, ram and ssd so just see how much discount they can squeeze out for me, am prepared for no discount since not getting every parts from them for my new rig but still will try to squeeze wat I can

only scare they extra charge for the installation cost for my new system

trento

getting discount depends on individual, some might get a lot and some minimum or not even have any privilege, after scanning most price list seems like tradepac offers the most attractive price line for CPU + mobo

I am intending to buy everything from tradepac except odd, ram and ssd so just see how much discount they can squeeze out for me, am prepared for no discount since not getting every parts from them for my new rig but still will try to squeeze wat I can

only scare they extra charge for the installation cost for my new system

u should try installing yrself if u can.

trento

I always wanted to try but scare will make matters worse cause I quite careless so better to leave it to the professionals

i only did so few months ago. yes, it will be nerve wrecking, as with learning anything new. but once u do it, it will be easier as u go along. no need professional. just watch youtube videos on how tos. nothing will really break. i was most shaky about applying paste for cpu. other than tat, it's generally quite ok.

for starters, u can always buy cheap parts first. know where to plug in the items. once yr confident, keep upgrading from there. yea, it cost more money but can take it as yr own tuition fee. rather than keep depending on others to fix. After all, they fix for u the warranty is still btwn u and the part maker.

i don't know. once i went sls, took the lift. saw this guy carrying his NZXT system with a stock cooler. my thought was he could have done a lot more to it or he could try troubleshooting. i suspect he has been at computers far longer than me. hope it encourages u a little. trust me, it will be fun!

shadow84

wah bro dun suan me leh, I really very lun chun one

but mostly buy from sim lim, they offer a better rate for cash payment right and even they charge installation fee wat will be the likely cost

Assembling cost excluding installation of OS is usually around $30-50. If you were to buy from tradepac, then you should bring all parts to #02-32, PC care and solution. Find nigel and ask him to help assemble. Much more reliable than asking tradepac to do it, esp for newbies.

monikernemo

wah bro dun suan me leh, I really very lun chun one

but mostly buy from sim lim, they offer a better rate for cash payment right and even they charge installation fee wat will be the likely cost

Haha suan only ma. If you brick your part then you geisiao go say your part DOA. :s22:

Worst thing about shopkeepers assembling for you is that later they makan your accessories, swap out your items for worse ones. If you assemble yourself won't have such problem.

Sent from 10kkj using GAGT

lionheart80

Assembling cost excluding installation of OS is usually around $30-50. If you were to buy from tradepac, then you should bring all parts to #02-32, PC care and solution. Find nigel and ask him to help assemble. Much more reliable than asking tradepac to do it, esp for newbies.

heard of this shop offering services for building own rigs and best of all no extra cost...will see how it goes either to diy or bring to pc care and learn

shadow84

heard of this shop offering services for building own rigs and best of all no extra cost...will see how it goes either to diy or bring to pc care and learn

No cost is if you buy full rig from them, and maybe bargain with them. But they may lessen the discount given, so its like a in-out thing.

But IMO, i rather do it myself. If ur com is spoil in any ways after 7 days, u will still need to take out the part and bring to distro. Im sure distro wun help u remove unless ur whole rig is under 1 distro.

You can learn at pc care, but problem is he might be busy, and may ask u come back the next day and it will be done. I dun supposed you are expecting him to assemble on the spot? If everyone ask for that, i doubt he will finish a rig within a day.

My 2 cents.

lionheart80

No cost is if you buy full rig from them, and maybe bargain with them. But they may lessen the discount given, so its like a in-out thing.

But IMO, i rather do it myself. If ur com is spoil in any ways after 7 days, u will still need to take out the part and bring to distro. Im sure distro wun help u remove unless ur whole rig is under 1 distro.

You can learn at pc care, but problem is he might be busy, and may ask u come back the next day and it will be done. I dun supposed you are expecting him to assemble on the spot? If everyone ask for that, i doubt he will finish a rig within a day.

My 2 cents.

bro u mean nigel also selling parts and assembly service, if so then how are his prices?

avsquare

Don't worry too much about DIY, it REALLY isn't as difficult as you think.

Your first build might take you one whole day because mostly you are figuring out which screw and which wire goes to where.

But as long as you refer to the manual, can't really go wrong.

As a newbie I think the most confusing part is the PWR LED, Reset LED, HDD LED+, HDD LED- connectors. It took me really long to figure out where to connect them:s13:

Magickiller9

I was thinking of buying rig from tradpac but graphic card and ram from Amazon lei. I getting 3 sets. Me and my friends.

lionheart80

Don't worry too much about DIY, it REALLY isn't as difficult as you think.

Your first build might take you one whole day because mostly you are figuring out which screw and which wire goes to where.

But as long as you refer to the manual, can't really go wrong.

As a newbie I think the most confusing part is the PWR LED, Reset LED, HDD LED+, HDD LED- connectors. It took me really long to figure out where to connect them:s13:

think might go for diy and try for once, at the same time can lookout for deals from lazada also

thk u all bros for the kind advise

MoneyFace =p

5 years down the road you may regret why you chose an overclockable K series CPU as most chances are that you don't even need to. Look at us - we are the very prime example: 4 years back we bought Intel Sandy Bridge CPU and even until now performance still very relevant.

You should prioritise and focus on the present rather than thinking far ahead when your budget doesn't allows for that as yet.

Here's some suggestions:

CPU+MB: Intel Core i5-4460 + ASRock H81M-HDS R2.0 @ $294
RAM: Crucial DDR3-1600 CL11 4GB X2 @ $76
GPU: MSI GTX 970 4GB OC @ $459^ (Lazada Singapore)
SSD: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB @ $149 (Qoo10)
HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB @ $70
PSU: Seasonic S12II 520W [80 Plus Bronze] @ $80^ (Lazada Singapore)
CASE: Xigmatek Recon @ $45
DSP: Dell S2340L 23" LED [eIPS] @ $189 (PC Show 2015)
KB: Ducky Zero DK2108 [Mechanical] @ $100 (Xtreme Solutions)

Total: $1495

Buy others from Tradepac, #05-18.

^Price after Lazada 10%-15% discount (TBA later)

avsquare

5 years down the road you may regret why you chose an overclockable K series CPU as most chances are that you don't even need to. Look at us - we are the very prime example: 4 years back we bought Intel Sandy Bridge CPU and even until now performance still very relevant

Preparing to repent now :(

anarcho_1995

5 years down the road you may regret why you chose an overclockable K series CPU as most chances are that you don't even need to. Look at us - we are the very prime example: 4 years back we bought Intel Sandy Bridge CPU and even until now performance still very relevant.

You should prioritise and focus on the present rather than thinking far ahead when your budget doesn't allows for that as yet.

Here's some suggestions:

CPU+MB: Intel Core i5-4460 + ASRock H81M-HDS R2.0 @ $294
RAM: Crucial DDR3-1600 CL11 4GB X2 @ $76
GPU:
SSD:Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB @ $149 (Qoo10)
HDD: Western Digital Blue 1TB @ $70
PSU: Seasonic S12II 520W [80 Plus Bronze] @ $80^ (Lazada Singapore)
CASE: Xigmatek Recon @ $45
DSP: Dell S2340L 23" LED [eIPS] @ $189 (PC Show 2015)
KB:Ducky Zero DK2108 [Mechanical] @ $100 (Xtreme Solutions)

Total: $1495

Buy others from Tradepac, #05-18.

^Price after Lazada 10%-15% discount (TBA later)
Thanks alot man! And woah never thought Qoo10 would have a better priced SSD. I see that you even listed down the OS!
Anyways I did my research and yeah, im setting for the 4460 :). Do you think getting an MSI motherboard would be good though? More specifically im eye-ing on the MSI B85-G41 PC MATE.

MoneyFace =p

Thanks alot man! And woah never thought Qoo10 would have a better priced SSD. I see that you even listed down the OS!
Anyways I did my research and yeah, im setting for the 4460 :). Do you think getting an MSI motherboard would be good though? More specifically im eye-ing on the MSI B85-G41 PC MATE.
No difference if you are hoping for any performance improvement. B85 may provide you more SATA and USB 3.0 ports but whether you really need them will be another issue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.