Help with overclocking 5820K

Nitrile

I've managed to get a stable overclock using manual voltage, 4.5 GHZ @ 1.2V

I don't like that it stays at 1.2v even when idle.

Can someone help me with using adaptive voltage? i set it to auto and the additional turbo voltage, i set at 1.2v (since that is what i want it to be at full load) but it won't POST..

is this the right way to use adaptive mode?

ondooy

how long did you run stability test on 4.5 @1.2 ?

Nitrile

just found out that can't use adaptive mode for CPU strap of 125.. LOL

oh well...

bemylove

congrats you got win silicon lottery. 1.2v at 4.5Ghz is considered godly. :D
seems like Sinkie batch is quite good, all i seen in HWZ can get to 4.5Ghz.

adaptive voltage my settings:
fully manual mode: disabled (funny rite?)
cpu core voltage: adaptive
offset mode sign: +
cpu voltage offset: auto
additional turbo : 1.2v

win liao.

Please note cpu adaptive voltage only can use 100mhz bclk
CPU Cache can only use up to offset voltage and cannot use adaptive voltage, it is broken because Intel microcode failed.
Haswell-E cannot use TSX feature also. Another Intel fail. Would have helped with the quad channel hispeed DDR4 i feel.

Nitrile

try to use ram divider settings 100:133. increase ram voltage to 1.25v see how. what ram u bought?

Gskill 2666 16 gb kit.
It's already at 1.25. Change strap to 100 and won't even post. Strap 125 and it will boot and pass stability test.

Nitrile

Tweaked around abit. Used offset mode. Now running at 0.9v at idle and 1.21v at load. 4.5ghz, cooled with h100i gtx and arctic mx4 paste. Quite satisfied. Ram is at 2666 XMP profile. I'll just see how this goes for the next few days.

bemylove

sounds good mate!
did it give fps boost to GTAV?
doubt Skylake-S can fight this hex-core at 4.5ghz!

btw what is your load temps? and average temps? and idle temps

try tweaking your rams to 1T timings?
also do give 100:133 a shot because tiagong haswell-e memory controller struggle past 24x dram multiplier (26.6x100), so by using this divider, you can lower the multiplier (20x100x1.33) and still achieve same ram speed and still use adaptive vcore! which will lowers the idle voltage more!

Nitrile

idle:

vdRrgxC.png

load under RealBench stress test:

DyVXk6g.png

bemylove

Seem your Input Voltage rather high at 1.92v, and VCCSA also quite high at +0.3v. Could help with tweaking to bring down your package temp from 50 degC.

Try Hwinfo64 for more detailed monitoring.

4.5Ghz is no joke siol. Even the 4790K, i read on average people run it also at 4.5-4.6Ghz ~1.23v before losing out to heat.

Sibeh songz gao jurongz.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.