High Cholesterol. Need advice.

rarenick

There is a new "trend" called slow jogging
It's really very very slow - just slightly faster than a normal walking pace - and it's said to be more beneficial for our bodies and health

Very coincidentally, I have arrived to this method by my own discovery after I took up jogging for around 5 months, doing 6 to 8km regularly, and once doing 18km. The reason is I only want to train in zone 2 and 3 for more than half the time. Yes the benefit of lower impact on the joints is true, but he didn't emphasise that running at lower heart rate can be very beneficial as well. I think because he didn't wear a smart watch to monitor but he probably knows that old liao should not run at very high heart rate, else cannot endure.

charliebrown

sometime i wonder should i trust my medical docteur advises or follow the advise of youtuber w miliion of followers.
all my medical docteur do is see my cholestrole index and tell me i got high cholestrol.

carey

Very coincidentally, I have arrived to this method by my own discovery after I took up jogging for around 5 months, doing 6 to 8km regularly, and once doing 18km. The reason is I only want to train in zone 2 and 3 for more than half the time. Yes the benefit of lower impact on the joints is true, but he didn't emphasise that running at lower heart rate can be very beneficial as well. I think because he didn't wear a smart watch to monitor but he probably knows that old liao should not run at very high heart rate, else cannot endure.
Yes, the part about having a lower heart rate is also very true

But then again, I think it follows that jogging at a walking pace should not result in a much higher heart rate unless one is really very unfit

Anyway, there is another school of thought that we should do HIIT to spike our heart rates for a while so that our heart rates can remain somewhat elevated for the rest of the day (said to boost metabolism rate) hahah

My resting heart rate is usually around 50bpm (and it has been so for the past 1-year according to my Garmin)

carey

I suspect it will get painful if u jog on the spot for more than half an hour?

I have not tried for more than half an hour but I suspect if done correctly, it should not have that big an impact on our knees

There were several videos by an old Taiwanese guy who advocates slow jogging on the spot - let me see if I can find them

ceestudent

sometime i wonder should i trust my medical docteur advises or follow the advise of youtuber w miliion of followers.
all my medical docteur do is see my cholestrole index and tell me i got high cholestrol.
It is very simple actually. High cholesterol is lifestyle disease, mean your body telling you that your current lifestyle is harmful to your body.

Are you prepare to change your lifestyle? In term of diet and less sedentary? If no and want to continue your current lifestyle, then follow your doctor advise and start to jiak medicine.

The thing with changing lifestyle is difficult, there is no shortcut and easy way. The doctor cannot monitor you daily and It highly dependent on individual motivation. If somehow he ask you to change your lifestyle and you fail to do so, who will kena blame if suddenly the patient have heart attack?
But give medicine to cut your cholesterol, this is within his control (easily).
If you are the doctor, which one will you do?

carey

It is very simple actually. High cholesterol is lifestyle disease, mean your body telling you that your current lifestyle is harmful to your body.

Are you prepare to change your lifestyle? In term of diet and less sedentary? If no and want to continue your current lifestyle, then follow your doctor advise and start to jiak medicine.

The thing with changing lifestyle is difficult, there is no shortcut and easy way. The doctor cannot monitor you daily and It highly dependent on individual motivation. If somehow he ask you to change your lifestyle and you fail to do so, who will kena blame if suddenly the patient have heart attack?
Well, depends on whether that doctor wants to "cure" you or keep you as a long-time patient/customer too ;)

Lifestyle change is healthcare while medicine is "sick care" if you really think about it

charliebrown

i dun think there is any thing wrong w me leh..
i m lean and bmi index 21-22.
hdl high, trig low, LDL a bit high and based on the total cholestrol index, tell me my cholestrol got problem.

AuraKUPO

hdl high, trig low, LDL a bit high and based on the total cholestrol index, tell me my cholestrol got problem.
Trust the readings, we cannot see what's inside our body

rarenick

I'm in the same dilemma.

rarenick

Yes, the part about having a lower heart rate is also very true
But then again, I think it follows that jogging at a walking pace should not result in a much higher heart rate unless one is really very unfit
Anyway, there is another school of thought that we should do HIIT to spike our heart rates for a while so that our heart rates can remain somewhat elevated for the rest of the day (said to boost metabolism rate) hahah
My resting heart rate is usually around 50bpm (and it has been so for the past 1-year according to my Garmin)

Agree with u. But when I go jogging the speed that many people run at, they most likely already hit zone 3 and 4 most of the time. It's like they value speed performance than actual health benefits of running.

ceestudent

Your LDL is calculated (LDL-C) or direct? Other measurement is TG < HDL, then you are safe. In SG lab, the common test for LDL is calculated IIRC, it is not direct measurement.
you can test the Apo-B next time. It is the actual LDL particle measurement.

rarenick

Your LDL is calculated (LDL-C) or direct? Other measurement is TG < HDL, then you are safe. In SG lab, the common test for LDL is calculated IIRC, it is not direct measurement.
you can test the Apo-B next time. It is the actual LDL particle measurement.

Can request at polyclinic?

ceestudent

Can request at polyclinic?
I'm not sure for poly.

So far I go to private or GP to request. This Apo A and B1 is usually an add-on (about 35$ each). Not the default in package. I remember some bro here have contact for direct lab test, i cannot remember the name of the clinic.

charliebrown

you can test the Apo-B next time. It is the actual LDL particle measuremm.

my trig to HDL ratio is v good. the computation can be found online.
do the polyclinic doctuers know abt this updated info or not? or they just based on wat they study in med school and the blood result only???!!

carey

Agree with u. But when I go jogging the speed that many people run at, they most likely already hit zone 3 and 4 most of the time. It's like they value speed performance than actual health benefits of running.
It's the fast pace that we live in - everyone wants things done and over in the shortest time possible cos they have so many other things going on :(

None of us really have the time to stop and smell the roses anymore - so stress is a major cause of our modern health issues :censored:

carey

my trig to HDL ratio is v good. the computation can be found online.
do the polyclinic doctuers know abt this updated info or not? or they just based on wat they study in med school and the blood result only???!!
Not only polyclinic doctors, but a lot of private GPs also don't know/remember that LDL is a calculated value ;)

carey

Studies after studies have failed to conclusively prove that high LDL is the cause of CHDs

If anything, results show that having higher LDL protects us from all-cause mortality

The elephant in the room is triglycerides but many doctors don't focus on them ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.