Home CCTV Recommendations

porker997

Hi All,

Looking for recommendations for a reliable home CCTV. Seems every SI in Singapore is selling either Hikvision or Dahua packages.

Not keen on those wireless IP cams solutions.

I'm a nobody but still a bit apprehensive about using those Chinese cameras for fear of hacking/spying issues.

Shortlisted ADT but they charge monthly fees, so seeing if there are better alternatives out there. (I'm guessing they are also using OEM Hikvision or Dahua?)

TIA.

Cheers

djr81

If worry this and that like that no need to install liao lah...

Lol

The 2 china brand is very popular everywhere... quality is gd but price still on the mid range depending on what u require..

How many cameras u plan to install and what u wan to monitor and how many days of recording u need...

I use alot of cameras from pansonic, samsung, ring, china and etc.

I still prefer wire solution with NVR and at least 2 week of recording if possible 1 month. Full HD camera is good enough for me.

If dont wan to use wire and nvr can consider those wireless ipcam with sd card..

:s22:

happydonkey

Can share supplier? With the specs u mentioned. I need 6 cameras and those recording function. Also able to view when outside. Sorry noob in this.

If worry this and that like that no need to install liao lah...

Lol

The 2 china brand is very popular everywhere... quality is gd but price still on the mid range depending on what u require..

How many cameras u plan to install and what u wan to monitor and how many days of recording u need...

I use alot of cameras from pansonic, samsung, ring, china and etc.

I still prefer wire solution with NVR and at least 2 week of recording if possible 1 month. Full HD camera is good enough for me.

If dont wan to use wire and nvr can consider those wireless ipcam with sd card..

djr81

I buy at aliexpress and taobao...

Hikvision and dahua might be abit complicated for newbie..

Mine is full hd onvif camera and a 32ch nvr support 4 6tb HD.

Got apps for u to view while u outside...

Can share supplier? With the specs u mentioned. I need 6 cameras and those recording function. Also able to view when outside. Sorry noob in this.

happydonkey

Ya really cheem. I got a quote. So I’m confused between Sony HD vs Hivision IP. Which is more secured? The person says both are hard encoded password

I buy at aliexpress and taobao...

Hikvision and dahua might be abit complicated for newbie..

Mine is full hd onvif camera and a 32ch nvr support 4 6tb HD.

Got apps for u to view while u outside...

djr81

Anything that is online is not really secured.. but no 1 will spend time just to hack us :s22:

How much they quote can post?

Ya really cheem. I got a quote. So I’m confused between Sony HD vs Hivision IP. Which is more secured? The person says both are hard encoded password

happydonkey

Hikvision IP camera network

Package includes

3 X 2MP IP Dome camera
5 X 2MP IP Cube Camera with 2 way Audio
1 X 8 Channel NVR (Built in PoE) w 4TB surveillance grade HDD

Cabling and installation
Remote view configuration.

Total: $ 2,628.00

Anything that is online is not really secured.. but no 1 will spend time just to hack us :s22:

How much they quote can post?

djr81

So expensive :s22:

Hikvision IP camera network

Package includes

3 X 2MP IP Dome camera
5 X 2MP IP Cube Camera with 2 way Audio
1 X 8 Channel NVR (Built in PoE) w 4TB surveillance grade HDD

Cabling and installation
Remote view configuration.

Total: $ 2,628.00

djr81

What industiral camera :s22:

Lol

Is easy to setup.. not very hard..

IKR. But just got a friend who will be giving me another quote but using industrial cameras (glass instead of plastic) so I’ll see how much that will cost 😓

funky05

Hi...any recommendations for home cameras? I need it to record 24hours.. not just surveillance only... Thanks..

yamashita

I am using a DIY setup consisting of Synology NAS, Hikvision and Reolink CCTVs.

For stability, do consider wired connection as I faced intermittent connection issue when using wireless connection for the Reolink. Now all CCTVs are powered and connected via PoE.

Live view and recording handled by Synology NAS.

wira

whats the advantage of using hikvision compared to cheaper solutions from google using google nest cams ?

yamashita

whats the advantage of using hikvision compared to cheaper solutions from google using google nest cams ?

IP cams like Hikvision and Dahua allow you to connect it to a NVR or NAS for centralised recording and viewing. You can pick and mix cctv based on your requirements.

Google Nest cams are proprietary and you have to stick to their product line if you require viewing within the same app. If I am correct, it's cloud based and offsite recording is not possible.

wira

IP cams like Hikvision and Dahua allow you to connect it to a NVR or NAS for centralised recording and viewing. You can pick and mix cctv based on your requirements.

Google Nest cams are proprietary and you have to stick to their product line if you require viewing within the same app. If I am correct, it's cloud based and offsite recording is not possible.
i see.
If my requirements is simply to have camera around the house for monitoring when we are away and to save the footage to cloud storage and to have alerts send to the mobile phone/app when there is motion detection at night or when we are out of house, would a simple solution from Google nest cams or even Tuya IP Cams suffice?

google nest cams/ tuya ip cams probably cost <$100 each and with 10 cams , it will only cost <$1000 and probably monthly cost of $10 a month for the cloud storage

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.