Home Cooking preferably LCHF Series - share ideas etc

kaypohchee

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏ @tednaiman Aug 16
More
WHAT IS THE CAUSE OF OBESITY?
———————————————————

😱 • 'Carbohydrate-Insulin Hypothesis' is wrong!

😏 • Carbs still the biggest problem.

DHVX7yYXcAE3ZbM.jpg

…and the solution to obesity?

Avoid carbs + fats —
also known as eating mostly
PROTEIN + FIBER ☺︎

DHVaflLXUAAyzP8.jpg

Dr Sam Toh‏ @samtohwe Aug 16
More
Protein + carbs. My experience, thsts deadly. Look at macdonald for example.

More
No that is FAT + CARBS !

please look at the diet of any natural bodybuilder — very high protein, moderate carbs — and they are very lean!

Steve Bohn‏ @BCreekPilot Aug 16
More
Replying to @tednaiman
And yet still I wonder: Where does de novo lipogenesis fit in this chart?

More
Usually small, as all of the HCLF people say, and by far the largest contributor to stored body fat is dietary fat—BUT IT DEFINITELY HAPPENS

DHWobOmUwAAAxjb.jpg

Scout Dawson‏
@scoutdawson

Replying to @tednaiman
Insulin resistance causes obesity. All the experts agree on that. Eating too much is HOW, hormone imbalance is WHY. I've met fat vegans.
1:52 AM - 16 Aug 2017

More
Replying to @scoutdawson
(I say that obesity causes insulin resistance rather than the other way around)

Scout Dawson‏ @scoutdawson Aug 16
More
How? There are people who are insulin resistant and built like athletes.

Amy Berger‏ @TuitNutrition Aug 16
More
Keith Frayn has done AWESOME work here on the personal fat threshold - it's why people can have T2D or IR at any weight, even athletes.

Andreas Eenfeldt, MD‏ @DietDoctor1 Aug 6

How do you burn more fat? Full video: https://www.dietdoctor.com/how-do-you-burn-more-fat … @tednaiman

kaypohchee

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏
@tednaiman

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ Retweeted JD

The carbohydrate-insulin theory, as explained in this paper, is in fact dead.

The reality is that all dietary fat is stored in adipocytes where it SHOULD be burned later, as your body easily meets all of its metabolic needs with stored body fat.

DGSY0lyUMAAgISV.jpg

*BUT* exogenous glucose DESTROYS fat oxidation on a mitochondrial and cellular level in those who are susceptible, so full-body fat oxidation will suffer in those who chronically frequently ingest glycemic (non-fiber) digestible carbohydrates.

Some are more genetically prone to this than others but everyone who is obese and/or insulin resistant sucks at fat oxidation (higher respiratory quotient) and carbs make this worse so then all ingested fat gets stored.

That is why HIGH CARBS + HIGH FAT is obesogenic in anyone with genetic susceptibility,

DGSZwjxUwAAGDV4.jpg

and also the opposite is true, that is high protein diets (low in either fat, carbs, or especially both) will reverse obesity / insulin resistance

so bottom line is that yes the carb-insulin theory is wrong, but to say that macros don't matter and it is all about calories is dumb AF ☺︎

kaypohchee

Nice sharing . You dun live in sg I suppose to be posting at this hour?

Hahaha I'm a local senior siao char bor posting at this hour :s13:

I've been jobless since my 2nd P(ME) Retrenchment in 2014

Since June or maybe July - esp after getting my laptop back [finally found THE cause - faulty battery] - I have been sleeping even much much later at after 4-5-6 am instead as I surf or post late into the early morning with the laptop rather than with the handphone (using GAGT for my Food Log) - sleep then awake later [but not get out of bed until later unless there are days when I need to be awake earlier as going with mom for wet marketing or for my weekly body massages etc will doze off again after some edmw checking on handphone etc] as I prefer to only get out of bed way after 1-2pm so that my IF Intermittent Fasted lunch is now pushed even further back from its usual 12 noon timing with an even shorter eating window period

Hmmm ... but guess I better go off to bed around 3 am NOW else will not be able to wake up at 7am to go with mom to the opp wet market - I need to get a nice piece of replacement Pork Belly for making my 2nd Dong Po Rou [mom stole the Tues piece for HER own recipes !]

Good night !!!

SOS9112001

whats your BMI? And what's your motivation for going LC diet? Will you strive for Ketosis state?

*Pickle*

Kaypoh auntie, r u not planning to enter the workforce again? Would be really hard to kick start yourself again after 3 years of unemployment.

swalk21

Hahaha I'm a local senior siao char bor posting at this hour :s13:

I've been jobless since my 2nd P(ME) Retrenchment in 2014

Since June or maybe July - esp after getting my laptop back [finally found THE cause - faulty battery] - I have been sleeping even much much later at after 4-5-6 am instead as I surf or post late into the early morning with the laptop rather than with the handphone (using GAGT for my Food Log) - sleep then awake later [but not get out of bed until later unless there are days when I need to be awake earlier as going with mom for wet marketing or for my weekly body massages etc will doze off again after some edmw checking on handphone etc] as I prefer to only get out of bed way after 1-2pm so that my IF Intermittent Fasted lunch is now pushed even further back from its usual 12 noon timing with an even shorter eating window period

Hmmm ... but guess I better go off to bed around 3 am NOW else will not be able to wake up at 7am to go with mom to the opp wet market - I need to get a nice piece of replacement Pork Belly for making my 2nd Dong Po Rou [mom stole the Tues piece for HER own recipes !]

Good night !!!

I see. Good night. Although the night is still young .

kaypohchee

Actually I only fell asleep after 4am - my head is still a little bit groggy now from waking up at 7.40am when mom called out loud whether I was going with her to the market .....My bedroom door was deliberately kept open last night for this very purpose !

Sat breakfast - asked for 2 siew mai as didn't want to repeat the Tues chee cheong fun this morning + usual teh-c
YGIk7t0l.jpg

Told mom to use the Shrimp Noodles n Frozen Wanton with her cai sin for our lunch today - ingredients laid out for her (she's trying to push the cooking to me)
Am hoping she'll also finally do the Barley Gingko Fuchok dessert for afternoon tea
Lq2yAifl.jpg

She has already par-boiled the fresh Pork Belly for me - to do my 2nd Dong Po Rou for dinner tonight with a Marinated White Button Mushroom item - will start on this after the Shrimp Noodle lunch

kaypohchee

Damn yukky the NTUC brand Wantons - don't know they use what kind of prawn n dough there - almost 1/2 of the 12 pcs there like inedible with tough filling n hard floury skin n so Small Sized too - stick to the much better CP Wantons
So unsatisfying there !!!!
h5DYXm1l.jpg

The barley being boiled now .....

Prepping ingredients for my 2 dinner items too

SOS9112001

why make your own wan ton noodles? i don't see your noodles healthier or more appealing than what is selling in sny hawker centers?

kaypohchee

why make your own wan ton noodles? i don't see your noodles healthier or more appealing than what is selling in sny hawker centers?
It wasn't the aim to make those wanton noodles from the HC

Just that mom has really "forgotten/slackened in her old age to be her former good standard at cooking" where she would normally do a much better yummier wettish noodles with more ingredients from scratch - I hv some boxes of these CP frozen wantons (1st time trying NTUC brand) for emergencies like today when mom doesn't have prawn etc at hand - it's my shortcut to add the wantons to our discounted Marketplace shrimp noodles (mom usually uses egg noodles that she buys herself tho')

Mom in better days will fry up a yummy beehoon in the weekends n a noodle with gravy etc one of the weekdays etc much more variety n umami in her cooking before she turned so "senile n lazy here" !

Standards really dropped .....n I hv to keep reminding her here n there too etc ....

kaypohchee

Prepping my 2nd Dong Po Rou

Mom said we went to the wet market a bit later today so the bigger pork belly pieces already sold - so I said I will need 2 pieces then as not worth my while to do a miserly small piece - in the end I used slightly more than 1.5 pcs since mom was saying to leave her as much as I could spare for her to do something else with it - roughly almost $8 out of the total $10 for the 2 pcs pork belly ?

I did ask mom to buy Pork Trotters as it was available but she said No !

Spring Onion Base then Ginger layer
1BzfmC0l.jpg

Pork belly slices (pre boiled treatment from mom) with skin side facing
downwards on the ginger layer
RAyY0KYl.jpg

Shallots red onion ginger spring onion prepped for frying
Today used the non-stick pan n found it so much easier esp when making the caramelized rock sugar + water + Chinese wine rice wine soy sauces ....
GysfoFSl.jpg

GGGCyjul.jpg

Used far much lesser rock sugar this time
1mBhwC6l.jpg

TwcpyDFl.jpg

Added the fragrant fried mix n the caramelized Chinese wine etc solution to the casserole - add more water to meat level
Bring this to a boil before lowering the heat to simmer for an hour before turning the meat over
CPP9NMil.jpg

U4LpSPul.jpg

kaypohchee

Skin side turned over after 1 hour low simmering - another hour simmering before this is done !
biuhc3ul.jpg

Done !!!
36EWZnml.jpg

Barley Gingko Foochok Soup for our 4pm tea
ah1Cbsal.jpg

CSP8V9ol.jpg

2nd dinner item - Marinated Mushrooms
Ingredients all laid out n prepped
Will do actual sauteing etc after 6pm
Changed my mind - done
xfYvhH2l.jpg

B8lQgOql.jpg

pRdaFBTl.jpg

PFwN4UYl.jpg

kaypohchee

Tonight's dinner - mom really feeling lazy the whole day n refused to cook rice nor to fry the long bean she'd already prepped up - nowadays she is in such sudden lazy-to-cook moods all the time !!!!

So we had the jiu kueh (2 each) meant for our Tea as dinner item in place of rice
- Dong Po Rou
- Marinated Mushrooms
- simple lettuce cherry tomatoes
HTLrZbwl.jpg

Jki68r3l.jpg

Ap6HHIil.jpg

This time not overly sweet with the reduced rock sugar - but mom says slightly not salty enough when she stole-tasted a whole piece earlier n got me to add in some more light soya sauce there.
Maybe it was due to my using this bigger casserole compared with the squeezy claypot the previous round, but I found the gravy much too diluted etc n I think mom switched the gas off before the 2nd hour simmering was up n thus the lean meaty part wasn't as tender as the 1st time somehow (when she took out the warmed up Dessert Soup for tea)
Ilwnbj4l.jpg

Ate some of the tangy flavoursome marinated mushrooms in lettuce wraps too - nicely sourish n garlicky etc appetizer but I will switch to Balsamic Vinegar instead of ACV as ACV is just too tart - very "meaty succulent" dish here - will make again as so simple n good !
yAnUnGEl.jpg

After dinner papaya + hot plain tea
EDIolJNl.jpg

Mom kept the Dong Po Rou gravy for tomorrow as she's doing porridge yet again ! Plain Porridge has now become her lazy to-go-for staple !

I will do a fruity pineapple salad [with roasted veg on the side to try to finish up more of the remaining avocado hummus] for dinner tomorrow.
fcc5422fc7ecc5a733817ee922835d7d.jpg

Just told mom to get me some mid-joint chicken wings from the market tomorrow (she likes going daily as a form of exercise ?) as will be doing fried garlic chicken wings (trying to copy those yummy ones from the last Pot Luck) ...

kaypohchee

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏ @tednaiman Aug 27
More
Ultra-simple and stylized —

Protein to Energy ratio for zero carb foods

DIPxwllUwAAGxAM.jpg

DFKRHYDVoAA5RjE.jpg

Must not forget to go Low Fat while on Fat Loss during your Low Carb Diet
otherwise Body Fat won't get burnt up !

Naiman%2B2.jpg

http://www.tuitnutrition.com/2017/08/how-to-cut-fat-on-keto.html

How to Cut Fat on a Ketogenic or Low Carb Diet (and Why You Might Want To)

Enjoy your food without added fat. Just because you can add butter, sour cream, mayo, olive oil, and cheese to your food doesn’t mean you have to. I know I sound like a broken record here, but if you’re using this way of eating to lose body fat, then you don’t need to add heaps of extra fat in order to keep your diet at a certain “ketogenic ratio.” In fact, doing this might be directly contradictory to your goal. If your steak is already fatty, it doesn’t need butter melted on top of it. And seriously, don’t underestimate the power of salt & pepper. They really, truly do make things taste better, even without any added fat.

EAT ENOUGH PROTEIN. The #1 biggest pitfall I see people getting into on low carb and ketogenic diets for fat loss is that they eat higher fat at the expense of inadequate protein. DO NOT DO THIS. If you are trying to lose body fat, protein is your friend. Like, your best friend. Don’t be afraid of gluconeogenesis. It is not true that too much protein “turns into sugar.” This is a total misunderstanding and *******ization of the biochemical mechanism at work there, and I wrote a very long post (as usual) about it here. How much protein should you be eating? Probably more than you are.

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏
@tednaiman

What diet plan has the very highest protein and lowest carbs of all?

POST-BARIATRIC SURGERY DIET.

DBYYbc2UMAEbtZ5.jpg

DBYYbc1UwAAOHnp.jpg

DBYYbc2UIAAZtzC.jpg

Kirsten McCumber‏ @kirmccumber Jun 3
More
Replying to @tednaiman @robtrumpetsmith
If people would have followed this diet to begin with they wouldn't have needed the bariatric surgery! #FollowTheMoney

Robert Smith‏ @robtrumpetsmith Jun 3
More
Replying to @tednaiman
Well, hell's bells, why don't they just do the frickin' diet BEFORE surgery, get better, and save all that pain and expense? SMH

nic0ll3tt3August 25, 2017 at 9:20 AM
Amen, Amy...

This always seemed so logical to me. If my body already has a ton of fat to use, why would I purposefully ingest more? That never made sense to me! Now, I pretty much just count carbs and protein (to keep one low and the latter high enough), and eat fat to satiety. And, it doesn't take much fat to do that. Some days is higher than others. It all works out, and I still feel great. :)

AnonymousAugust 25, 2017 at 9:23 PM
So how do I get that comfortably full feeling? If I'm reducing fat and carbs, what else is there to eat to be able to get to a comfortable satiety? More protein?

Amy BergerAugust 26, 2017 at 12:43 AM
Beef, pork, seafood, eggs, bison, poultry, broccoli, spinach, cucumbers, radishes, lettuce, eggplant, zucchini, jicama, bell peppers, fennel, mushrooms, cauliflower, onions, carrots. Unless you're actually doing a "zero carb" (carnivore diet), there's plenty of room on a low carb diet for non-starchy vegetables. And I tried to emphasize that I did not mean to make anyone afraid of fat. Don't eliminate fat altogether. Just go a little easier if you happen to be having a difficult time with fat loss. If not, then no worries. Carry on as normal.

Ms. MayhemAugust 24, 2017 at 12:37 PM
I follow keto and I threw my macros out the window. Best thing I ever did. I have found that worry about macros caused me to overeat in an effort to "meet" them...this is crazy..I was eating when I wasn't hungry, and that is what got me into needing keto to begin with! I count only whole carbs, and I carefully monitor my added dietary fat. The rest takes care of itself, and I am happily burning off the junk in my trunk.

KimAugust 25, 2017 at 5:19 PM
Amy, do you think there is a minimum of dietary fat that you should eat when you need to lose weight to keep your body functioning?

Amy BergerAugust 26, 2017 at 12:45 AM
Yes, there is. Hard to say exactly how much, but yes, you do need some fat. There is something called a protein-sparing modified fast (PSMF), which is extremely low in fat, low in carbs, and high-ish in protein. Total calories are fairly low. It is a quick, SHORT-TERM fat loss strategy. NOT to be done long term because of the severe restriction on fat.

DonnaJAugust 24, 2017 at 4:36 PM
You mentioned thyroid issues at the end of this post. After I had been eating low-carb for about 4 years, I found that I was no longer hypothyroid and didn't need to be on thyroid meds anymore. When the inflammation in the rest of my body went down after I stopped eating most carbs, apparently my thyroid healed itself. I was on the meds for around 10 years and have been off of them now for almost 3 months. I noticed recently that my eyebrows are growing back at the outer parts of my eyes. I haven't had hairs there in a long time. :)

One other thought. Even when I was having thyroid issues, the biggest factor came down to calories in versus calories burned. When I crammed less down the old pie hole, there was less of me to go around. It might take me longer to lose than someone who wasn't hypothyroid, but it could be done.

Amy BergerAugust 24, 2017 at 11:54 PM
It is no different from not having a gallbladder if you were already eating a low-carb or ketogenic diet. But if you are new to this way of eating and you're asking *in general* about eating a higher fat diet after having the gallbladder removed, that's a different issue. I recommend these:
1. http://realeverything.com/enjoy-bacon-without-gallbladder/
2. http://balancedbites.com/faqs-how-can-i-eat-paleo-without-a-gallbladder/

I wrote about general gallbladder function here: http://www.tuitnutrition.com/2013/11/digestion-for-not-so-dummies-gps.html

kaypohchee

Kaypoh auntie, r u not planning to enter the workforce again? Would be really hard to kick start yourself again after 3 years of unemployment.

In my 1st round of P(ME) Retrenchment in the early 2000s
I stayed jobless for over 5 years (I enjoyed my time doing lots of travelling then etc)
As my area of specialization is in a sunset industry that is very dependant on the economy etc

I managed to be employed for 5 years before the 2nd Retrenchment in 2014
the death knell came due to the property cooling measures

I knew at my late age and the state of the industry globalisation etc
Finding employment in the same field again would not be possible/realistic
So I tried creating my own income by going into high-risk CFD Trading
Unfortunately I wiped out my trading capital after some unfortunate bad moves by late 2015
I'd already exhausted my savings too

It's virtually impossible to get another decent job at my age
Not that I've really looked - the number applied is fewer than the fingers on one hand hahahaha
I'm not at all interested in Sales, F&B or Cleaning Security etc....
I even lowered myself to accept a low-balled Office Admin post that wasn't even 1/4-1/5 of my last salary - but even so that was very 'short-lived' as the boss [someone I know from my circle of Spas where I hv lots of pre-paid spa packages - just invited to 'help out' there] got a Panic Attack and decided to just stop operations to cut loss after discovering that she was not able to drum up any sales at all (all bc she didn't have any proper market survey & business planning etc she got committed into renting/renovating premises against my advice too :s8: preferring to listen to her silent joint-venture partners)....

And now with even more n more competition
I've just about given up
Might as well stay home with a seriously-going-senile mom
Just survive somehow for the next 5 years [pray to tio big toto lor :s13: ]
Then live on my CPF WDs from age 65 bah
No point stressing myself over something beyond my control

I rather like my Involuntary Early Retirement Stints
Other than the fact of Zero Income..... sighzzzz

kaypohchee

Ya no more juicing or smoothies for me again - just Bad News !

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-4788734/Trainer-Victoria-Secret-models-reveals-diet-WORKS.html

'85 percent of what you do is what you eat': Celebrity trainer who whips the Victoria Secret models into shape reveals why a juice detox is a no-go and the ONE diet that will work

Justin Gelband trains Candice Swanepoel, Irina Shaik and Karlie Kloss
He said popular juice detoxes do not work as a method to shed pounds
The New York trainer revealed he is a huge fan of the Paleo or 'caveman' diet
Exercise is important but he stresses '85% of what you do is what you eat'

WHAT YOU CAN AND CANNOT EAT ON A PALEO DIET

The diet is based on eating foods thought to be available to our ancestors during the Paleolithic era, before the advent of dairy or processed grains - and has its advocates and critics.

Celebrities such as Matthew McConaughey and Jessica Biel are reportedly fans.

DO EAT

Fruit

Apples, bananas, oranges, avocados, pears, strawberries, blueberries etc

Vegetables

Broccoli, kale, peppers, onions, carrots, tomatoes etc

Lean meat

Beef, lamb, chicken, turkey, pork, veal etc

Seafood

Salmon, trout, haddock, shrimp, shellfish etc

Nuts and seeds

Almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts etc

Natural healthy fats

Lard, coconut oil, olive oil etc

DO NOT EAT

Dairy

Milk, cheese, ice cream, butter, milk and white chocolate

Grains

Bread, pasta, rice, wheat, spelt, rye, barley

Processed food

Burgers, hot dogs, pizza, donuts, breakfast cereals, chips

Processed sugar

Soda, fruit juice, table sugar, candy, cake, ice cream

Legumes

Beans, lentils etc

Alcohol

Unless it's distilled liquor - but no mi

He told Business Insider, '85 percent of what you do is what you eat,' echoing the the old adage 'abs are made in the kitchen'.

Juicing is not for weight loss

Despite juicing having become a big heath trend in recent years, Mr Gelband is adamant that he does not recommend it.

'At fashion week some models went on a juice diet and didn't tell me,' he revealed.
'Not one lost weight, some actually gained weight. That got me in big trouble.'

Devotees insist fruit and venetable juice diets give results quickly, are easier to follow than traditional calorie-counting methods and can even boost mood and energy levels.

But Mr Gelband is not the first health professional to criticize the fad. Experts warn that not only do liquid diets lack vital nutrients, they can cause a range of health problems, from tooth decay to diabetes, migraines, dry skin and fainting spells - and even lead to weight gain and obesity in the long run.

Due to such an intense calorie restriction, it is argued that the metabolism will slow down dramatically, sending the body into starvation mode. It will then cling on to every calorie and actually cause weight gain.

'There's a time and place for juice fasting - just not for weight loss,' said Mr Gelband said.

*** I totally agree there !
Didn't hv good results with my Veg Green Smoothies during my lat round of FMD Fasting in July !

The low carb-high fat diet

The eating plan has been hailed as the best way to lose weight and build muscle - and Mr Gelband agrees.

It first came to the public’s attention in 2001, when Professor Loren Cordain, of Colorado State University's health and exercise department published The Paleo Diet - and has since soared in popularity.

Essentially a low-carb, high fat diet, followers can eat grass-produced meats, fish and seafood, fresh fruits and vegetables, eggs, nuts and seeds and 'healthful' oils.

Banned items include dairy, cereals and grains, potatoes, refined sugar, processed food and salt.

But Paleo is not without its critics - and many argue the plan has no scientific validity.

A study last year by University of Melbourne claimed following the diet for just eight weeks can lead to rapid weight gain and health complications.

However, another recent study has showed it can improve heart health in just eight weeks.

The research by the University of Houston Laboratory of Integrative Physiology found improved health in eight participants who who normally eat a Western diet when they switched to the Paleo diet.

Vincent Graff‏ @vincegraff Aug 14
More
Replying to @ProfTimNoakes @angelcandice
Tim - can I check: is it your contention that sat fat doesn't cause "bad" cholesterol. Or that bad cholesterol doesn't cause early death?

Tim Noakes‏ @ProfTimNoakes Aug 14
More
Both. "Bad"cholesterol (oxidised small dense LDL-particles) is caused by fatty liver disease (NAFLD) due to hi carb diets in those with IR=Insulin Resistance.

I have a rethink on the LCHF - it's simply LC & mainly LF + HP now
look at my posts with Dr Ted Naiman's tweets since the last 2 weeks
from after Page 108 of my Home Cooking thread - also scattered in various other LCHF - T2D - etc threads

kaypohchee

ndian_Banting‏ @BantingIndian Sep 6
More
@tednaiman @ProfTimNoakes is it norm to get Physiological insul resist wher FBG creeps up after keto d?see below for an asian indian with IR=Insulin Resistance

DJFNQo9W4AEGjIs.jpg

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏
@tednaiman

Replying to @BantingIndian @ProfTimNoakes

DJFhSA0UIAEcRlZ.jpg

Indian_Banting‏ @BantingIndian Sep 7
More
Replying to @tednaiman @ProfTimNoakes
@tednaiman @ProfTimNoakes thank you both for reply. GP stunned in Uric acid drop he said allapurinol can only drop 3 point he said.

Eddie D. Friedman‏ @EddieDFriedman 4h4 hours ago
More
Replying to @tednaiman @BantingIndian @ProfTimNoakes
Keeping simple for lay person w/ LC high FBG (& A1c) profile described in infographic...what to do please? TIA

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏ @tednaiman 3h 3 hours ago
More
My advice is eat low carb AND low fat (mostly protein and fiber).

DJSmn6JVAAALR_a.jpg

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-4788734/Trainer-Victoria-Secret-models-reveals-diet-WORKS.html

'85 percent of what you do is what you eat': Celebrity trainer who whips the Victoria Secret models into shape reveals why a juice detox is a no-go and the ONE diet that will work

Justin Gelband trains Candice Swanepoel, Irina Shaik and Karlie Kloss
He said popular juice detoxes do not work as a method to shed pounds
The New York trainer revealed he is a huge fan of the Paleo or 'caveman' diet
Exercise is important but he stresses '85% of what you do is what you eat'

WHAT YOU CAN AND CANNOT EAT ON A PALEO DIET

The diet is based on eating foods thought to be available to our ancestors during the Paleolithic era, before the advent of dairy or processed grains - and has its advocates and critics.

Celebrities such as Matthew McConaughey and Jessica Biel are reportedly fans.

DO EAT

Fruit

Apples, bananas, oranges, avocados, pears, strawberries, blueberries etc

Vegetables

Broccoli, kale, peppers, onions, carrots, tomatoes etc

Lean meat

Beef, lamb, chicken, turkey, pork, veal etc

Seafood

Salmon, trout, haddock, shrimp, shellfish etc

Nuts and seeds

Almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts etc

Natural healthy fats

Lard, coconut oil, olive oil etc

DO NOT EAT

Dairy

Milk, cheese, ice cream, butter, milk and white chocolate

Grains

Bread, pasta, rice, wheat, spelt, rye, barley

Processed food

Burgers, hot dogs, pizza, donuts, breakfast cereals, chips

Processed sugar

Soda, fruit juice, table sugar, candy, cake, ice cream

Legumes

Beans, lentils etc

Alcohol

Unless it's distilled liquor - but no mi

He told Business Insider, '85 percent of what you do is what you eat,' echoing the the old adage 'abs are made in the kitchen'.

Juicing is not for weight loss

Despite juicing having become a big heath trend in recent years, Mr Gelband is adamant that he does not recommend it.

'At fashion week some models went on a juice diet and didn't tell me,' he revealed.
'Not one lost weight, some actually gained weight. That got me in big trouble.'

Devotees insist fruit and venetable juice diets give results quickly, are easier to follow than traditional calorie-counting methods and can even boost mood and energy levels.

But Mr Gelband is not the first health professional to criticize the fad. Experts warn that not only do liquid diets lack vital nutrients, they can cause a range of health problems, from tooth decay to diabetes, migraines, dry skin and fainting spells - and even lead to weight gain and obesity in the long run.

Due to such an intense calorie restriction, it is argued that the metabolism will slow down dramatically, sending the body into starvation mode. It will then cling on to every calorie and actually cause weight gain.

'There's a time and place for juice fasting - just not for weight loss,' said Mr Gelband said.

*** I totally agree there !
Didn't hv good results with my Veg Green Smoothies during my lat round of FMD Fasting in July !

The low carb-high fat diet

The eating plan has been hailed as the best way to lose weight and build muscle - and Mr Gelband agrees.

It first came to the public’s attention in 2001, when Professor Loren Cordain, of Colorado State University's health and exercise department published The Paleo Diet - and has since soared in popularity.

Essentially a low-carb, high fat diet, followers can eat grass-produced meats, fish and seafood, fresh fruits and vegetables, eggs, nuts and seeds and 'healthful' oils.

Banned items include dairy, cereals and grains, potatoes, refined sugar, processed food and salt.

But Paleo is not without its critics - and many argue the plan has no scientific validity.

A study last year by University of Melbourne claimed following the diet for just eight weeks can lead to rapid weight gain and health complications.

However, another recent study has showed it can improve heart health in just eight weeks.

The research by the University of Houston Laboratory of Integrative Physiology found improved health in eight participants who who normally eat a Western diet when they switched to the Paleo diet.

Vincent Graff‏ @vincegraff Aug 14
More
Replying to @ProfTimNoakes @angelcandice
Tim - can I check: is it your contention that sat fat doesn't cause "bad" cholesterol. Or that bad cholesterol doesn't cause early death?

Tim Noakes‏ @ProfTimNoakes Aug 14
More
Both. "Bad"cholesterol (oxidised small dense LDL-particles) is caused by fatty liver disease (NAFLD) due to hi carb diets in those with IR=Insulin Resistance.

Tᕮᗪ ⚡️ ᑎᗩIᗰᗩᑎ‏ @tednaiman 7 Dec 2016
More
A very simple list of the 4 things to *NOT* eat:

• grains
• sugars
• starches
• oils

CzDxtmTUkAABF54.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.