home insurance?

thisisnotme1212

any recommendations for home insurance?
does every1 has one?
if not, y not? if yes, y yes?
also, the fire insurance will auto renew?

chopra

home insurance doesnt cover asset loss due to neighbour fire.

if u wan to cover asset loss, u must buy hdb appointed FWD insurance that cover
- loss of depreciated asset
- reno cost

it works like term insurance.
tens of dollars/year per 100k insurance

thisisnotme1212

home insurance doesnt cover asset loss due to neighbour fire.

if u wan to cover asset loss, u must buy hdb appointed FWD insurance that cover
- loss of depreciated asset
- reno cost

it works like term insurance.
tens of dollars/year per 100k insurance

i tot its the opposite?
fire insurance dun cover assets. n is compulsory if under hdb loans.

if want to cover assets need external home insurance.
does every1 usually get 1? which 1 to go for?

BBCWatcher

Any recommendation for home insurance?
Was looking at Income, Tiq and FWD.
First of all, there's a general distinction between "all risks" and "named perils" home insurance. I highly prefer "all risks" coverage. There are many articles explaining the difference between these two categories. Here's one such article.

I haven't found a better overall value than QBE's "Home Prestige" policy yet. I keep an open mind, though, and I hope someone has found a better value policy. There's a broker advertising on Qoo10 (no relation) that sells QBE Home Prestige at a discount, and if you go to the broker's own Web site you can get a quotation for HDB flat coverage if you need that instead of private condo coverage. (Coverage for a HDB flat costs less.)

Please note that, if you have a private mortgage lender (a bank), the lender may charge an "administrative fee" if you choose some policy the lender doesn't prefer. And usually the administrative fee is ridiculously high compared to the premium. In many countries this practice would be deemed for what it is: anti-competitive and thus illegal. Not in Singapore at the moment.

boredboiboi

First of all, there's a general distinction between "all risks" and "named perils" home insurance. I highly prefer "all risks" coverage. There are many articles explaining the difference between these two categories. Here's one such article.

I haven't found a better overall value than QBE's "Home Prestige" policy yet. I keep an open mind, though, and I hope someone has found a better value policy. There's a broker advertising on Qoo10 (no relation) that sells QBE Home Prestige at a discount, and if you go to the broker's own Web site you can get a quotation for HDB flat coverage if you need that instead of private condo coverage. (Coverage for a HDB flat costs less.)

Please note that, if your have a private mortgage lender (a bank), the lender may charge an "administrative fee" if you choose some policy the lender doesn't prefer. And usually the administrative fee is ridiculously high compared to the premium. In many countries this practice would be deemed for what it is: anti-competitive and thus illegal. Not in Singapore at the moment.

Still learning in this portion. Been hearing Sompo home insurance is good too. What the outstanding Value that u prefer qbe?

BBCWatcher

Still learning in this portion. Been hearing Sompo home insurance is good too. What the outstanding Value that u prefer qbe?
Well I really need to double check these things frequently because it looks like QBE shifted to "named perils" terms! (They call it "defined events.") That's unfortunate. :(

Sompo's policy is called "HomeBLISS," and they have an "Enhanced" variant that offers "all risks" coverage. But it doesn't look particularly good to me unless I'm missing something?

xtwis7

Actually the “Insured Perils” list is pretty comprehensive. Though it doesn’t cover everything, “All Risks” cover tend to be much more expensive for the same coverage. On average that’s around $200/yr vs $200 for 3 years assuming it’s a standard high rise property.

harky

anyone buy ma??

i think just get basic can liao

assiak71

Any hassle free plan to recommend. Dont wish to spend time too much time researching. Thanks.

xtwis7

Want hassle free? I can get it done for you with GE, benefits are competitive and if it’s the basic package without add ons, the 3yr plan is $150 for the insurer perils coverage.

Any hassle free plan to recommend. Dont wish to spend time too much time researching. Thanks.

cryn79

Hi
I took my home insurance under NTUC income, easy to understand T&C.
I took the plan from my friend.

If u want more details, pls PM me for my friend's no, he can share more with u.

harky

AIG??????? just get the cheapest....................... heard it hard to claim

chopra

does anyone understand wht clause 2a under limits of idemnity mean? does it mean my kid bicycle, my wife kitchen utensil and my toilet paper max claimable PER item (one roll of toilet roll for example) is $1000?

sorry if the screenshots are not in sequence. abit hard to organise using a phone
UWJNfwR.jpg

2NGM2qJ.jpg

auFl97h.jpg

mAuM3UF.jpg

lilycll

any recommendations for home insurance?
does every1 has one?
if not, y not? if yes, y yes?
also, the fire insurance will auto renew?

There are 2 types of home insurance.

One is compulsory as required by HDB if you are on mortgage loan and currently FWD is the appointed insurer. The costs is less than $10 for 5yrs term with very basic coverage.

If you wish to cover extras like your reno, furnishing, home appliances etc then you can take up seperate optional and additional coverage offered by many insurers. The costs range from $300 to $500 or more as you wish for 3yrs term.

One thing to note. Even if you have taken up the 2nd optional/additional insurance, you MUST still pay for the first one as required by HDB as long as you are on their mortage loan.

sglandscape

Check out the Chubb one via DBS (they often run promotion for it if you buy at least the annual plan or the 3y plan).

Home contents do cover fire risk too. But suggest to read the policy in detail and see if it fits the protection you're after.

wira

i bought chubb home insurance too.

actually i am more worried if the fire started from my property and spread to neighbours, neighbours can claim damage from me right ? So better insure against third party claims also.

Nowadays read so many news of fires

henrylbh

does anyone understand wht clause 2a under limits of idemnity mean? does it mean my kid bicycle, my wife kitchen utensil and my toilet paper max claimable PER item (one roll of toilet roll for example) is $1000?

sorry if the screenshots are not in sequence. abit hard to organise using a phone
UWJNfwR.jpg

2NGM2qJ.jpg

auFl97h.jpg

mAuM3UF.jpg

I am more concerned with third party liabilities than own loss. What's the loss of kid bike and wife kitchen equipment when you cannot claim on more expensive equipment like furniture, piano, laptops etc and in my case gold pieces exceeding 20k and a 10k note.

When my kitchen pipe leak and caused damage to my downstairs neighbour's kitchen cabinet I thought insurance would pay. Insurer denied claim unless my neighbor takes legal action against me. In the end I paid for my own and the damages to my neighbor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.