Home renovation so expensive

ZhouXingXing

even i engaged id, the cost also alot lower compared to yours.. ts heck and changed the flooring to very high end tiles ?

drkcynic

50-80k is cannot run one for a decent setup.

10-30k is very basic.

The costs are all quite standard nowadays. It only differs by worksmanship and quality.

Darkraid

Why nowadays home renovation so expensive? I want to do a simple 4-5 room hdb flat also 80-100k. Not even doing much carpentry.

8 years ago, 35k I can settle the whole renovation for my old flat for similar work done.
why is resale home reno so expensive.

my previous place was a resale flat. we paid 50k for reno, with no hacking or tiling needed. so freaking exp

Perishable

Hwzer say go to contractor.

I ask for contact. Don’t have, even contractor pretend to be ID. Then say good contractor usually tied with good ID.

so full circle, if want good contractor, must find good ID.o_Oo_O

agent_719

ID mark up at least 40% and completion only plus 5-10% from quoted, seldom less lol

me engage contractor straight , they not interested in small homes so don’t keep kpkb about pushing down price and zero interest in whatever artistic sense you want infuse into your house. Manage expectations accordingly

Darkraid

I ask for contact. Don’t have, even contractor pretend to be ID. Then say good contractor usually tied with good ID.

do u need an contractor. i can pm u the contact if u need. would be good if it is a hdb job

daniel_83

my resale 5A reno 70K+, completed few months ago

Screenshot-2023-11-01-125820.png

106gunner

If you never opt for build in TV Console, wardrobe for living room and bed room, no false ceiling and never hack, it should be lesser

Thus is better to seek quote from a few contractors

dilphinus

I'm in the industry. I have said so many times that main and sub cons don't like to work directly with home owners. Nobody believe me.

There are some who will work with homeowners. These are the ones just starting out, or they have no biz, they need the $.

It is so much easier for the main and sub con to work with one ID than to hold the hands of the homeowners. The main and sub cons usually have a relationship with the IDs already and know 'how to work together'. Vs working with different homeowners all the time. It's a pain.

Clarence NMT

Better than tio scam. Btw can try someone son interior design company. Surely reliable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.