Hospital choices

Panerex

Assuming you have the top end private shield plan, if something unfortunate but yet not seem so serious happen, will you straight away go to a private hospital or a govt A&E?

endlssorrow

U mention not so serious liao so y will u being send to A and E lei?

bigpelican

if it is one time event such as your mentioned, high fever, if you wanna maximize your top shield plan with rider, then go private hospital. Make sure you hospitalize for the high fever. Shield plan only cover hospitalization.

if it is some sort of surgery which requires many followup. You can save that one time hospitalization, but each followup session with that private doctor will be expensive.

wts2013

there are at least 3 reasons why people buy pte hospital or class A isp:

1. they think pte hospital provides better and more comfortable services
2. u never know what could happen and may kana sent to pte hospital, then u are still covered
3. stay in lower class then get daily cashback, no need to buy additional rider or plans.

I have B plan with NTUC (100% cover). An accident happened and I was sent to Alexandra Hospital, I chose to stay in C. Luckily services were good and was comfortable 2-week stay. I got daily cashback to help pay for things still not covered in isp plus post hospitalisation treatment beyond 90 days plus transport costs.

Why did u buy the highest A plan?

wts2013

Example, high fever in middle of night

Choose between life and death, I will send the person to the nearest A&E, ie SGH in my case. If it is SGH, I wld prefer B.

If confirmed u need to be hospitalised for further treatment, u can still request for transfer if u prefer pte or higher class once the medical team deemed it safe for transfer.

VictorvonDoom

Choose between life and death, I will send the person to the nearest A&E, ie SGH in my case. If it is SGH, I wld prefer B.

If confirmed u need to be hospitalised for further treatment, u can still request for transfer if u prefer pte or higher class once the medical team deemed it safe for transfer.

I think most people are concerned about the follow up visits. If you're warded in A, your follow ups will be charged without subsidies.

ZEBRA85

up to 90 days post hospitalisation treatment for my case with ntuc enhanced incomeshield

for cancer patient, the treatment is usually more than 90 days. is it still as charge after 90 days?

and is it enough for just 90 days? i did a comparison and Prudential is the only one with 180 days.

wts2013

for cancer patient, the treatment is usually more than 90 days. is it still as charge after 90 days?

and is it enough for just 90 days? i did a comparison and Prudential is the only one with 180 days.
if u want 180days, then go pay for it lor. My injury treatment also more than 90 days, but it is ok lah, so long it helps to pay majority of costs.

that's why someone posted worried A class higher charges. Then why buy A class? I stayed C class but covered to B, then depends which hospital lor, as I mentioned in my prior post.

my brother diagnosed stage4 cancer, passed away in less than 6mths, in/out hospital, never exceed 90 days. So depends

ZEBRA85

so which means even for cancer patient, is only covered for 90 days? any FA can help to clarify on this?

ZEBRA85

For shield plans, the following outpatient treatments are excluded from the post 90/180 days requirements.

Stereotactic radiotherapy for cancer
Radiotherapy for cancer
Chemotherapy for cancer
Immunotherapy for cancer
Renal dialysis
Erythropoietin and other drugs approved under MediShield for chronic renal failure
Cyclosporin or tacrolimus and other drugs approved under MediShield for organ transplant

*Table taken from Enhanced Incomeshield Benefits Schedule

The two most common post treatments I received are Chemotherapy & Renal dialysis.

Hope this helps.

for following outpatient treatment, does it included deductibles and co-insurance? or is as charged (exclude cancer treatment).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.