How can we improve the COE system?

Ahemahem

now still can drive mini cooper
later coe expire liao dunno how high liao

donut88

Don't be naive that Opposition can remove COE or lower the bid prices.

They won't do anything to it.

donut88

The only way that can try to do is to implement balloting system. Want to buy car, submit name for balloting and wait.

Lss

Cash only no loan
Driver bid cannot agent bid
Pay what you bid
TCOE should be abolished.

Dividends

OK I worked harder, pay din change

My foreign colleges everyday por the boss & be a personal friend kanna double promotion

Then I work so hard I spent 24 hrs in office still no promotion

Then I invent a time machine to slow time so I can work 25 hrs a day

Still no promotion how? Everything can be solved by working hard, then the construction worker will be millionaire

Wake up
If you're really that good at your job, consider working for yourself instead of others. I wouldn't suggest it if you're not because you're going to be risking your capital. High risk high rewards.

enimen

Set it as standard 30K fixed price and balloting system.

But pap won't be so stupid to hurt their wallets la

fat_boyz

New citizens of less than 10 years pay double. PRs pay triple. Other visas quadruple. Same should be implemented for HDB

standarture

Set it as standard 30K fixed price and balloting system.

But pap won't be so stupid to hurt their wallets la
They love bidding cos it makes it seem like they are open and transparent and leave it to market forces. But what they dont understand is as a responsible gahmen, you need to control the prices.

Lss

If you're really that good at your job, consider working for yourself instead of others. I wouldn't suggest it if you're not because you're going to be risking your capital. High risk high rewards.
End of the day you can be damm good but still fail. See Laserdisc and betamax. Lose to VCD and VCR

Muthucurry5678

Do like hdb, give priority/ rebate to people with family. I still believe that grab drives up the coe price, so do a seperate cateogary with PHV. Balloting will be abit hard as people that really needs car may have to wait for very long

sglandscape

Given congestion on the road, prices are too low.

My proposal is to carve PHV / taxis out to have 5 year COE only, and have it be a seperate category similar to how taxis were of the past. If drive normal car as PHV, capped no more than 20 hours each week, else need to convert to PHV COE.

kleong

Why need to fix when COE are bringing in good money?

focus1974

COE prices are out of control
the original idea for COE was to limit the number of cars on the road but it doesnt work anymore

how else can we implement an effective way in place of COE?

It is working as intended. Free market principles of pricing inelasticity and supply and demand.

#1)

If you want to control vehicle population strictly , how do you do it?
you issue a QUOTA via a paper certificate.

If they determined singapore infrastructure can hold 1.2 million vehicles on the road.
They will issue 1 million COEs to keep the registered singapore vehicles and cater for 200k foreign vehicles entering singapore. (assumption of # vehicles.)

So we need to have 1 million COE paper certificates.

#2) Then the govt decides - we don't want too many old vehicles on the road that might lead to frequent breakdowns that jam the road and caused pollution

So the COE paper certificate needs to have a time period so owners have to relinquish and get a NEW Car.

So the COE paper certificate now has a 10 years validity period.

#3)
Then the question is .. how do we allocate the paper certificate effectively??
1) Ballot
2) Bid
3) Needs Basis

Then the govt have to ask, what outcome do we want to achieve?
A) If you are purely into just recovering cost of implementaiton of COE paper registrations, you can do
Ballot. and ask the successful ballot to pay for the cost of COE administration (which might be $10,000 for the 10 years to maintain IT systems and the human resources behind the ops and implementation of COE).

B) if you are going on a Needs basis, how do you determine the needs that require a car?
The conditions for these to cater to all scenarios are too onerous and complicated and vague that it is nearly impossible to implement.

apart from the obvious public goods needs like taxis, buses etc. These are special conditions because 1 public good is serving the needs of many vs private car ownership.

C) Bidding - Market principles and based on motivated buyers. Are you motivated enough to get it if there's alternatives for you to get to your goals? (ie, do you really desperately need/want a car enough even though you have public transportion options available - nevermind your elderly, handicapped ,children, etc scenarios. )

So end up Option C is decided to be the most fair and effective way to distribute COEs.

And you cannot escape it, once you endorsed market principles and capitalism, it is always the one with most money who gets the preferred options.

Landed vs Condos vs HDB and you can go into the different sizes and locations. But all is about how much money you have and how motivated you are to get at that location, size, attributes.. Of course.. everyone can denied it, but I opined VIPs (if competing with non-VIPs who is willing to pay the same amount for that limited quantity) always will have better access to the most preferred options if it comes to crunch time.

It is not that the VIP demands preferential treatment, it is the supplier of goods that might be more willing to give priority and preferential treatment to the VIP over the non-VIP for access to the goods (given seller has only limited quantity but over-demand by VIPs and non-VIPs).

examples of it will be like your club entry (within it also got VIP over non-VIP for the rooms), hot resturant booking (same here- VIP over non-VIP for rooms etc) , new condo/landed launch bookings etc etc.

Anyway, a few years back... i arleady did an analysis of the number of millionaires/high income earners etc in singapore vs available COE quotas for passenger vehicles (not the whole car population of taxis/buses etc)...
and my answer ... (pre-covid) was .... around $200,000 per car (include COE paper) .

So post-covid, inflation has driven cost of living up at least 50% ...
so car can possibly be priced at $300,000 per car (including paper).

televisione

CAT A&B supply is 650,000, projected population is 6.9 million by 2030. Realistically, in today’s world, almost everyone aspires to own a car.

no solution, sky is the limit

focus1974

CAT A&B supply is 650,000, projected population is 6.9 million by 2030. Realistically, in today’s world, almost everyone aspires to own a car.

no solution, sky is the limit
yes, millionaires/high income earners get access to it first.
so , the COE price should be the amount these group are willing to pay.
They most likely exceed the number of COE quotas for passenger cars in Singapore. lol even if they only own 1 car per person.

But you can see.. most landed owners have at least 2 cars minimum. Condos dwellers also have at least 1 car minimum.

sAVaGEmP5

OK I worked harder, pay din change

My foreign colleges everyday por the boss & be a personal friend kanna double promotion

Then I work so hard I spent 24 hrs in office still no promotion

Then I invent a time machine to slow time so I can work 25 hrs a day

Still no promotion how? Everything can be solved by working hard, then the construction worker will be millionaire

Wake up
Haha got u baited. Waiting for the 1 guy to say he work hard.

All of us know work hard = por.

Tats why i have 2 cars my wife and 1 both got 1.

esandwich

COE prices are out of control
the original idea for COE was to limit the number of cars on the road but it doesnt work anymore

how else can we implement an effective way in place of COE?
Your improve aka bring down the price?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.