How come all foreign bride matchmaking services are purely vietnamese and not other ASEAN nationalities?

coutuser

All of the above, and also Vietbus, are bound to present cultural differences. And it's a two way thing. We struggle to bridge it, but the women also struggle to bridge it. If they are going to migrate here to live with you in Singapore, it's a lot harder for them.

You don't know even ten words of their language to have a meaningful conversation with someone who is not a tourist you met at Changi Airport, or a native you met while holidaying in their country, but is your WIFE. How do you even help her to settle down in Singapore?

You just want a woman in your house to have sex with legally? Or you want to have kids, and expect her, who speaks either no or very bad English and maybe zero or halting Mandarin, to stay at home to raise the kid? When other kids start speaking at the age of three, yours can't even string a sentence to just say, I am hungry...and when your kid starts primary one, he is like a foreigner in the classroom in his own country, who is unable to talk to other children because his mother could not speak much with him, and he learned too few words.

The best women for a wife are still our own Singaporean women.
you must be a woman.
Got lah.

I bet you just assume, you never even phone them to ask. Or you've never even stepped into one.

The agency can always contact the agencies in the ASEAN country you want your bride to be from and do the matchmake. It is just a phone call away. I have accompanied my relative to an agency. The boss was a lady she asked my relative what type he wanted. He said he prefers Laos and Vietnam. The boss said ok will match 3 girls for him first, 2 vb and 1 laobu.

You didn't ask. You like that won't get a gf one I can tell you.
huh? intro laobu?

LoneTraveller

All of the above, and also Vietbus, are bound to present cultural differences. And it's a two way thing. We struggle to bridge it, but the women also struggle to bridge it. If they are going to migrate here to live with you in Singapore, it's a lot harder for them.

You don't know even ten words of their language to have a meaningful conversation with someone who is not a tourist you met at Changi Airport, or a native you met while holidaying in their country, but is your WIFE. How do you even help her to settle down in Singapore?

You just want a woman in your house to have sex with legally? Or you want to have kids, and expect her, who speaks either no or very bad English and maybe zero or halting Mandarin, to stay at home to raise the kid? When other kids start speaking at the age of three, yours can't even string a sentence to just say, I am hungry...and when your kid starts primary one, he is like a foreigner in the classroom in his own country, who is unable to talk to other children because his mother could not speak much with him, and he learned too few words.

Not really leh. I ever encounter vietbus in sg that speak either English or mandarin. It's either they learnt here or they learnt at Vietnam.

maikichai

Because Vietbu cannot work in sg as domestic worker with work pass, so they not need permission to marry sinkie like domestic worker from other countries.

Mystyque

find vietbus that can speak english lor.

Actually they only use that high pitch voice when speaking vietnamese. If they speak english they use a very normal tone voice.

U can listen for urself.

Much nicer than speaking Vietnamese :o

syb1989

with ppl like you, our singaporean women continue to overvalue themselves
so many men hv foreign spouces. just don’t need to be the lowest educated one .
Well.. value is ownself put one. Price high, will just price out people. Is like trying to sell a 3 room flat for 1 mil. No one stop you, but can sell or not is separate matter.

Statistics speaks for itself. In fact sg is almost 40% foreigners, not rare to have international marriages nowadays..

coolhead

I noticed that all foreign bride matchmaking services and agencies in Singapore are purely Vietnamese.

Why is that? Rather than say, Burmese, Cambodian, Laos or Thailand?
They are culturally similar to Chinese. Linguistically, it is relatively easy for them to pick up conversational mandarin since vietnamese language is a 5 tone language compared to 4 tone mandarin.
They still have strong values of family upbringing.

charlieangel123

I noticed that all foreign bride matchmaking services and agencies in Singapore are purely Vietnamese.

Why is that? Rather than say, Burmese, Cambodian, Laos or Thailand?
i think all have
vietnamese 30%
cambodia 20%
thai 20%
burmese 20%
laos 10%

charlieangel123

i still find jiuhu bu the best ! Not the prettiest but culturally the closest to Singaporeans.
jhb only points is culturally close and willing to be submissive and possesses wife material traits, less ambitious and listen to husband direction

JivBunny

Not sure if you notice or not.

Not only these matchmaking by agencies all intro viet ladies but a lot of those rojak or popiah stalls are now operated by viet ladies.

best part is…….their popiah and rojak is dem good

人造人16 号

Not really leh. I ever encounter vietbus in sg that speak either English or mandarin. It's either they learnt here or they learnt at Vietnam.

my area hawker centre last time got a stall manned by 2 vietbus (not XMMs, like late 30s kind)

both of them can speak english and mandarin

I think vietbus in Sinkieland most likely should be able to speak either english or mandarin.

人造人16 号

image.png

actually most vietnamese living at the border towns of china can speak mandarin.
Vietnam and China is just separated by a 100m bridge nia, so the people at the border towns pretty much deals with chinese customers all the time.
Any sinkies who wanna find chinese speaking vietbus can try these border towns

Also, newer generations of vietnamese can speak english since it's now taught in school.

U can refer to my previous post #37, I posted a video of some vietnamese students in their 20s and their english is pretty good.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...n-nationalities.7056807/page-2#post-153442917

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.