China keep spending a lot of money on infrastructure projects because it's a source of income for the local officials. That's how it works in China, spend more earn more. No need to patch here and there, just redo whole thing if not happy.

We also spend a lot of infrastructure ma, how come the more we spend, the more crack, potholes and uneven road/pavement appear?China keep spending a lot of money on infrastructure projects because it's a source of income for the local officials. That's how it works in China, spend more earn more. No need to patch here and there, just redo whole thing if not happy.
Unlike us where we spend so much monies and time digging and patching the road![]()
We also spend a lot of infrastructure ma, how come the more we spend, the more crack, potholes and uneven road/pavement appear?
Spend also must ensure the infrastructure is well maintained and improved whatHave annual budget.....must spend if not next year budget would be lower
They have dedicated bike lanes and their pavements are much wider than ours. Advantage of plenty of land to build on. Different modes of travel is feasible unlike ours.I went sz recently, same can fight with us.. road condition, cleaniness etc except one thing they lose. Their ebikes n pmd flooding the road, pedestrain pavement.. lucky our ebike pmd scheme a failure. Heng
China has many city and not surprised of the sinkhole like in Malaysia where a tourist fell intoNever spend enough lor. In China your whole car can drop into sinkhole, never see videos before? Better do small jobs more frequently rather than wait for big problems like whole expressway sink, just happened in 2024. You need to keep track of China news lah.
Exactly, even their bikes lanes and pavement is much wider than usThey have dedicated bike lanes and their pavements are much wider than ours. Advantage of plenty of land to build on. Different modes of travel is feasible unlike ours.
China has many city and not surprised of the sinkhole like in Malaysia where a tourist fell into
But then im referring to Shenzhen
Are you implying SG is not a top tier country compare to Shenzhen and Shanghai? Or we are lacking behind both?Shenzhen is a top tier city together with Shanghai and Beijing so got special budget mah.
simple. cos their roads are new.
If we can spend so much monies and time digging and patching since Covid hit and till nowThread can close. Shenzhen roads are new just as human skin, young smooth old wrinkle.
I don’t know if there’s any QC for patching. A lot of times the patching after the works like super no standard, seemed like as long as no hole ok liao, no need care about being level/even, surface conditions etc.This I agreed. Is pathetic we spend so much monies digging and patching the pavement and road
The more we dig and patch, the more crack, uneven and potholes appear
Dun be a frogDon’t spread fake news, Edmw say China is third world![]()
Exactly, notice after they dig and patch is even worse before they dig and patchI don’t know if there’s any QC for patching. A lot of times the patching after the works like super no standard, seemed like as long as no hole ok liao, no need care about being level/even, surface conditions etc.
But later they will say need to pay more to have quality, as though the companies doing all the digging and patching are not earning big bucks already