how come UOB need to charge $18.34 for normal ATM debit card?

Whimsica

My father had a shock recently when he asked to withdraw a part of his savings from POSB in cheque (i.e. banker's order) and was told it will cost $15.

In the end he took them out in cash and ran quickly to another bank to top up his maturing FD.

He said he laosai also never run so fast. :frown:

Starabby

i went to the bank straight.
many years back ago also la.
the card fee was like $10 or $12 only. also dun wan to waive
maybe they see my balance also not worth keeping me as customer

uob debit card need to have at least one transaction in order to waive fee.

PikaManiac

My father had a shock recently when he asked to withdraw a part of his savings from POSB in cheque (i.e. banker's order) and was told it will cost $15.

In the end he took them out in cash and ran quickly to another bank to top up his maturing FD.

Online buy $3. U wan them do on the spot $15

MMO4life

Ts Shushu you can apply pay wallet like trust / YouTrip. It’s free.

Lareina

Got one year i didn't utilise the card so got $18 charge. So from then on i must rmb to make at least 12 paywave transactions in a year so that won't incur the charge. :frown:

bigrooster

Thought cashier's order (first one in a day) paid to ownself is FOC?

XiaoJinLing

That time I told them dun wan to get debit card... jus wan a normal atm... but they say it free even charge jus ask for waiver, keep pushing me... then I got charge I think in jan or Feb... then I call to waive at first say cannot as I didn't use... then I ask them say I got the uob one credit card so I use that and where got space/ time to use the one debit card which I only use as atm... then I told them I wan to cancel that debit card to change normal atm card then they say cannot as atm can only go physical counter. (What?) Then they put me on hold for 10mins then later say this time they waive... (mean next year I gotta go their counter?)

Jus debit card also want to charge fees... I rather all banks jus give normal atm cards

Whimsica

Thought cashier's order (first one in a day) paid to ownself is FOC?
No leh $15 and if ownself use online banking to "buy" cashier's order still need to pay $3.

Basically nowadays after putting money with them when need to withdraw is either in cash or ownself transfer or "buy" cashier's order i.e. get bank to issue cheque to you.

Matter of time they also charge for "cash handling" and extend Paynow charges from corporate to individuals.

bigrooster

No leh $15 and if ownself use online banking to "buy" cashier's order still need to pay $3.

Basically nowadays after putting money with them when need to withdraw is either in cash or ownself transfer or "buy" cashier's order i.e. get bank to issue cheque to you.

Matter of time they also charge for "cash handling" and extend Paynow charges from corporate to individuals.
Hmmm ... something new? Or maybe it is because request for CO online?

Whenever say my FD matures I want to withdraw to place in another bank, I would (over the counter) ask for a CO to be issue to my name, which is FOC.

Maybe the charges are coming in, now that cheque clearing is also chargeable.

Whimsica

Hmmm ... something new? Or maybe it is because request for CO online?

Whenever say my FD matures I want to withdraw to place in another bank, I would (over the counter) ask for a CO to be issue to my name, which is FOC.

Maybe the charges are coming in, now that cheque clearing is also chargeable.
FD prolly different cos they are obliged to pay you principle + interest upon maturity.

My father was getting spare cash out of his POSB savings account where we send him allowances and where he gets his CPF monthly payment and other government payouts.

Laneige

i tried
they say cannot waive
i closed bank account
they dun even bother ask me reconsider
They prob think doing without such customers that have or not high value but expect high value services lo

like Amex I have 200k plus points llst renew n pay membership then they open mouth close mouth say value u as customers or something
Value my foot

Laneige

SC charge debit card too. if i remember correctly is $20
i immediately cancel and apply their CC
Did they auto give u credit facility?
Don’t mind did u change ur credit limit? Got more than 15kor not

white_prince

Annual fees? Me cancel my debit card with UOB.
I set my ATM facilities to credit card

Knightoftheblackrose

You can firmly insist on them issuing a plain vanilla ATM card to you.

They will have to comply.

I personally feel that it is a big security risk with debit cards linked to your bank accounts.
Once the money is siphoned off by scammers, the bank will take their own sweet time to return it to you.
For credit cards, you are protected coz the bank will have to bear the losses.

If hackers can use credit card number generators to hack your credit cards, there is nothing to stop them from doing the same thing with your debit cards.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.