How do you deal with FAKE relatives during CNY

viethai

i havent gone to any CNY visits ever since my last grandparent died more than 20 years ago.

Now i doubt i'll even recognise my cousins if i see them on the streets.

The last time i saw them they were just sec sch kids, now I think all married with kids liao.
Same same

Encouragesome1

FAKE and SUPERFICAL.. share tots leh
A) Just hi bye them and go out

Or
B) hi bye them and pretend u busy with somethg v urgent n impt shut room n refuse to go out

C) really go bff hse to Pak game n repeat plan b until 3-5 h they gone then return home
Of course must buy some stuff for friend family to enjoy na

PrinceY

See u want win or what.. if want win then fight back and be even more fake lo, eventually once they cannot tahan then will stay away from u..

But most i think are just asking for the sake of asking or finding topics to talk.. But sien is ask the same stuff every year and like no interest or bother to understand also, like ask u if u start working already then u tell them yes.. then next year ask same thing again, its like they never bother to update their database..

End up i appreciate those that just sit quietly and minding their own business..

Emperor_Hippo

Go rent car go rent suit .
All these need to act one.

act very successful, very good very rich.
if u got a hidden tiger crouching tiger relative who is an industry veteran in the field that u claim u see peh satki in, then u prepare ur face kena 打 until 啪啪响.

see peh lao kui one. kinda like my cousin when he boasted in front of me how satki he was, i made him epic lao kui.

dun act. but if ppl wanna one-up u, u do the stone cold stunner on them.

Roid Rage

FAKE and SUPERFICAL.. share tots leh
You Wear rainbow daytona, whole body branded, ask wife put on her high end jewelries and Hermes bag. Prepare $100 for each ang pao. You see them poh you instead or not

I realised this is the only way to deal with those people

Money no have

See u want win or what.. if want win then fight back and be even more fake lo, eventually once they cannot tahan then will stay away from u..

But most i think are just asking for the sake of asking or finding topics to talk.. But sien is ask the same stuff every year and like no interest or bother to understand also, like ask u if u start working already then u tell them yes.. then next year ask same thing again, its like they never bother to update their database..

End up i appreciate those that just sit quietly and minding their own business..
Nope, you are so wrong.

they are Kaypoh first and foremost.

even if they never ask you directly your salary, they also will do mental calculation from your job title/ job location etc.

Work in cbd? Town? Or oversea?
Go oversea where?
Go where eat?

all these will be used to paint a estimated net worth of you.

Money no have

You Wear rainbow daytona, whole body branded, ask wife put on her high end jewelries and Hermes bag. Prepare $100 for each ang pao. You see them poh you instead or not

No way i will give them any $.
Even if i will to be uber millionaire rich $10m or $100m.

no, i rather donate money to church or temple is better

Emperor_Hippo

dun really need to so 大排场 lah. :s13:

but yah, hermēs, prada and gucci itself enuff to make ppl shut up.

CHINAUSA

No need to stoop so low as them!

Outside look nice only, behind the back they need to borrorw frm other .. asset rich, cash poor. pweei...! I despise

starrynite138

I attended an uncle's wake 2 years back

only the older cousins (those older than me) attended.

The younger ones (those I didnt see ever since they're kids) didnt attend

Im actually curious how my youngest cousin looks like now.
She was only 14 when I last saw her, and she was quite chio back then.
Now she's 30+ lao auntie liao, probably dont look pretty anymore LOL
It's like that one lah. Like she would also think you now very lao uncle and wrinkle skin all over already. Who doesn't age? Most importantly is to live a well fulfilling and happy life.

PikaPika33

either low ball or anyhow bomb

not like it matter to you in the long run

dont ne3d share too much

Emperor_Hippo

Nope, you are so wrong.

they are Kaypoh first and foremost.

even if they never ask you directly your salary, they also will do mental calculation from your job title/ job location etc.

Work in cbd? Town? Or oversea?
Go oversea where?
Go where eat?

all these will be used to paint a estimated net worth of you.
let ppl assume what they wanna assume, is the best way.

anyway, protip for BBFAs, most TWMMs, ATBs and JPMMs also use the above line of questioning to estimate ur nett worth one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.