How do you use chatgpt in your daily life or work?

plpl20

use gpt to generate ideas, like how to put my ideas into words etc..

its very useful and if you dont know how to prompt it properly, you will get alot of BS hallucinating answer.
How you prompt differently to make sure it don't hallucinate? Have example

cosmothecat

chit chates with AI when i am bored and cannot sleep cos i no friend
:frown:
Question to ChatGPT: is it true that once you have a partner in life, your happiness is doubled and sadness halved?

Answer from ChatGPT:

That’s a lovely sentiment — and it captures something true about human connection, though not always in the literal sense.

Research in psychology suggests that strong, supportive relationships do tend to increase overall life satisfaction and emotional resilience. Having a caring partner means you often have someone to share joys with (which amplifies happiness) and someone to lean on during hard times (which can make sadness feel more manageable).

But it’s not automatic — the quality of the relationship matters far more than just having a partner. A healthy, trusting partnership can indeed make life’s highs higher and lows more bearable. On the other hand, a strained or unbalanced relationship can add stress rather than relieve it.

So the saying isn’t a scientific rule, but it expresses a real emotional truth: love and companionship, when genuine and mutual, often make life’s experiences richer and easier to carry.

Would you like me to explain how research measures the link between relationships and happiness?

eggie011

I don't use it at all. What I use is OpenAI whisper module for subtitling.

Can Or Not

What did chatgpt suggest about too many books? anything creative/practical?
The comments were encouraging.

You don't have to read everything now. It is okay to own more books than you can currently read. It is called "antilibrary" - Concept by Nassim Taleb. Unread books represent potential knowledge and are useful even unread.

Then suggest approach to encourage reading such as 20 pages per day.

helloicanseeu

no daily use, but so far chatgpt can be a very quick regurgitator of historic information

Spike

EDMW (Eat-Drink-Man-Woman) is the most active sub-forum on HardwareZone, one of Singapore’s largest and longest-running online forums. It has a distinctive culture and reputation that has evolved over more than 20 years. Here’s a structured impression of the forum and its typical participants (“forumers”):

---

🧭 1. Forum Culture & Tone

Fast-moving and informal: Threads can get hundreds of replies within hours. Conversations are often short, punchy, and filled with inside jokes.

Humour and sarcasm: EDMW is notorious for its heavy use of memes, Singlish, and satire. Many posts poke fun at current events, politicians, celebrities, or public figures.

Collective identity: There’s a strong sense of “EDMW spirit” — a kind of online kampung culture where regulars recognize each other’s nicknames and posting styles.

Low barrier to entry: Anyone can post or comment easily. This leads to both vibrant discussion and, at times, trolling or flame wars.

---

🧑‍💻 2. Typical Forumer Profile (Generalized)

While EDMW has a wide mix, some common patterns among its active participants include:

Singaporean males in their 20s to 40s: Many are working professionals, students, or NSFs.

Digitally savvy and opinionated: They follow local news, politics, finance, and gossip closely.

Wry sense of humour: Many posts are written tongue-in-cheek, with deliberate exaggeration or mock seriousness.

Collective crowd reactions: EDMWers often react quickly to trending issues, sometimes amplifying stories before mainstream media picks them up.

---

🧨 3. Common Topics

Local news and politics: EDMW is often a parallel commentary space for whatever’s happening in Singapore that day.

Gossip & viral content: Rumours, TikTok drama, influencer stories, and everyday Singaporean “encounters.”

Finance and property: Threads on CPF, housing, stocks, and BTO launches are extremely popular.

NS and male culture: A lot of in-jokes stem from National Service or male bonding experiences.

Memes and entertainment: EDMW creates and spreads many Singapore-specific memes.

---

⚔️ 4. Reputation & Criticism

Outspoken & unfiltered: Forumers often speak more bluntly than they would in real life or on mainstream social media.

Occasional toxicity: Threads can devolve into personal attacks, misogyny, racism, or trolling. Moderation exists but is lighter than on many other platforms.

Viral influence: EDMW has a track record of amplifying stories that later reach mainstream news, sometimes for better, sometimes controversially.

---

🧠 5. Why People Use It

Real-time pulse of “what Singaporeans are talking about”

Freedom to express strong or unpopular opinions anonymously

Entertainment value — many read EDMW like a mix of news, satire, and kopitiam banter

A sense of belonging to an informal, local online community

---

📌 Summary Impression

> EDMW is like Singapore’s digital kopitiam — rowdy, quick-witted, occasionally harsh, but very plugged into everyday Singaporean life.
Forumers tend to be street-smart, meme-savvy, and unfiltered, creating a space that’s both a rich source of local sentiment and a lightning rod for controversy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.