How does SEZ Johor benefit us??

charleslee1989

SEZ is still very new and still alot of question marks. I will be attending a seminar on it perhaps after that I will learn more to answer your questions.

but can tell you even without SEZ some companies are already doing that many years ago. Example you know the Bobo (competitor to Dodo) fishball maker? They shifted to JB there for quite some time from SG to Malaysia.
From what I know, WRT is quite hard to get if you dun have a single malaysian as a director, small scale and dunno which palm to grease....

artncraft

Both SG and JB will continue to grow.

However, SG's growth is slowing down while JB's is speeding up.

We are limited by land, labour and utilities costs.

artncraft

Wont ppl naturally prefer to stay in a better place?

The new towns in JB are very beautiful, spacious and cheap.

6f8640f3d9909344c138e45c92c612d9

mooseolly

From what I know, WRT is quite hard to get if you dun have a single malaysian as a director, small scale and dunno which palm to grease....
In Malaysia , as long as you got money . Many things you can attain. In SG also have such people they call them Tua Pek Gong.

charleslee1989

In Malaysia , as long as you got money . Many things you can attain. In SG also have such people they call them Tua Pek Gong.

Finding the right TPK is key.....That time I asked around how to open a car dealership in bolehland, they tell me sibei difficult and costly if you dun find the right TPK...The pangkat not big enough, you also waste time and money de....

mooseolly

Finding the right TPK is key.....That time I asked around how to open a car dealership in bolehland, they tell me sibei difficult and costly if you dun find the right TPK...The pangkat not big enough, you also waste time and money de....
Aiyah you just go and make Malaysia friends in Singapore then ask to partnership give him alittle bit of benefit. Money cannot oneself earn finish wan. Share share ok. Better still if you can ask the person work for you while you chu capital.

I didn't claim jb is better. But interested to know why you think ang mo would not prefer to stay in jb, but in sg.

JB is cheaper, but it doesn't mean better. For one, it's easy to tell that they're likely an expat especially if they take the RTS frequently, so that can make them an easy target. Cost of living is rising, and it's going to get worse for JB soon. I'd expect that crime rates might increase, because I don't see how the people earning locally in JB can sustain themselves with the local salary, unless they work in SG too. JB isnt exactly known for solving their crimes, until now all the unknown bodies found in luggages aren't identified yet.

If anything, I'd say that rental in the North may drop or stagnate, but SG still cements itself as being safer than JB.

The new towns in JB are very beautiful, spacious and cheap.

6f8640f3d9909344c138e45c92c612d9

It won't look like that at night. Most units will be vacant and it won't be cheap for the locals. So guess where will people go if they want to rob the rich?

My boss's JB house is a gated complex, house also got robbed. Everyone thinks that they won't be so suay, until it happens to them.

charleslee1989

Aiyah you just go and make Malaysia friends in Singapore then ask to partnership give him alittle bit of benefit. Money cannot oneself earn finish wan. Share share ok. Better still if you can ask the person work for you while you chu capital.
I have Malaysia friends but all is not the right Datok level de......

PikaPika33

yes and no have to see

but hor according to ts and some edmwers

sg should become like north korea
totally isolation and self reliance

:s22:

Itsthatguy

JB is cheaper, but it doesn't mean better. For one, it's easy to tell that they're likely an expat especially if they take the RTS frequently, so that can make them an easy target. Cost of living is rising, and it's going to get worse for JB soon. I'd expect that crime rates might increase, because I don't see how the people earning locally in JB can sustain themselves with the local salary, unless they work in SG too. JB isnt exactly known for solving their crimes, until now all the unknown bodies found in luggages aren't identified yet.

If anything, I'd say that rental in the North may drop or stagnate, but SG still cements itself as being safer than JB.

So the SEZ would not have any cost advantage in the long term because cost will rise. Just like China. Actually, what advantage does it have for Singaporeans, still can't figure out.:unsure:

And on crime, I heard from my jhk colleagues that robbers can just enter the gate of terrace house in the morning about 0630hrs while the children were boarding the family vehicle to go to school and just rob the whole family, then ride away.:(

artncraft

Johor could see up to $711 million in investment from Maybank’s Singapore clients​

KUALA LUMPUR – Johor could see as much as RM2.35 billion (S$711 million) in investment inflows over the next three to 10 years from Maybank’s Singapore-based clients, the Malaysian bank said on May 19.

These intended investments will contribute to the development of the 11 Johor-Singapore Special Economic Zone (JS-SEZ) economic sectors, particularly in the green economy, manufacturing, logistics and healthcare.

The Malaysian bank said its three Singapore clients have expressed interest in investing in Johor’s special economic zone: Thomson Medical Group and Centurion Corp – which are both listed on Singapore’s stock exchange – and Alpine Renewables and Edible Oils, a supplier of feedstock to biofuel producers in the United States, Europe, South Korea and China.

Already, Johor has secured about RM23 billion in its investment pipeline for the month of April alone, said Johor Menteri Besar Onn Hafiz Ghazi. This comes on top of the RM27.4 billion in investments the state recorded in the first quarter of 2025.

“If these numbers hold – and we believe they will – Johor will exceed RM50 billion to RM60 billion in total investments in (full-year) 2025, surpassing last year’s RM48.5 billion. This will position Johor yet again in the top three investment destinations in Malaysia (after Selangor and Kuala Lumpur),” Datuk Onn said on May 19.

For the whole of 2024, Johor attracted RM48.5 billion in investments, up from RM43.1 billion in 2023, according to data from the Malaysian Investment Development Authority.

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/s...in-investment-from-maybanks-singapore-clients

Itsthatguy

1) For food security. Currently there is a new partnership to grow crop there using technology.

2) Talked to a Malaysian investor last year for his new idea, it seems he understood Singapore as where all the admin HQs are and will be in the future, Then the operations will be in SEZ.

3) Singapore will continue to import highly skilled managers and above, and those that won't upgrade will find work in the SEZ instead,

4) cements Singapore place of good security as the world geopolitcal remains in uncertainty. This is as the demographic of people in here can be further segregated as above.

All these are qualitative info. to justify, just like exam answers smoke out and write until very beautiful. Any quantitative info available anywhere? What are the KPIs for this SEZ? Any idea?

regionmaster

How you gonna get workers
Ask you all birth don't want birth
Bring in skilled worker also complain
Now SEZ also want reject

No wonder this sub think their party can solve things

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.