How long do our local universities graduates took to repay finish their education loan?

jeffprobst

For me it was about 3 to 3.5 years. I was paying off my school loan with SGD 500 a month. The first 6 months basically just went to covering the interest before I could really start reducing the loan itself.

jeffprobst

Those who take loan likely poor in financial literacy.

The day your kid is borne...setup your own university fund. Both parents pump in $1000 each per month for 18 years. With dividends & compound interest...your kids can even study overseas for free.
Don’t be a douchebag. Not everyone has parents who are wealthy or financially capable of setting aside that kind of money from day one. At least those who take a loan are taking responsibility for their own education instead of expecting everything to be handed down.

jeffprobst

I must be really poor in financial literacy, cause I don’t understand how this is “free”…?
Of course it feels “free” for him. If what he said actually applies in real life and not just his online persona, then he never had to pay for it himself. That is what we call a char siew son/daughter. Envy aside, there is no need to act like a douchebag online about it.

GenerationX

i paid all by myself with no loans, i use my 2 years of savings from working full-time.
I took cpf not cos I no money more to preserve cash cos I total no income and worry my savings run dry. Ownself pay cos parents old liao and I went back to school after working few years

jeffprobst

Most of my classmates within a year. I mean those I know de. So far no one still paying
I got a friend, i think he is still incurring school loan since graduation. Since graduation, he married, started a family (2kids), and said no time to save to pay off the loan after stepping into fatherhood. Last I recall, he had the full set, school loan, housing loan, and renovation loan. Hear already also shagged ****.

jeffprobst

I took cpf not cos I no money more to preserve cash cos I total no income and my savings dry. Ownself pay cos parents old liao and I went back to school after working few years
i dun even have CPF, have to rely on sibling's one. ended up i think also auto deducted to my sibling CPF when i started working.

Senfai

Such a first world problem to have though

During my time we don’t even get to go university unless you’re along the best of the best.

It’s only after 2005 that the university rate went up up up up

GenerationX

My bff's daughter repaid her NUS loan within 4 yrs. Hers was full loan from O*b* bank. But I guess she got lucky bcos she confirmed a job way before her graduation.
How much was that? Why need so many years? Nus I tot pay quite high or the course fee too high?

TheApathetic

I got a friend, i think he is still incurring school loan since graduation. Since graduation, he married, started a family (2kids), and said no time to save to pay off the loan after stepping into fatherhood. Last I recall, he had the full set, school loan, housing loan, and renovation loan. Hear already also shagged ****.
Ownself get ownself into debt.

jeffprobst

During my time we don’t even get to go university unless you’re along the best of the best.

Last time having O-level was already crème of the top. Nowadays, throw one stone and you hit someone with a degree. More and more heading toward the “permanent head damage” route. Even education certs kena inflation and devaluation. Honestly, sad era to live in.

GenerationX

i dun even have CPF, have to rely on sibling's one. ended up i think also auto deducted to my sibling CPF when i started working.
Cos me is went back to school. Alreadybwork a few years liao. Actually me is switch from cash to cpf. Cos I that time tot cpf is my own money no need return and I can't touch until 65. In the end I was shocked. I still need pay back and interest starts counting the minute it was being deducted. Now still my money la at least is in my account. Just that I cannot use it other then for my bto.... now use for bto liao interest ball start rolling already liao. Duno want to sell or not when I old cos duno need return how much interest by then...

jeffprobst

Ownself get ownself into debt.
no comments on that friend. he say just let it roll. nothing he can do.

i guess some individual really want to go through the end-to-end life cycle, aka, into adulthood > parenthood and such.

GenerationX

Ya I went after 2005. With ITE>Poly> go work> uni. Grad time i very old le. Now cannot find stable job -_-". Contract since I grad. Nvr got a full time offer. Bo bian gota accept cos need return debts

highsulphur

I did hint to my kids that I'll pay for their education as I thought it is my responsibility as a parent. But I also think it's a good idea to instill some financial responsibility on them too for them to pay for part of it. What can be a middle ground?

GenerationX

Last time having O-level was already crème of the top. Nowadays, throw one stone and you hit someone with a degree. More and more heading toward the “permanent head damage” route. Even education certs kena inflation and devaluation. Honestly, sad era to live in.
Many of my colleuges now taking masters, even at my kind of age(4x)

GenerationX

no comments on that friend. he say just let it roll. nothing he can do.

i guess some individual really want to go through the end-to-end life cycle, aka, into adulthood > parenthood and such.
Tats y I dare not start family. It's a bottomless pit to fill. Especially if all mouth depend on u and ur salary is not high enough to sustain.

GenerationX

I did hint to my kids that I'll pay for their education as I thought it is my responsibility as a parent. But I also think it's a good idea to instill some financial responsibility on them too for them to pay for part of it. What can be a middle ground?
Perhaps u can "loan" them without interest lo... and make sure they pay back. My sis "loan" from papa 100k, monthly paying back 200. Now he is 80yo. I duno if he would be able to get back his 100k...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.