How long does your PC components last?

FinalTidus

awesome. My seasonic x850 just turned 9 years and went through 3 overhauls as well!

Wah awesome!

But I think I will use it for another few more years before I decommission it due to wear and tear.

Don't want to bring down my entire system when it suddenly fails spectacularly :s22:

haylui

I remember i bought AMD phenom II x3 720be and use until today with Asus m4a78m-1394 and 2 x 2gb DDR 2 ram, andyson 460w PSU and nzxt casing, all from 2010.

SEvsNK

My exprience is non moving parts lasts longer, alot longer

elmohootbigbird

actually most stuff lasts mighty long. i still have working conroe proc but i sold all the mobos. i think the least lasting ones are psu cus i go for value ranges, even those last quite a few yrs.

Psychedelic Senses

I think how long parts fail depends on how suay you are unless you abuse that particular component a lot.

Have had ram failed on me (corsair vengeance ddr3), a blower style gtx 780 dying after 2 years and 5 months of usage, a cpu dying for no reason after 6 months (i7 7700k) and lastly an AIO (corsair h100i) pump failing after 7 months.

FinalTidus

actually most stuff lasts mighty long. i still have working conroe proc but i sold all the mobos. i think the least lasting ones are psu cus i go for value ranges, even those last quite a few yrs.

Cpu should last a very long time if not abused. Even much longer if they are kept unused.

FinalTidus

I think how long parts fail depends on how suay you are unless you abuse that particular component a lot.

Have had ram failed on me (corsair vengeance ddr3), a blower style gtx 780 dying after 2 years and 5 months of usage, a cpu dying for no reason after 6 months (i7 7700k) and lastly an AIO (corsair h100i) pump failing after 7 months.
AIO pumps very high failure rate as it involves moving liquid.

undead102

Great thread. Will share share some experience on my old pc parts life here.

Asrock b75 pro3m - lga 1155 motherboard dies after 3 years few months after warranty over.
Symptom - Reboot loop problem then eventually die.

Aurum 550w gold psu - dies after 1 year, send for rma and replace with a refurbished aurum psu.
Symptom - PC suddenly power off and cannot power on anymore. Diagnose pc and found out this psu die.

msi gtx 780 - dies after 3 years plus. Just after 3 years warranty over.
Symptom - GPU displaying weird artifact when system boots up. Artifact even showing on bios screen and desktop screen. Cannot rma as warranty over.

powercolour r9 270 - dies after 3 years plus. Just after 3 years warranty over as well.
Symptom - Vertical artifacting lines appearing when gaming and system becomes unresponsive and hard crash.

MSI ATI Radeon HD5770 - dies after 2 years plus. Luckily still under warranty so send for RMA and card is working till now.
Symptom - GPU fan spinning really loud and no display on screen.

Mostly that is about all I can remember. I have intel conroe core 2 duo E6420 still working fine. And a pentium 4 system still working fine. Really very good. Oh ya and my Coolermaster 650 Watts True Power 80 Plus been using it since conroe core 2 duo e6420 days. Probably 8-10 years old psu already and is working fine. Very please with it.

StationA

I remember i bought AMD phenom II x3 720be and use until today with Asus m4a78m-1394 and 2 x 2gb DDR 2 ram, andyson 460w PSU and nzxt casing, all from 2010.

shake hands :D I also own the x3 720 since around 10 years ago, with Gigabyte 790X MB and 4850. hacked to x4 in BIOS. was working fine till two weeks ago(HDD and PSU replaced through). two weeks ago when my new 2070s arrived I did a try on the old MB+CPU, seems crashed the MB, now can't boot. and now on new system(3600+B450+2070s), will throw the old one away...:s13:

RouK3ziLa

Typically first to go is HDD back when SSD just start .. HDD fail or super slow after 2 years or so ... then SSD got cheaper HDD lasted longer due to way less read write ...

Then goes ... mobos and GPU .. typically also around 4- 5 years ?? CPU and ram never tio broken before and tio only once PSU dead cause bought as spare .. never use for a very long time ... and yes buying a reliable PSU is very impt dont need to cheap that 20-30 dolla

FinalTidus

Great thread. Will share share some experience on my old pc parts life here.

Asrock b75 pro3m - lga 1155 motherboard dies after 3 years few months after warranty over.
Symptom - Reboot loop problem then eventually die.

Aurum 550w gold psu - dies after 1 year, send for rma and replace with a refurbished aurum psu.
Symptom - PC suddenly power off and cannot power on anymore. Diagnose pc and found out this psu die.

msi gtx 780 - dies after 3 years plus. Just after 3 years warranty over.
Symptom - GPU displaying weird artifact when system boots up. Artifact even showing on bios screen and desktop screen. Cannot rma as warranty over.

powercolour r9 270 - dies after 3 years plus. Just after 3 years warranty over as well.
Symptom - Vertical artifacting lines appearing when gaming and system becomes unresponsive and hard crash.

MSI ATI Radeon HD5770 - dies after 2 years plus. Luckily still under warranty so send for RMA and card is working till now.
Symptom - GPU fan spinning really loud and no display on screen.

Mostly that is about all I can remember. I have intel conroe core 2 duo E6420 still working fine. And a pentium 4 system still working fine. Really very good. Oh ya and my Coolermaster 650 Watts True Power 80 Plus been using it since conroe core 2 duo e6420 days. Probably 8-10 years old psu already and is working fine. Very please with it.

:eek::eek::eek::s22::s22::s22:

Wah you either very heng or very suay. Always just nice after or before warranty runs out then all fail.

converse2010

Rig on my right, believe it is 7~8 years old?

Currently only the USB 3.0 port and Bluetooth is faulty. Other than that, everything seems alright.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Still have the Geforce 9800GX2. Recently plug in for a run, still manage to boot.

It's a 11 yrs old card since this card was launch in 2008. :s13:

sumantochong

Mine the first to uplorry is Lan Port, followed by CMOs battery 😂🤣 & CPU cooler fab also the bling bling lights died off ... Still going strong for the rest 😊

sumantochong

Whah Liao! My dream card last time leh for SLI. Due to BO LUI, only managed to buy GTax560Ti & never SLI cause BO LUI 🙃🙃🙃😞😞😞

Still have the Geforce 9800GX2. Recently plug in for a run, still manage to boot.

It's a 11 yrs old card since this card was launch in 2008. :s13:

FD Trinitron

The rig on my right, dunno how many yrs liao, it's the first quad core Intel CPU, Q6600, now in my storeroom, 2 wks ago took out to check and can still boot to WinXP :s13:

The 1st hardware to up lorry is the Corsair 120Gb SSD, only worked for 2yrs 1wk, just after the 2yrs warranty and I paid $680 for it. :mad:

I've been using Sapphire Radeon cards (HD 3850, HD4000 series and HD5000/6000 series), so far several yrs no breakdown.

For accessories, the worst is Coolermaster fans, installed 4 in my chassis, all 4 take turns to fail, that is 100% failure rate! Some only few months and got stuck, lazy to take grab down to SLS for warranty. From now on will avoid this brand.

FinalTidus

The rig on my right, dunno how many yrs liao, it's the first quad core Intel CPU, Q6600, now in my storeroom, 2 wks ago took out to check and can still boot to WinXP :s13:

The 1st hardware to up lorry is the Corsair 120Gb SSD, only worked for 2yrs 1wk, just after the 2yrs warranty and I paid $680 for it. :mad:

I've been using Sapphire Radeon cards (HD 3850, HD4000 series and HD5000/6000 series), so far several yrs no breakdown.

For accessories, the worst is Coolermaster fans, installed 4 in my chassis, all 4 take turns to fail, that is 100% failure rate! Some only few months and got stuck, lazy to take grab down to SLS for warranty. From now on will avoid this brand.

:eek:

Wah kaozzz when was it sia?

FinalTidus

I think was at year 2011, the OCZ Vertex 3 is the 2nd generation ssd. The first generation ssd is like only 30Gb or 60Gb capacity...

Wah you write on the SSD very often is it?

I thought SSD very hard to fail one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.