How many credit cards do you have? (2014 edition)

How many cards do you have?

Votes: 4 3.4%

Votes: 6 5.0%
  • 2-3

Votes: 16 13.4%
  • 4-6

Votes: 25 21.0%
  • 6-10

Votes: 21 17.6%
  • 11 - 15

Votes: 23 19.3%
  • 16 - 20

Votes: 13 10.9%
  • more than 20

Votes: 11 9.2%

• Total voters

bbbbbw

For me I got 8 cards currently

Dbs Amex black
Dbs visa altitude
Citibank premier miles visa
Citibank dividend visa
Citibank rewards visa
Ocbc titanium
HSBC visa platinum
Scb manhattan world

I cancelled 10 cards

Citibank visa clear platinum
Citibank rewards MasterCard
Citibank dividend MasterCard
HSBC revolution
Scb NUS
Scb prudential
Scb business
Scb singpost
Scb visa platinum
Scb MasterCard platinum

rotiboyz

mai sexposed leh!! :eek::(

Wahahaha edmw lingo wor ~

Anyway I saw a middle aged uncle at the expo electronics fair yesterday flipping open a small album of cards asking the sales staff which card got rebates, come on its a fair, already cheap prices, still want to show off his cards, estimated 30 plus or so

naro

Wahahaha edmw lingo wor ~

Anyway I saw a middle aged uncle at the expo electronics fair yesterday flipping open a small album of cards asking the sales staff which card got rebates, come on its a fair, already cheap prices, still want to show off his cards, estimated 30 plus or so

Every cent counts!

The_Davis

sg got palladium card?

based on $25m asset, total of $12.5 trillion for the 500,000 active cards :eek:

satay16

$25m is not necessary, on this article it is said that $250K is enough.

On FlyerTalk's forums (>100 page thread) there was mentioning that ordinary person can get the card as well.

btw, just interested in your analysis on the CSP vs Singapore cards. I'm really really messed up with the cashback system for sg cards (I mean like, 1% everything 2% makan and travel 7% dividend, vs ,10%+10% smart$ uni$ min spend max spend within statement period bracket expenditure e=mc2 solve this 4-order differential equation.... omg!!!!!).

but ultimately, have you came to a conclusion if the CSP is worth using in Singapore? the miles transfer seems pretty attractive. I see similar miles program in Singapore too, but it is JUST SO CONFUSING!!! also, the benefits of visa signature is not valid here too since the concierge services, warranty, purchase protection etc are unusable in Singapore, which makes me wonder if the $95 annual fee is worthwhile (can't be cancelled, I tried every year without success even with so much expenditure).

the discover card is awesome though, it's my version of freedom without the foreign transaction fee.

ambasnakeman

for those in the 8-10 or above cards, willing to share but kinda wallet/purse/clutch u carry to host all of em?

86technie

I only carry 4:
POSB Everyday card - cash rebate and ezlink rebate
DBS platinum
OCBC Robinson - hardly use will cancel after 1 year
OCBC Ntuc card
I still got 2 debit card for small amount purchases.
For now I stick with these cards, no plans to sign on with other banks.

Techno Pride

to build a credit history, you might want to "ping" the idle cards.

For M1 or Starhub online payment, break the bills down into multiples of 5.00. E.g.: use 3 cards to pay a 15.00 bill.

googol

to build a credit history, you might want to "ping" the idle cards.

For M1 or Starhub online payment, break the bills down into multiples of 5.00. E.g.: use 3 cards to pay a 15.00 bill.

care to elaborate? I rarely use some of my cards. is this bad?

Techno Pride

care to elaborate? I rarely use some of my cards. is this bad?

the idea is to flood your credit report with on-time payment records. Even though you're only charging 5.00 per month. IIRC, the minimum payment via AXS is 5.00.

someone else may want to clarify the AXS part

The_Davis

the idea is to flood your credit report with on-time payment records. Even though you're only charging 5.00 per month. IIRC, the minimum payment via AXS is 5.00.

someone else may want to clarify the AXS part
what's the benefit?

Techno Pride

what's the benefit?

When you're in trouble, which would you prefer:

1 friend defending you and vouching that you're awesome OR
5 friends defending you and vouching that you're awesome?

Which looks better:

1 bank and 1 miserly credit card with good payment records OR
5 banks and 5 credit cards with good payment records?

I am not sure whether that's going to work well with an excessive number like 20+ cards. Sounds like too much effort. For 4 or 5 cards, just spend an additional 30 minutes every month to break up the bills and pay via AXS.

invisible999

btw, just interested in your analysis on the CSP vs Singapore cards. I'm really really messed up with the cashback system for sg cards (I mean like, 1% everything 2% makan and travel 7% dividend, vs ,10%+10% smart$ uni$ min spend max spend within statement period bracket expenditure e=mc2 solve this 4-order differential equation.... omg!!!!!).

but ultimately, have you came to a conclusion if the CSP is worth using in Singapore? the miles transfer seems pretty attractive. I see similar miles program in Singapore too, but it is JUST SO CONFUSING!!! also, the benefits of visa signature is not valid here too since the concierge services, warranty, purchase protection etc are unusable in Singapore, which makes me wonder if the $95 annual fee is worthwhile (can't be cancelled, I tried every year without success even with so much expenditure).

the discover card is awesome though, it's my version of freedom without the foreign transaction fee.

OK, for the rest: CSP is Chase Sapphire Preferred Visa Signature card (google + read FlyerTalk forums to get an idea what it is).

I have Sapphire, Ink Bold cards from Chase and HSBC Premier card from States. From local cards I have Altitude, Woman's and UOB PPV. I asked myself and here the same question, here is my thoughts/conclusion:

- While Chase cards do not have foreign transaction fees, you still have to pay 1% of Visa/MC fees.

- The main problem is that you have to pay Chase cards bills in US $. But if you are living here, have income in SIN $ and do not have significant reserves back in States it might become a problem. So you have to either wire money from SIN or have Citigold/HSBC Premier. But to have normal exchange rate for HSBC you have to transfer minimum US $50K. Other way or around - exchange fees add to 1-2% of purchase.

- one would think that it would be beneficial to use Ink Bold card here with bonus categories ($1/5 miles) but when I had local charges for bonus categories (telecom, internet purchases) none of them got bonus points. I spent considerable time with Chase support and got answer that points can't be awarded because MC does not classify them as such. So this incentive is gone as well.

- regarding benefits: purchase protection and warranty. AFAIK, I might be mistaken but you still have pretty good chance to initiate chargeback for those cases.

And this is the huge benefit compare to local cards - they simply do not offer anything like that here. Moreover, here in this forum I remember someone mentioned that he gave his DBS card to wife, wife lost it (or got stolen) and there was several thousand $ charges on the card. DBS refuses to cancel charges and he has no option except to pay it back. If any US bank/card would try to do something like this the very next day they will be slapped with huge class action case.

So consumer protection in Singapore is pretty much non-existent. Recent case with one travel agency which went bankrupt and at the same time pocketed all the money people paid for trips/reservations is another proof of such things.

I would recommend for this case to get US Amex card and use that card in cases when one really needs to have protection on your side: if you plan to travel locally, especially to make hotel reservation in a places where you have not been and/or are not widely known.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.