❓ How many here will not and never consider visiting China for vacation? ❓

MaximumZ

the base ideal of communism and socialism is beautiful. dun talk abt all the corruption or money stuff.

the actual power of a united country with ppl casting aside their individualism for the social and common good and progress of the nation led by a benevolent dictator is beautiful.

Japan, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Southeast Asia.... The commonality of Asian nations is our desire for the common good (ok, I say again, u dun look at pork barrel politics in Japan or corruption in S. Korea or China).

but humans are fundamentally flawed beings. That's where the rot sets in.
Communism killed about 100+ million people. No, the idea is not beautiful. It literally was tried many times. Each time, mass amount of people died. Mostly due to famine. If you worship one of the four horsemen, communism is one of famines favorite tool.

zoossh

Communism killed about 100+ million people. No, the idea is not beautiful. It literally was tried many times. Each time, mass amount of people died. Mostly due to famine. If you worship one of the four horsemen, communism is one of famines favorite tool.
What u say is true

genghis khan also kill a lot of people, but that is in the past. What matters is right now.

as long it is acknowledged, and that they ain’t doing now or will be doing in near future. Then those will be in the past

Mongolia is beautiful. But so are many other places. So if it didn’t fit your values, I’m sure there are various alternatives offering the same or more value also with nice sceneries

the world so big. There is no country that any one of us need to die die go

one day when it has changed, can always go at that time then

Shutterbox

interesting, my first trip is also visit the yellow mountain with a group of hiking friend. Got the same impression as you, i.e it's like a Chinese painting. Very impressive.

Thats why there a Chinese saying which is 黄山归来不看岳. After seeing the Yellow Mountain, the rest of the 5 peaks is dun thing liao.

Anyway, the other place that I am very impressed with the scenery is actually the Gobi desert. Did a 3 days hike before, and on some parts of the hike, it will give a very "journey to the west" feeling.
Have also heard from colleague say 黄山 jin swee.

Would want to visit one day

CI

Went before. It's absolutely gorgeous. The problem is the scenery looks the same after a while so I got bored.

Wulingyuan does get a bit repetitive. The best views I realized are actually from the drone shots, can feel the epic-ness from it. Grand Canyon and Tianmenshan more interesting and engaging - the glass bridges and walkways, zip line, gondolas, 999-steps, ski lift, canyon walk, slides, etc.

KPO_SAHM

I made 3 trips to china last year, and I feel very confident to go there for holiday. My mandarin is half past 6, but I figured my own ways to get around that handicap.

The only issue that prevents me holiday in China is really The Wife. She has this mindset that is hard to rub off, because of all the nonsense youtubes she watches.
She just thinks food there is all oily and unhygienic.

So you ask me, its a mindset thing people get from the wrong sources of media.

Ya..my family been to China many times ....china is not like what others think. In fact ,一线cities like shanghai the security, cleanliness , technology, shopping, fn B n etc ....Singapore really like **** lor

MaximumZ

What u say is true

genghis khan also kill a lot of people, but that is in the past. What matters is right now.

as long it is acknowledged, and that they ain’t doing now or will be doing in near future. Then those will be in the past

Mongolia is beautiful. But so are many other places. So if it didn’t fit your values, I’m sure there are various alternatives offering the same or more value also with nice sceneries

the world so big. There is no country that any one of us need to die die go

one day when it has changed, can always go at that time then
Every single time, communism is tried. People died. Getting rid of commies is one of the noble goals of Chinese people. If you are Chinese outside of China, your ancestors was smart enough to ran road before communism induced famine, people had to resort to cannibalism. Remember your history, the Chinese history that isn't taught.

Shutterbox

Ya..my family been to China many times ....china is not like what others think. In fact ,一线cities like shanghai the security, cleanliness , technology, shopping, fn B n etc ....Singapore really like **** lor
Went in May n meet local friends.
Really nice eating places
With a strong sgd, really can eat good food at relatively cheap prices

Misuta

The services sector like F&B and massage alone is already worth a visit.

In China you don't need to be rich to enjoy very good service. You can imagine those elites that have special privileges.

In Singapore spending money is as if we owe the service provider money. LOL.

i went to a few different part of china before.
now i kena lock down addicted to chengdu, because know a group of damn wild drinking friends there.
and i like chengdu culture, alot of cosplayer on the street, the people dress damn fashionable and cool and sexy, the drinking street is damn fun. they can really everynight call different people to drink, eat, mahjong.
its like every trip i know more and more friends, and those people are keen to know singapore and outside world, many chinese actually never been to oversea before in their life.

i saw one korean youtuber went to a spa center in Chengdu. got spa, massage, buffet, free lotion/moisturizer, PC games, kids playroom, unlimited haagen dazs, etc.
18 hours only for SGD55. really unthinkable, more value for money than a hotel night stay.

then he also made a chio and educated ATB friend there. the korean comments are saying how just one person made them change their impression of China lol.

KPO_SAHM

Went in May n meet local friends.
Really nice eating places
With a strong sgd, really can eat good food at relatively cheap prices

China has plenty of international fashion brands that U don find it in sink lor

zoossh

Every single time, communism is tried. People died. Getting rid of commies is one of the noble goals of Chinese people. If you are Chinese outside of China, your ancestors was smart enough to ran road before communism induced famine, people had to resort to cannibalism. Remember your history, the Chinese history that isn't taught.
I think you have made your point

it’s like - I have consider going nk. I knew that the money spent will contribute to the tyranny though that amount is neglible. The things that happen is true regardless if I go, if it didn’t happen to me, it did however happen to someone else. But if I still want to see the Soviet style metro, then I will have to weigh the pros and cons

I’m sure we all weigh it if we go such places, then it depends if those pros are they irreplaceable

honestly the reason that u said is of a lower priority to most people. Despite of that, it is still not among the top destination. It just means beyond your reason, there are other reasons that others have that are just as valid

to each his own

MaximumZ

I think you have made your point

it’s like - I have consider going nk. I knew that the money spent will contribute to the tyranny though that amount is neglible. The things that happen is true regardless if I go, if it didn’t happen to me, it did however happen to someone else. But if I still want to see the Soviet style metro, then I will have to weigh the pros and cons

I’m sure we all weigh it if we go such places, then it depends if those pros are they irreplaceable

honestly the reason that u said is of a lower priority to most people. Despite of that, it is still not among the top destination. It just means beyond your reason, there are other reasons that others have that are just as valid

to each his own
I understand you like the Soviet art, you can always hire artist to recreate the style for you instead of giving money directly to NK.

zoossh

I understand you like the Soviet art, you can always hire artist to recreate the style for you instead of giving money directly to NK.
Turkmenistan is an alternative
But with its own problems

Also the thing about travel is authenticity
I dun fancy those fake replica

noobkia

how many people did holocaust kill? Or how many people did japan killed in Asia in ww2?
so we don’t go Germany or Japan becos of that?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.