How many times of Driving Tests (TP) you took to pass? - Part 2

How many times of Driving Tests (TP) you took to pass?

• 1 time :o

Votes: 1,453 58.2%
  • 2 times :)

Votes: 585 23.4%
  • 3 times :(

Votes: 264 10.6%
  • 4 times :sad:

Votes: 90 3.6%
  • 5 times

Votes: 38 1.5%
  • 6 or more times

Votes: 68 2.7%

• Total voters

CJW311296

Seems like many boderliness passes- 18 Points. Not sure is they give chance or just nice 18 pts?

usually if not so bad tester will try to pass and give 18pts hopefully with that testee will reflect and ultimately will improve given more driving experience.

I scored 14pts but my bro scored 18pts however he seem to drive better than myself so the score does not determine much and different tester have different expectations so perhaps quite difficult to judge based on the score..

but like my instructor mentioned pass it till a pass right?

CJW311296

I have been lurking around different threads of TP driving for some time already and i guess it is time i share my experience to the guys about to take their TP.

I know how it is like eagerly waiting for your TP date to come definitely hope there is a button to fast forward straight to your TP date. The anxiety and nervousness in you days before or even on the day itself mins away from taking your test, all seated down inside the waiting room hopefully a kind looking tester comes in and call your name. :s12:

It was 4 months ago, MAY 2017 where i decided i should go get my license and i registered at SSDC. Went ahead and took my BTT & FTT, pass within the first try. Took about 14 lessons with my private instructor where i think to myself "Alright let's do this" asked his IC and went ahead book a slot for myself, 17 August 2.50pm. Whole duration was about 43 days prior the date i booked the TP, think about it day and night so excited yet anxious about it. On D-Day, i did my warm up everything went smooth as baby backside but still could not control my nervousness and my name was the last few to be called. Greeted him and got on the car, started the engine and proceed on to the circuit did everything as told; 2 points x 2 for turning steering wheel while vehicle is stationary during my V parking and P. parking.

Proceed on to the road when it started to rain the moment i exited SSDC entrance. I thought to myself "Siao liao" so heavy i could not see **** and failed my first try with 20 points and 1 immediate failure because i did not give way.

My instructor called me told me try again 2 days later where he said he went ahead and already booked a date for me and said he already paid with his own money don't give up. So 5 days ago on 20 sept 11.45am was my second attempt where i passed with 10 points.

Went and rent a car to surprise my gf and family. Just received my license 10 mins ago as i am typing this post. So please don't give up for all the people trying their to get their license! :s8:

congrats congrats man!!

do have a fun ride with both your gf and family believe the surprise is quite awesome for them!!

youonlyliveoncenigga

congrats congrats man!!

do have a fun ride with both your gf and family believe the surprise is quite awesome for them!!

Thanks Thanks. I saw your encouraging posts to different people even before my first attempt and you are still here encouraging people after months. Keep it up! and all the best to your enlistment on 6 oct..... need any advice on army? how to keng? hahaha just kidding.

scholar88

Thanks Thanks. I saw your encouraging posts to different people even before my first attempt and you are still here encouraging people after months. Keep it up! and all the best to your enlistment on 6 oct..... need any advice on army? how to keng? hahaha just kidding.

Wah pass before enlistment? Damn good man. Most ppl take during NS or after Ns..

CJW311296

My first ever BBDC enrollment was in 1997, but I just learnt halfway till stage 3 before I went in for my NS in 1998. I still remembered the last practical lesson I had was in circuit, because my PDL expired hence I was not allowed to drive out onto the road. That day was a night lesson on Mid Autumn Festival. (Last lesson before I gave up)

Fast forward to 20 years.....

Seeing all the friends and people around me having got their driving license, and having a family of my own, especially having kids, and also having heard of news that BBDC might be relocating due to the lease expiring, I decided this time to be determined to enroll back to BBDC and getting my driving license. The time when I enrolled, I got a booklet which I must bring everytime I went for driving to get it stamped each time I completed the revelant lessons and lessons were alot cheaper then without the simulator and having only manual cars then, there were no auto class 3A option.

Things were abit of different, now the centre is using ipads instead of booklets! And now we can book and cancel the bookings online which is really alot convenient!
I enrolled on 27th June, and since I had passed BTT before, I won't need to take the test, but I got to go for the theory lessons. The next day, went for the lessons and also to get the PDL for the driving lessons.

Fast forward..... After passing my FTE on 30th june, I booked for my FTT, and the waiting time is really long on 27th July. Meanwhile I booked my practical lessons while waiting for FTT, I tried getting the try sell slots, and clearing stage 5.01 on 26th July, a day before my FTT test date.

27th July, after passing the FTT test (2000-2050hrs), as results are not updated into system until next morning, I can only try to book for TP the very next day. Next morning around 8am, login and the FTT results were updated, I tried to book the TP but the slots only left with session 1, the peak hour slots.
Remembered an instructor told me new slots will be added periodically, I login again around 11am and true that, plenty of slots were added, I took session 3 (0910-1045hrs) 0910 warm up and 1010hrs test. 21 sept (Thursday) I would try to avoid Friday and 1st and 15th of the lunar month as these days will have more pedestrians should I happened to get route 3 and 8 which add to my stress level during the test 😅

So I took quite a long break since last lesson was on 26 July, and never really practice driving for close to 2 months?
I booked 4 revision lessons just before the TP date.
Luckily these 4 lessons helped me refreshed.

On the TP day, it was a wet morning since the night before it poured heavily. Roads were wet. During my warm up, I kissed the kerb while doing vertical parking and also mounted the kerb during the S course. This is it!!! I thought to myself. After the warm up, was led to level 2 TP office and waited for the tester. The tester came and we went to the car, once engine started, shortly, he tapped on the dashboard, I braked with all my might not wasting time, next drove to number 3, and did a short lane change to 38, first stop parallel parking went smoothly, next was S course at 2, this time high alert not to kiss or mount the kerb, next was number 8 for slope, all smoothly done. The tester said " turn right", I did a mistake and turned right toward the left turn only lane, the tester asked "I asked you turn right, where should you turn?", I looked at the marking on the road and thinking "die!", quickly did a smooth turn to the "go straight or turn right" lane, after which the tester said "go straight to 48", which is Crank course,vertical parking and then directional change which all went smoothly. I got 4 points for going the wrong lane in circuit.

Next we proceed to the 50, to head out to road. I got test route 1. The tester will be giving instructions to go, we just follow the instructions, on the road, all went quite well, the traffic were not that heavy, except for some lane changing which need to be careful, ensure the safety and blind spot checks, I must had missed some. Finally, did a U Turn back,I checked the blind spot before the U Turn and also did a lane change back to the left lane, this time the tester said "your safety checks are inconsistent" while heading to BBDC. The tester said I got to check the rear mirror and side mirror before checking blind spots which I missed some of the times. His hands were holding the ipad all the time. 😨

Once at the driving centre, parked the car at the original spot, followed him up to level 2. My mind was thinking of the 2 months waiting time for next TP and why I never check all the blinds pots like I'm on ecstasy. ☹️
Around 5 minutes later he came out of the office and talked to me.
"Your safety check not very good. But your driving is quite ok. When you drive, make sure someone is seated beside you"

I was quite confused and heart was already thumping fast at the first sentence "your safety check not very good, you got to practice more, you did not pass" all running in my mind.

But I was really glad it's a PASS with 18 demerits (close shave, should be tester give me chance) when he passed me the test paper! Maybe my driving was ok and driving safely, I make sure to always slow down when approaching crossings and stopped for pedestrians.

So guys, please do not think you failed even when made alot of mistakes in the circuit, when on the road, if you drive safe and with confidence, I'm sure the tester will give chance! 👍

This journey is a very good experience and pleasant one!
A license 20 years too late. Haha! 😀

hi man!!

enjoyed reading your post although like u mentioned 20 years is too late but ultimately you also get the licence.

I agree if you think you gonna fail just carry on drive safe and confidence the tester will still you chance but remember never repeat the same mistake.

For me I thought fail already coz my tester call me wait at briefing room for 20mins while he go tabulate the score the feeling is even worse than I receive my national exam result so here he came in talk abt my mistake and he show me those diagrams that he draw saying where is the exact location etc so I think die already so "on" was thinking go back down and rebook for next test date but he say "ok" go out and take q number waiting time is 1hr so grab a lunch first thought that he try to calm me down by calling me go for lunch as I believe he check the waiting time so most probably quite a long wait so I thinking of booking my next test so I walked out of the room without thanking the tester thinking he fail me but luckily I check my result slip saw is a "PASS" then I quickly run back the room and "THANK" him and ask where is my NRIC the tester reply " I return to you before the test" perhaps due to my anxiety and nervous cause the forgetfulness.

I do think tester will still give us chance unless something too serious like mount kerb,beat red light etc

On this note, I wish all testee and learner all the best!!

CJW311296

Hi, no problem thanks for remembering my enlistment but I am PES C excuse lower limb and RMJ think is enough for the time being need advice will pm you haha..

But honestly speaking after enlistment will need you ppl to carry on the good work as honestly speaking all of us can drive given the practical lesson is just that you need someone to provide a listening ear and provide some encouraging message then all of us can succeed. I am glad I went to this forum and pass on my first attempt and I took a grab ride 2 days before my TP the driver is awesome and encourage me as he could see I am on the verge of breaking down as I mount kerb and lane change was horrible thinking fail already but perhaps due to the grab driver short conversation I manage to put myself up and went for TP!!

CJW311296

No lah, you read wrongly. He passed long ago liao and enlisting to army next week. I just passed only but i ORD-ed 2 months ago :s13:

yeah I pass Class 3 10 oct 16 going to remove my P Plate in Tekong haha..

was thinking take licence earlier so can keep for future use as my family have car so can polish my driving skills during sch days easier to commit regularly for training..

paparazzy

Enjoyed reading your story! Never too late for a license, Glad you finally got it.

The night before was pouring heavily all over singapore but well at least it didn't rain during your test timing..

Haha. Thanks. Congrats to you too. Was raining and the wind so strong on the night before the TP, I was still worrying about the road conditions during the test. Luckily managed to clear up..... Was still drizzling during my warm up...

paparazzy

hi man!!

enjoyed reading your post although like u mentioned 20 years is too late but ultimately you also get the licence.

I agree if you think you gonna fail just carry on drive safe and confidence the tester will still you chance but remember never repeat the same mistake.

For me I thought fail already coz my tester call me wait at briefing room for 20mins while he go tabulate the score the feeling is even worse than I receive my national exam result so here he came in talk abt my mistake and he show me those diagrams that he draw saying where is the exact location etc so I think die already so "on" was thinking go back down and rebook for next test date but he say "ok" go out and take q number waiting time is 1hr so grab a lunch first thought that he try to calm me down by calling me go for lunch as I believe he check the waiting time so most probably quite a long wait so I thinking of booking my next test so I walked out of the room without thanking the tester thinking he fail me but luckily I check my result slip saw is a "PASS" then I quickly run back the room and "THANK" him and ask where is my NRIC the tester reply " I return to you before the test" perhaps due to my anxiety and nervous cause the forgetfulness.

I do think tester will still give us chance unless something too serious like mount kerb,beat red light etc

On this note, I wish all testee and learner all the best!!

Thanks! Your posts had been encouraging.

commandowolf

Seems like many boderliness passes- 18 Points. Not sure is they give chance or just nice 18 pts?

Hahaha they give chance. Was talking to my friend recently because we both pass TP test. He drive auto, mount kerb downgraded to strike kerb and he pass with 18 points. What even lol

Unless they dont like your face or attitude, as long as you confident and give off a safe driver feel may help persuade TP to pass you.

scholar88

By the way, does anyone know any private auto instructor at SSDC that is good?

Kan Wai Keong. Taken under this instructor and passed today. He teaches auto only. And only teaches in Woodlands/Admiralty area (SSDC).

Rates are $36/Hr (before 5pm- Weekday)
$40/Hr (Weekday after 5pm & Weekends)

sho1980

A very heartwarming story. Congratulations in finally getting your driving license.
Glad u did not give up in getting a driving license even after 20 years has passed by. :)

My first ever BBDC enrollment was in 1997, but I just learnt halfway till stage 3 before I went in for my NS in 1998. I still remembered the last practical lesson I had was in circuit, because my PDL expired hence I was not allowed to drive out onto the road. That day was a night lesson on Mid Autumn Festival. (Last lesson before I gave up)

Fast forward to 20 years.....

Seeing all the friends and people around me having got their driving license, and having a family of my own, especially having kids, and also having heard of news that BBDC might be relocating due to the lease expiring, I decided this time to be determined to enroll back to BBDC and getting my driving license. The time when I enrolled, I got a booklet which I must bring everytime I went for driving to get it stamped each time I completed the revelant lessons and lessons were alot cheaper then without the simulator and having only manual cars then, there were no auto class 3A option.

Things were abit of different, now the centre is using ipads instead of booklets! And now we can book and cancel the bookings online which is really alot convenient!
I enrolled on 27th June, and since I had passed BTT before, I won't need to take the test, but I got to go for the theory lessons. The next day, went for the lessons and also to get the PDL for the driving lessons.

Fast forward..... After passing my FTE on 30th june, I booked for my FTT, and the waiting time is really long on 27th July. Meanwhile I booked my practical lessons while waiting for FTT, I tried getting the try sell slots, and clearing stage 5.01 on 26th July, a day before my FTT test date.

27th July, after passing the FTT test (2000-2050hrs), as results are not updated into system until next morning, I can only try to book for TP the very next day. Next morning around 8am, login and the FTT results were updated, I tried to book the TP but the slots only left with session 1, the peak hour slots.
Remembered an instructor told me new slots will be added periodically, I login again around 11am and true that, plenty of slots were added, I took session 3 (0910-1045hrs) 0910 warm up and 1010hrs test. 21 sept (Thursday) I would try to avoid Friday and 1st and 15th of the lunar month as these days will have more pedestrians should I happened to get route 3 and 8 which add to my stress level during the test 😅

So I took quite a long break since last lesson was on 26 July, and never really practice driving for close to 2 months?
I booked 4 revision lessons just before the TP date.
Luckily these 4 lessons helped me refreshed.

On the TP day, it was a wet morning since the night before it poured heavily. Roads were wet. During my warm up, I kissed the kerb while doing vertical parking and also mounted the kerb during the S course. This is it!!! I thought to myself. After the warm up, was led to level 2 TP office and waited for the tester. The tester came and we went to the car, once engine started, shortly, he tapped on the dashboard, I braked with all my might not wasting time, next drove to number 3, and did a short lane change to 38, first stop parallel parking went smoothly, next was S course at 2, this time high alert not to kiss or mount the kerb, next was number 8 for slope, all smoothly done. The tester said " turn right", I did a mistake and turned right toward the left turn only lane, the tester asked "I asked you turn right, where should you turn?", I looked at the marking on the road and thinking "die!", quickly did a smooth turn to the "go straight or turn right" lane, after which the tester said "go straight to 48", which is Crank course,vertical parking and then directional change which all went smoothly. I got 4 points for going the wrong lane in circuit.

Next we proceed to the 50, to head out to road. I got test route 1. The tester will be giving instructions to go, we just follow the instructions, on the road, all went quite well, the traffic were not that heavy, except for some lane changing which need to be careful, ensure the safety and blind spot checks, I must had missed some. Finally, did a U Turn back,I checked the blind spot before the U Turn and also did a lane change back to the left lane, this time the tester said "your safety checks are inconsistent" while heading to BBDC. The tester said I got to check the rear mirror and side mirror before checking blind spots which I missed some of the times. His hands were holding the ipad all the time. 😨

Once at the driving centre, parked the car at the original spot, followed him up to level 2. My mind was thinking of the 2 months waiting time for next TP and why I never check all the blindspots like I'm on ecstasy. ☹️
Around 5 minutes later he came out of the office and talked to me.
"Your safety check not very good. But your driving is quite ok. When you drive, make sure someone is seated beside you"

I was quite confused and heart was already thumping fast at the first sentence "your safety check not very good, you got to practice more, you did not pass" all running in my mind.

But I was really glad it's a PASS with 18 demerits (close shave, should be tester give me chance) when he passed me the test paper! Maybe my driving was ok and driving safely, I make sure to always slow down when approaching crossings and stopped for pedestrians.

So guys, please do not think you failed even when made alot of mistakes in the circuit, when on the road, if you drive safe and with confidence, I'm sure the tester will give chance! 👍

This journey is a very good experience and pleasant one!
A license 20 years too late. Haha! 😀

jacktanyq

just pass my TP today (25 sep) 1st attempt 10 point.

just some fruit for thought for those taking tp.

it is ok to get Demerit point so long as you don't get more then 18 point.

0 point = license, 18 point = license.

so plan on where u need to give some point to prevent IF.

at the start i planned to give 8 point in the circuit liao... turn steering while vehicle is stationary and maybe some blind spot check.

my route in the circuit after exiting test car lot is:

directional change @ 15, come out turn right
turn right @ 3,
vertical parking @ 24,
straight out go s course @ 21,
straight out go slope @ 12,
turn left go parallel parking @ 43, turn right go pass junction
crank @ 26, exit turn left, t-junction left turn
traffic light left turn, t-junction turn left
illegal right turn and exit cdc @ 8.

external test route kanna modified a bit so it isnt in any of the test route.

the only challenging part it when exit cdc need to stright away do u-turn. lane change 3 time in 200m. luckily all the car siam me when i wanna do lane change filter out/ give way(block traffic for me).

point drop @ vertical parking(turn steering wheel while stationary and fail to comfort), parallel parking(turn steering wheel while stationary) and speed too slow for traffic when coming back(due to all the illegal park vehicle).

just make sure the tester think that u are a safe driver and u will pass liao.
always slow down when u see any hazard and react accordingly. it is not about giving the tester more time for tea break.

elaine81

im into my 12th lesson le , wonder when i can take my tp ... got a lot of things still cant memorise & wat is s course crank course also dunno ... always forget which blind spot to check first . im am taking lessons onli on sat , my instructor is a very patient person but at times nagging . his rate is $60 for 1.5hr (do u tink its a ok rate ?)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.