How much did u spend on renovation for ur house? - Part 25

sue86sue

https://www.swissinterior.com.sg/packages/resale-renovation-packages
I know Swiss Interior is a reputable company.
But when they say HDB resale 5 room can reno for $32,888 inc of GST, idk what to feel.

It includes:​

designfor web.jpg

Design Service

➡ Design consultation & Space planning
➡ Design proposal & Perspective drawing
➡ Proposal of materials, colours & accessories
➡ 3D Visual perspective presentation
➡ Project management/Site Inspection/Work Schedule
➡ 5 years warranty with guarantees after sales service
➡ Lifetime Agent Warranty for all carpentry hardware mechanism

Demolition Works

➡ Hack existing floor finish at living area.

➡ Hack existing floor finish at all bedroom area

➡ Hack existing floor finish at kitchen area.

➡ Hack existing floor finish at 2 bathrooms area

➡ Hack existing wall finish at kitchen area

➡ Hack existing wall finish at 2 bathrooms area

➡ Dismantle existing kitchen cabinet.

➡ Demolish existing sink/stove support

➡ Demolish existing motor base.

Masonry Works

➡ 2 in 1 pre-packed screed at living/dining floor

➡ Lay homogenous/porcelain floor tiles at living/dining area c/w skirting. (Max $3.20 psf)

➡ 2 in 1 pre-packed screed at all bedrooms floor

➡ Lay homogeneous/porcelain floor tiles at all bedrooms c/w skirting. (Max $3.20)

➡ Apply “Davco K11” HDB approved waterproofing membrane on flooring at kitchen & 02 bathroom.

➡ 3 in 1 waterproofing pre-packed screed at kitchen floor.

➡ Lay heavy duty homogenous floor tiles at kitchen area. (Max $3 psf)

➡ 3 in 1 waterproofing pre-packed screed at 02 bathrooms floor.

➡ Lay heavy duty non-slip homogeneous floor at 02 bathrooms. (Max $3 psf)

➡ 2 in 1 pre-packed screed at kitchen wall area.

➡ Lay homogenous/Ceramic wall tiles (exposed area) at kitchen area (base on 400sft). (Max $2.60 psf)

➡ 2 in 1 pre-packed screed at 02 bathroom wall area.

➡ Lay homogeneous/Ceramic wall tiles tiles at 02 bathroom area. (Max $2.60 psf)

➡ 50mm thick kitchen cabinet base c/w side tiling.

All tiles size will be (30 X 30cm) & (30 X 60cm)

Painting works

➡ To paint whole unit internal wall and ceiling with Nippon Vinilex 5000 paint (5 colours)

➡ To paint/varnish whole unit door, door frame, pipes and gates with Nippon Gloss paint.

Plumbing Works

➡ Run new stainless steel cold water piping at kitchen & 02 bathrooms area.

➡ Inlet/outlet piping for kitchen sink, washing machine & wash basin area.

➡ Labour to install 2 nos. of wash closet.

➡ Labour to install 2 nos. of wash basin.

➡ Labour to install 2 set of bathroom accessories.

➡ Labour to install 2 sets of bathrooms accessories.

➡ Labour to install 2 nos. of mirrors.

➡ Labour to install 2 nos. of instant heater.

➡ Labour to install kitchen sink.

➡ Labour to install whole house taps.

Carpentry Works

➡ Fabricate & install 20ft top & bottom kitchen cabinet in high quality laminates finish & solid plywood c/w ABS Trimming Doors.

➡ Blum Soft Close Hinges/excel Sus304 Soft Close Hinges for All Casement Doors

➡ 3 Sets of Blum/excel Soft Closing Tandem Runner

➡ 1 Set of Blum Aventos Hk/excel Constanzo Lift Up System

➡ 1 set of frosted glass lift up door

➡ 1 set of “304 grade” 2 tier stainless steel dish drainer.

➡ 1 set of cutlery tray.

➡ Labour to install Cooker hood, hob, oven.

Kitchen Worktop

➡ Custom-made & install 10ft Quartz kitchen worktop. (Including backsplash & various profile finishes)

Door Works

➡ Install 2 set of aluminium bi-fold door at bathrooms.

Miscellaneous Works

➡ To provide haulage of building materials

➡ Clearing of debris off renovation site.

➡ Corrugated paper to protect existing flooring.

➡ Chemical wash & general cleaning upon completion of works.

----What do you guys think of this?

rathalos

But when they say HDB resale 5 room can reno for $32,888 inc of GST, idk what to feel.

designfor web.jpg

Design Service

Demolition Works

Masonry Works

➡ Lay homogenous/porcelain floor tiles at living/dining area c/w skirting. (Max $3.20 psf)

➡ Lay homogeneous/porcelain floor tiles at all bedrooms c/w skirting. (Max $3.20)

➡ Apply “Davco K11” HDB approved waterproofing membrane on flooring at kitchen & 02 bathroom.

➡ Lay homogenous/Ceramic wall tiles (exposed area) at kitchen area (base on 400sft). (Max $2.60 psf)

Painting works

➡ To paint whole unit internal wall and ceiling with Nippon Vinilex 5000 paint (5 colours)

➡ To paint/varnish whole unit door, door frame, pipes and gates with Nippon Gloss paint.

Plumbing Works

Carpentry Works

➡ Fabricate & install 20ft top & bottom kitchen cabinet in high quality laminates finish & solid plywood c/w ABS Trimming Doors.

➡ 1 set of cutlery tray.

Kitchen Worktop

➡ Custom-made & install 10ft Quartz kitchen worktop. (Including backsplash & various profile finishes)

Door Works

Miscellaneous Works

Be careful of the tile cost.. $3psf is tile only price or tile+labour price.. they sometimes get u by quoting $3psf as tile+labour price.. labour price could be between $0.50-$1psf.. so ur tile range is limited... But doing so allow them to reduce their quote and win the contract.. also, they qualified that they are quoting based on typical square style tiles, so if u get those odd shaped tiles, won't be surprised they claim extra...

Waterproofing hor.. why they use 2 sets of waterproofing? One is the HDB membrane, then also use waterproof screed.. if apply membrane, probably dun need the waterproof screed.. I guessing they park cost there cos u can't verify on site..

Painting take note that they are painting over existing paint layer, never say in quote that they will remove existing paint layer and redo the primer + new paint layer hor.. so tamper ur expectations..

Carpentry make sure the length they quoted is in line with the drawings they give u.. if u got no drawings, be prepared to top up cos likely ur actual carpentry cost is more one.. plus ur carpentry only kitchen, no toilet, no wardrobe..

All in all, probably ok.. just be mindful of the above points.. market now not that good, price escalation is expected..

sue86sue

Be careful of the tile cost.. $3psf is tile only price or tile+labour price.. they sometimes get u by quoting $3psf as tile+labour price.. labour price could be between $0.50-$1psf.. so ur tile range is limited... But doing so allow them to reduce their quote and win the contract.. also, they qualified that they are quoting based on typical square style tiles, so if u get those odd shaped tiles, won't be surprised they claim extra...

Waterproofing hor.. why they use 2 sets of waterproofing? One is the HDB membrane, then also use waterproof screed.. if apply membrane, probably dun need the waterproof screed.. I guessing they park cost there cos u can't verify on site..

Painting take note that they are painting over existing paint layer, never say in quote that they will remove existing paint layer and redo the primer + new paint layer hor.. so tamper ur expectations..

Carpentry make sure the length they quoted is in line with the drawings they give u.. if u got no drawings, be prepared to top up cos likely ur actual carpentry cost is more one.. plus ur carpentry only kitchen, no toilet, no wardrobe..

All in all, probably ok.. just be mindful of the above points.. market now not that good, price escalation is expected..
Thanks for the tips. I'm waiting for their reply cos i just send in my floorplan and highlighted the things i feel is impt. Then again, i'm opting for simple reno. Nothing grand.

rathalos

Thanks for the tips. I'm waiting for their reply cos i just send in my floorplan and highlighted the things i feel is impt. Then again, i'm opting for simple reno. Nothing grand.
Understand.. my advice would be that if u have the chance to use better quality products at the first instance, do it.. or else maintenance downstream or replacement is a pain..

Also, electrical works missing.. u need to factor in electrical cost (or, rewiring, new power points, relocation of power points, installation of lights)

One thing I realized after living in my house a few years is, track lights are the best compared to those false ceiling cove lights and flat led downlights.. replacement of bulbs has been damn painless (5min job), and I kept spare light holders to add if I feel it's too dim..

Alibeckham

i think 30k too little.

better buffer 50-80k
Hacking work prolly already 5k. Masonry works another 25k

designfor web.jpg

Design Service

Demolition Works

Masonry Works

Painting works

Plumbing Works

Carpentry Works

➡ 1 set of cutlery tray.

Kitchen Worktop

Door Works

Miscellaneous Works

think its quite common for this kinda resale package to be about 28-35k.. but usually will have VO item la.. tiles itself sure top up liao.. sometimes ala carte maybe better also..

sue86sue

Understand.. my advice would be that if u have the chance to use better quality products at the first instance, do it.. or else maintenance downstream or replacement is a pain..

Also, electrical works missing.. u need to factor in electrical cost (or, rewiring, new power points, relocation of power points, installation of lights)

One thing I realized after living in my house a few years is, track lights are the best compared to those false ceiling cove lights and flat led downlights.. replacement of bulbs has been damn painless (5min job), and I kept spare light holders to add if I feel it's too dim..
I've always considered track lights so good to know it's more practical than cove lights and even LED. (y)

sue86sue

Hacking work prolly already 5k. Masonry works another 25k

think its quite common for this kinda resale package to be about 28-35k.. but usually will have VO item la.. tiles itself sure top up liao.. sometimes ala carte maybe better also..
I may end up doing ala carte things so can slowly do according to budget

Cheonga

Planning to turn a plain wall into a feature wall to hide its rough wall finish. It will be finished in laminates and fluted panels.

Should the wall be boarded up with metal framework + gypsum board or timber framework + plywood? The wall will be purely cosmetic and will not carry any loading like TV.

rathalos

Planning to turn a plain wall into a feature wall to hide its rough wall finish. It will be finished in laminates and fluted panels.

Should the wall be boarded up with metal framework + gypsum board or timber framework + plywood? The wall will be purely cosmetic and will not carry any loading like TV.
Why spend extra on metal framework n gypsum board when it's purely cosmetic only? Just do simple plaster over to make smooth, then do the necessary lo..

Cheonga

Why spend extra on metal framework n gypsum board when it's purely cosmetic only? Just do simple plaster over to make smooth, then do the necessary lo..
I would like to turn it into a feature wall with laminates and/or fluted panels which need to be glued to a flat board, as I was told.

888blancgmail

BEWARE Frankie Tan Lye Hock from Mydec Interior Studio
hp 96677229
hp 93441163
Tel 67634068
#Violent
#Mydec
#HDB
#Frankie
#contractor
#HDBlicensedcontractor
#HB-08-5452C
Violent n Dangerous n Trespass (w Mask !)

Refer to my post from 5 Nov 2021 onwards as Post# seems changing.

Refer to Post # 2001, #2011 #2012, #2021 for details.

Worst experience with Frankie Tan from Mydec Interior Studio !!

He likes to scold kpkb etc n pulled violently at our gate to kill me.

Had informed w reminders sent to Frankie Tan much earlier not to come in the afternoon as it is BSC inspection day n he must clear all his things b4 (table/chairs n few pkts of cement which are not required for the reno as already completed week+ ago)

We had to move them outside for BSC inspection on that day.

As I arrived earlier b4 inspection, found that Frankie Tan had changed his pin number for the gate chain lock ( not 1st time ) n chained it around the side gate so that it was unable to close n lock the gate w key.

He also locked the main door (1st time) n the BSC worker had to wait outside till I arrived.

P.s Frankie Tan also insisted to give him the key to the main door After signing the contract !!

Reason: For the air con but he didnt lock the door at all even after delivered etc!

Frankie Tan came back after BSC inspection.

He insisted to come into the house n refuse to leave or talk or settle while he is outside.

Informed him calmly again that he cant today as had already reminded him of it earlier.

He turned angry n violently pulled the gate.

Informed him n showed him on hp w 999 dialled that will report Police when he pulled the gate violently.

When he pulled the gate violently ( called the Police then) n 1 of the pad lock located on top was broken.
He was prepared to intrude.

Very Luckily, had placed another hardened pad lock at the bottom which prevent the gate from opening.

Frankie Tan was shocked when he saw the hardened lock n that he cant intrude then.

If not for this hardened lock, he will intrude n endanger/hurt those inside.

While waiting for the police to arrive, Frankie Tan threw the pad lock that he broken towards the bag near the main door n removed his pin number chain lock from gate.

And then he keeps insisting to come in n wants to USE the TOILET ????

And also said that his power drill was inside which I checked again that there isnt any at all earlier.

Police arrived and as usual ........

* SPF officer let my Violent n Dangerous n Trespass HB-08-5452C ex HDB licensed contractor scot free when he wanted to kill me. SPF officer believed his lies.... :mad: 🤦‍♂️, he also promised SPF officer that he will not trespass my unit at all !! But he still trespass for several times n just recently trespass again..

Advice: Keep Calm n Quiet n Video, dont open the door, he even stands very near the gate/door n block yr view. Call SPF.

https://ibb.co/album/Q9z5kt
Frankie Tan is a licensed HDB Contractor n he (Certified ?? ) did a poor job on the instant water heaters installation.

Cables are not properly done at the powerpoint ( didnt route properly n cover it ) hence impose danger.

* He also did NOT installed the valves that were provided w the heaters !!!

Found out that he had pasted designs of cabinets A4 etc on dinning area n outside the kitchen area which he was not doing for this hse at all.

Also paste full i.e top n base kitchen cabinet design in kitchen which doing only the base.

Spot check n found that he also used our hse as a showroom when he was caught explaining to 2 customers in my hse.

He keeps dragging the reno as he wants to store the cement here (bulk buy or share ?) from another customer as waiting for key.

Note on the payment. Wants adv full payment instead of partial 1st as per contract.

When engaging HDB Licensed Contractor for reno, better check all the installations are to be done by certified professional 1st w licence # indicated etc in contract n actual person doing it in yr hse, dont assume /trust as it may endanger yr family safety.

Get itemised quotes w breakdown w details of material, brand, invoices for warranty etc.

Hope HDB etc will mandate all HDB licensed Contractors are fully responsible for all the safety for the unit n ppl in the unit n they will prosecute if they failed to engage certified professionals in their contract as most owners are layman or senior citizen etc.

https://sites.google.com/view/frankie-tan-lye-hock/home
BEWARE of Ohayo moving services Dangerous !
hp#
90277709 Neo New
89492986 Old

Post in thread 'Advice: Moving services' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/advice-moving-services.3798421/post-137757961

Screenshot-20211105-221021-Imgur.jpg

IMG-20230118-054251.jpg

https://i.ibb.co/gMFSk2J/IMG-20230121-045450.jpg
IMG-20230121-045450.jpg

IMG-20230121-045550.jpg

https://i.ibb.co/bsHGNQw/IMG-20230121-045550.jpg

https://ibb.co/album/nB9LmV
spx3zxhyAq_22NpvTRs_ls0MBOJLdbx5UrJSqFTQcW20WaOsEgwSCh21cXGKJHX174wGs4ApnMmbL0VWPKGv-fVXhKF10-ebRM7LjY4N2bfQFdV3lJB5LMJeWWUM8Au8UQ=w1280
Screenshot-20211105-221021-Imgur.jpg

sue86sue

I need your eagle-eyed expertise here. What do you think of these specs of a home reno:-

• Design & Project Management
  • Chemical Washing
  • Customized 10-16ft Kitchen Cabinet
  • False Ceiling for Corridor & Entryway
  • False Ceiling L-Box for Hall
  • Floor Protection
  • House Painting
  • Installation of 2x Instant Water Heater
  • Installation of Cooker Hood
  • Installation of Kitchen Sink
  • 10ft Kitchen Cabinet Solid Surface Top
  • 12ft Masonary Base for Kitchen
  • Masonary Base for Refrigerator
  • Masonary Base for Washing Machine
  • Vinyl Tiling Package
  • Customized Wardrobe Package
  • Room Doors Package
  • Hacking & Disposal Package
  • Hall & Corridor Tiling Package
  • Plumbing Package
  • Toilets & Kitchen Tiling Package
Quite vague. How would I enquire further from the ID on these?
(eg. installation of cooker hood is we ourselves provide the new cooker hood to be installed or must purchase from them or how)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.