How to deal with inconsiderate upstair neighbour?

Nevereatrice

unlucky kena this kind of neighbours man...
few weeks never get proper sleep always sleep abit wake up...
this is like harassment already yet report police cant do anything, hdb also cant resolve
upstairs keep denying its them then how to mediate?
U can't sleep might well now 2am just bang on your ceiling wake tf him up. Later bang at 3/4/5
U can't sleep bec of him neither should he. I advocate eye for an eye

spinning_quirK

Huh… 5 years u just tahan?
Mediation is for show, police did nothing, HDB did nothing, the quality of my BTO is so bad that sounds can pass through more than 1 unit. Even used ceiling thumper, but the thumper affected myself too, I don't have a 2nd house to sleep leh. :s22:
Seek Jesus for help, really got help, but suffer injustice outside while holding on to the long term horizon inside.
Just apply BTO again, hopefully can get and move out in 2 years.

sleepingcat

U can't sleep might well now 2am just bang on your ceiling wake tf him up. Later bang at 3/4/5
U can't sleep bec of him neither should he. I advocate eye for an eye
The noise seem more obvious and loud at my room.. my parent room not so loud and they still mange to sleep. If i knock back will wake them up. So i suspect might be adjacent unit above since got another unit also quite near to my rm

Nevereatrice

The noise seem more obvious and loud at my room.. my parent room not so loud and they still mange to sleep. If i knock back will wake them up. So i suspect might be adjacent unit above since got another unit also quite near to my rm
Intro u temp problem solver: loop queit earplugs. Actually didn't want to recommend u this hope u can bang your upstairs

Kanko San

Mediation is for show, police did nothing, HDB did nothing, the quality of my BTO is so bad that sounds can pass through more than 1 unit. Even used ceiling thumper, but the thumper affected myself too, I don't have a 2nd house to sleep leh. :s22:
Seek Jesus for help, really got help, but suffer injustice outside while holding on to the long term horizon inside.
Just apply BTO again, hopefully can get and move out in 2 years.
Yes.
RC, Police, TC. HDB n even MP..
Nothing can help.
Only an Eye for an Eye.

Kanko San

Last time my parents old house, on top walk like dino, then suddenly like drop heavy things till the ceiling and side wall literally vibrate, worse its happening in the bed room.

Go up they act sincere and concern, they even show me inside their room saying theres nothing heavy that will cause the noise.
But i knew its then cos everytime heard the dino footstep, it will be followed by toilet flushing sound ...

Initially it gets better, after some time all the noise and pattern came back as usual. So i tat time when they show me inside their bed room, i notice they are sleeping on mattress on the floor, so i remember the location, so when i go toilet or 3am, 4am, i will tie a pole with cloth at the end to prevent damaging my ceiling paint, i will walk around their bed, and poke poke the ceiling wif the pole ... Then sometimes the location where they are putting their head on and gave a good thrust.

They can control their heavy fooststep but they dun care, so whenever i hear loud bang that vibrate my ceiling or dino steps, i will poke my ceiling goig round their bed few hours later at 3am 4 am etc...'

It works perfect, they knew i was retaliating and they behave .... end up my neighbours below which i knew, politely ask me if i am hitting the wall or the floor .... I hit my ceiling, the unit below can hear the noise at the side of their wall .... thats how sound travels ...

End up i headache, i wanna retaliate my top neighbour, but disturb my neighbours below ....

I told my neighbour below wat happens, she suggest call here call there, end up all no use, the pole with cloth at the end works best.

Another one is bouncing basketball at ur ceiling .... the hard leather and hollow ball can echo and radiate the thumping and vibration for ur top neighbour to enjoy ....

Another one is more zek ark, which i dun wanna do, is poke the floor of their precious daughters room at 2am, 3am, 4am .... but i dun have to go to this extend before they behave

Talk no use one have to make them feel the pain and suffering themslves.

Argue reason no use one, some even enjoying themselves in the process as u are at his mercy and know tat u cannot do anything.
An eye for an eye.
You don't respect our peace.
Then we respond with what you disturb others

spinning_quirK

Possible. When I first moved in to my current place, not long after got couple domestic fight. It sounded like from directly upstairs, but was actually 2 floors above and adjacent unit. Cos their windows were open and they were shouting, so easy for us to kaypoh which floor.

I stun man. Anyway police came and settled the issue.

But if you can correlate with the water flowing in the pipes, it's definitely not an adjacent unit.

spinning_quirK

An eye for an eye.
You don't respect our peace.
Then we respond with what you disturb others
Try your best to talk to them. Cos lower floor always disadvantage. Unless you have another place to sleep at. Now still waiting for govt to confirm the new noise SOP, simi police install sound recorders to locate the source of noise, compulsory mediation. Dunno need to wait how long for our SPF and MinLaw to update.

Kanko San

Try your best to talk to them. Cos lower floor always disadvantage. Unless you have another place to sleep at. Now still waiting for govt to confirm the new noise SOP, simi police install sound recorders to locate the source of noise, compulsory mediation. Dunno need to wait how long for our SPF and MinLaw to update.
What if your neighbour refused to talk from Day 1 n put up CCTV n said you harass them.
Talk is easy, unless you are in some one shoes n being disturbed n stressed. More than 10 years without a single day of peace in own house, even CNY and CNY EVE

luffix7

Always morning drop metal pole… then heavy stomping which can vibrate my bedroom and wake us up from rest… everyday on and off can hear sounds from them. Went up to ask and they deny the sound is from them… but pretty sure is them. Now complained to hdb not sure what happen next
we got a super kiam pai 2nd storey neighbour

spinning_quirK

What if your neighbour refused to talk from Day 1 n put up CCTV n said you harass them.
Talk is easy, unless you are in some one shoes n being disturbed n stressed. More than 10 years without a single day of peace in own house, even CNY and CNY EVE
You didn't read my story? :s22:

spinning_quirK

I was forced to go stay one month in a capsules hotel during COVID to recover my sanity, from nuisance noise stress n harassment.
My neighbour's wife just straight gaslight me, say I'm the one with the problem, maybe I should visit IMH for treatment.
Told me that this kind of noise and sound is normal for HDB, if don't want noise then upgrade to condo. :s22:

It's a very lonely road de, in a crowded country with laughably WEAK noise laws. My problem isn't over yet, maybe move to next house might kenna another neighbour as unreasonable as current one. That's why I thank Jesus. Something changed inside to make me able to withstand their nonsense a bit more.

ghregular

Always morning drop metal pole… then heavy stomping which can vibrate my bedroom and wake us up from rest… everyday on and off can hear sounds from them. Went up to ask and they deny the sound is from them… but pretty sure is them. Now complained to hdb not sure what happen next
NOTHING!

Kanko San

My neighbour's wife just straight gaslight me, say I'm the one with the problem, maybe I should visit IMH for treatment.
Told me that this kind of noise and sound is normal for HDB, if don't want noise then upgrade to condo. :s22:

It's a very lonely road de, in a crowded country with laughably WEAK noise laws. My problem isn't over yet, maybe move to next house might kenna another neighbour as unreasonable as current one. That's why I thank Jesus. Something changed inside to make me able to withstand their nonsense a bit more.
Cos their room/house is not directly under that noisy family.
Like I asked my neighbour next door, they are not affected Cos away from the sound source.

rjgiggs

cannot do anything.

I emailed HDB, HDB say town council. I email town council, they say HDB. I email MP, MP cc to HDB and town council.

i send sound recording, they say will engage neighbour. in the end, still noise.

call police, police dunno come what time, no more noise, they go back. tmr still noise.

But okay lah, at least mine usually doesnt go past midnight, not so bad, i guess sometimes i gotta count the blessing also

Kanko San

That why, I told my frd.
If your neighbourhood is peaceful, no noise..it is like strike 4D.

Nevereatrice

I was forced to go stay one month in a capsules hotel during COVID to recover my sanity, from nuisance noise stress n harassment.
While u away u could have bought 5 ceiling thumpers place them inside your master bedroom kids room living room toilet kitchen activate for a week
When u come back problem solved forever

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.