How to persuade son's fiance family to stop discouraging her from attending health-predictive genetic test before ROM?

bochup84

Y must do before ROM?
If result is bad dont get married?

Im kinda on their parents side.
If like dat might as well do genetic testing before dating dont waste time.
Actually results bad still can get married, but if want children, just don't get pregnant naturally, go IVF, can control and choose.

compro_1975

Already this stage liao.... go all out to force it else u withdraw ur support

NTB2DO

As parent myself, I can understand why the other side's parents disagree. What if there really were some problem with their gene and because of that, your side call off the wedding?

If that happens, the fiancee may blame the parent for passing the not-so-good gene to her thereby destroying her chance of getting married.

It would be better for them to do the test when they want to start a family. Who knows, they may choose to remain DINK leh? If so, good gene bad gene, does it matter?

Lemonpeach

If the couple have no objection then just proceed to do it. Since there's no harm to oneself, kids nowadays will still insist on getting parents permission? 🤣
We just want them to have informed decision-making. Open eyes big.

She is a papa girl sort.

I will chit chat with her again. Make a decision based on full information discovery.

It's for their own good. Effective planning.

begintoend

How come talk abt this test for the sake of having chewren only?
I dun think this test is a concern abt vhewren, rather the couple themselves.
Having - ve result will impact their decision on taking care of each other when in need. Then what's is the point of the relationship and marriage.

I seriously feel the insecurities inculcated from father to son.

gnoes85

She is a papa girl sort.

I will chit chat with her again. Make a decision based on full information discovery.

Just say it is for your own good. Nobody will say you wrong.
However, the test is meaningless and a waste of money.
Just call of the wedding, the damage has already been done.
And next time, learn how to 做人.

fire

She is a papa girl sort.

You meant well but you had already mentioned they had been objecting like there is no tomorrow, so what are your chances of convincing them? 😂

To you is for their own good but in your counterpart view it's for their own good as well if they don't.

Either you dropped it or maybe look to compromise by doing less tests else if the couple is willing, just do it on the sly without their knowledge and deal with the aftermath when found out.

jimmyleong

Getting common in China, request by guys.

Actually more for those who have gone to match making and want to know if the bride to be has been pregnant, had abortion etc...

sickoflife

Is TS very high class so as to impose such thing on others? No right? Think too highly of oneself is a sickness too.
Ya this TS is those super rich kind. Japanese wife heir to a multi million company.

bruiser69

I'm a strong supporter of both couples taking genetic test for health prediction. This can avoid passing traits to children. We did the tests - my waifu and I. Not retail type tests like 23Me or Ancestry, but validated ones from hospitals. With annual health screening, the family can monitor and manage health issues. We are willing to bear the fees, several thousands for comprehensive suite for 2.

My son and his fiancé are in agreement. We shown them many medical journals, articles, website references. Hit and run is risky. Handling DS, or ADHD kids or children with congenital issues is expensive and time consuming.

But her family is objecting like there is no tomorrow. Reasons such as prying into privacy, discouraging marriage, look down on them, cursing them, take it or leave it, etc etc all came out. Her parents are both in early 50s. I would have thought they are fairly informed and educated.

Can anyone suggest how we should approach her family? She is adult and can make her own decision. However as the only child, the family thing becomes sticky.

We sat down a few times, emailed articles, and even tried to arrange meetings between them and physicians and geneticists, but they avoided.

Bringing up kids is expensive. A medically defective child is a nightmare. Unlike my generation where we hit and run, they both have a good opportunity to find out first.

Sigh.

You are another Hitler in the making :o

Obviously you are not Xtian too :s13: :o

Acetone

Whether she (and her parents) eventually agrees to do or don’t do those tests… the union will have this dark shadow cast upon it already.

Whatever the result, it’s just a lose - lose situation.

XiaoChilli

You still haven’t say …
  • If found to have issues means call off wedding?
  • Wait end up your own son is the 1 found to have issues, means what?
  • Don’t say must test 1st then can be boyfriend-girlfriend, it’s understood that is not practical … but why never at the very least say must test 1st then can get engaged … instead wait until engaged prepare to ROM already then say must test?
Ya why nv test before your son propose to her. Now u want test if found out anything the fiancee no need to marry all her friends will know she got genetic problem.
If u like to do planning so much y nv think for others beforehand?

tanbrave

I'm a strong supporter of both couples taking genetic test for health prediction. This can avoid passing traits to children. We did the tests - my waifu and I. Not retail type tests like 23Me or Ancestry, but validated ones from hospitals. With annual health screening, the family can monitor and manage health issues. We are willing to bear the fees, several thousands for comprehensive suite for 2.

My son and his fiancé are in agreement. We shown them many medical journals, articles, website references. Hit and run is risky. Handling DS, or ADHD kids or children with congenital issues is expensive and time consuming.

But her family is objecting like there is no tomorrow. Reasons such as prying into privacy, discouraging marriage, look down on them, cursing them, take it or leave it, etc etc all came out. Her parents are both in early 50s. I would have thought they are fairly informed and educated.

Can anyone suggest how we should approach her family? She is adult and can make her own decision. However as the only child, the family thing becomes sticky.

We sat down a few times, emailed articles, and even tried to arrange meetings between them and physicians and geneticists, but they avoided.

Bringing up kids is expensive. A medically defective child is a nightmare. Unlike my generation where we hit and run, they both have a good opportunity to find out first.

Sigh.
Roughly have you seen any defect like downsyderum or albinoisn.Their family history can indicate.But then love is blind 🦯.

CCCustom

Ya why nv test before your son propose to her. Now u want test if found out anything the fiancee no need to marry all her friends will know she got genetic problem.
If u like to do planning so much y nv think for others beforehand?
Don’t quote my post with reply worded like I am the TS lar =:p

This TS don’t dare to answer the real questions though, just ignore and just keep saying what he wants to say :s8:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.