How to prepare for uni?

synyster666

Hi all,

I will be matriculating this year in NUS Mech eng.. After NS, my brain is a bit rusty. I am wondering are there any tips you guys can share so that I can prepare myself before school starts. Such as what to study now so as to give me a headstart for the modules? Thanks!

Death4ngel

Hi all,

I will be matriculating this year in NUS Mech eng.. After NS, my brain is a bit rusty. I am wondering are there any tips you guys can share so that I can prepare myself before school starts. Such as what to study now so as to give me a headstart for the modules? Thanks!

None. Doesn't help. Just chill. :s13:

Very hard to keep urself motivated to self study.
And during the sem you'll be really really busy. So u'll wish u rather relax first. Go meet ur friends, because during sem time nobody is free.

And most imptly, don't slack and screw up ur first sem.
Although, u'll still be a first class if u 1st sem 1.0 and next 7 sems 5.0 :s13:

anw if you really want to study first. You can look up the required modules for your degree. Look at the syllabus, go MIT opencourseware, Coursera, etc etc.
Maybe you can go practise your math first. I believe all Eng students need to MA1505 and MA1506 which are killer mods for most ppl. (I'm not from Eng btw)

Darkzi0n

go to ur course website.
search for ur course curriculum and find the modules u are going to take
google the module code. (or if u alr know ppl inside nus, ask them help u search on ivle)
look for any information u can find, especially the recommended textbook
download the recommended textbook and read

Keiramel

Go refresh ur differentiation and integration.

They're quite essential for the math mod you'll be taking in the first sem.

Jiaw3i

whats your definition of alot?

none of my friends failed ma1505. 0.

honestly, in nus, you have to try to actually fail modules...

Ur clique should be all erites mah. Not surprising, haha. And peasants can't compare with erites.

Darkzi0n

Maybe his fail means getting below 50 out of 100 for the test... Not fail as in getting D or below

Keiramel

I think for MA1505/1506, as long as you put in some effort, its quite easy to get a decent grade (B+).

1.6k people taking. Don't have to really worry about the bellcurve. :p

quotient

jin ask you ba

Hi all,

cut down on porn then your mind ok liao.
btw i trying to find out her name.
you ish noe her naMe>

xolp3000

bcos u are erite.. some ppl dont have to try and fail modules
But seriously, MA1505, while hard, has quite a lenient bell curve. I've had friends who only managed to attempt half the paper pass with C...

Ur clique should be all erites mah. Not surprising, haha. And peasants can't compare with erites.
My clique are not all elites lah. But seriously, MA1505 may be hard to ace, but its seriously hard to fail.

xolp3000

bcos u are erite.. some ppl dont have to try and fail modules

for ma1505 is truly difficult to fail lah. for most chem eng mods as well. As long as you try all the tutorials, do past year papers and put in effort for your project, its quite rare to get a D or F.

synyster666

Thanks a lot for the inputs peeps! According to some, I Gould probably find out more abt the modules from friends who are already in nus or even from other online platforms. But do I need to refresh my physics and maths? I don't think I can remember a single thing. How did the rest of you guys cope after NS?

Darkzi0n

Dont rmb anything they go read up first Loh. In uni u dont have the luxury to slowly learn n understand. Once week 1 starts, the next thing u know is mid term Liao. Once mid term is over u will realize finals is coming.

mgx-alander

Thanks a lot for the inputs peeps! According to some, I Gould probably find out more abt the modules from friends who are already in nus or even from other online platforms. But do I need to refresh my physics and maths? I don't think I can remember a single thing. How did the rest of you guys cope after NS?
after ns 1st sem cui.. only 2nd sem then back to normal :sad:

but i ord 1.5 mths b4 matric so brain not working :sad:

slumb3r

Iirc, MA1505 got open lectures. CS1010E also have open lectures. That's two modules out of five that you are taking. You have to ask friends in NUS to give you access to either download or watch online.

After NS go uni, still have the JC mindset that everything can pia last minute. So I got a rude awakening.. and.. It gets better... :):) until year 4 :(:(

hardwood198

Ehy the provost of nus mentioned they are considering implementing a first year grad less for freshmen matriculating 2014/2015. Do check it up.

I also know that if u want to accelerate you could try to take apc tests

szupersub

Dont rmb anything they go read up first Loh. In uni u dont have the luxury to slowly learn n understand. Once week 1 starts, the next thing u know is mid term Liao. Once mid term is over u will realize finals is coming.

once finals come, before you know it ord lo! :frosty:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.