How to successfully chase a guy? What guys like?

Encouragesome1

Act of gift love language means the person giving gift to people they like, not receiving gifts
Hello didi

The receiver’s love language == meaning what the receiver needs to feel he or she is being loved by someone.
The 5 love languages r
Acts of service
Physical Gifts
Time
Physical touch
Encouraging words
5-Love-Languages-1-1-1024x1024.jpg

Got one anecdote: Xiao Qiang is feeling sad and dejected.
God sent an angel and he talked to XQ and XQ is ok thereafter the talk.

Ali is feeling demoralised and tired. God sent an angel and he listened to Ali. Ali felt re energised and motivated after he talked.

Thambi is very stressed and can’t zz. God sent an angel and angel came to look at Thambi and sat a while with him. Thambi felt everything is all manageable again after the sitting a while together.

Most of us just need someone to care or a sounding board to ping our ideas , we want to hear and be heard. We want to do something good / useful for ourselves , for others, for the good for life beyond our own existence.

ZETMAN

Aiya u see my replies, those who know will know ba. I suspended my account to take a break then made a clone. Forgot my password then cant manage to reset so i made another.

8 yrs ago i was here to find a bf and i married the edmwer i found here.

but srsly marry rich is ok but not the top 1% crazy rich asian kind. Some of them dont have control over their lives. But if u ok w high earners drawing a few hundred k a yr then I think still possible to find them and live a happy life.
do share the juicy details what was ur nick. are you the legendary whiterat zeh zeh :love:

Whirling_Dervish

obviously not rich enough else ginori would come to you instead and they would have their own plane for the humans and the bags/animals etc and most would rather just buy new bags and not be bothered to clean the old ones regardless the skin for it’s just another bag

you need to find some sane rich people to mix with

I dunno how much is your value of old money family but the networth determines how money is spent

500mil versus 13bil is a whole different game
the notable ones with billions are not that many in SG and they are the real old money fams

I think some people just want an excuse to travel. Some of them actually do have access to private jets, but I think their aircraft are mainly regional jets with a limited range so I doubt they can reach Paris without having to make multiple pit stops.

To most collectors, a Birkin isn't just a bag, especially if it is one of those exotic ones, like those Himalayan Niloticus Birkins. Those are not easy to acquire even if you had the cash to do so, especially when the CITES certificates are not in order.

If I had to guess, your parents are either surgeons or law partners. More likely the latter, given how you write.

You haven't deviated very far from the path - you're a doctor, and a hardworking one. But moving to Australia has given you some breathing space.

Can't imagine your parents being too miffed at how you've turned out, really... unless you decide to marry strange. But that's highly unlikely given your disposition.

You aren't too far off; they are both working in the healthcare industry.

Myy parents probably have undiagnosed OCD; it is not enough that you reach their projected endpoint, you also need to achieve it via their prescribed pathway. Although I have technically met their expectations in regards of my chosen profession, they are still unhappy (and even ashamed) of the path I have taken.

Personally, I find it ridiculous that someone would even care about which secondary school, junior college, or university I have attended. However, they do. They think that anything that is not "perfect" would be seen as a blemish that will work against me when finding a life partner; apparently one's academic pedigree is one of the core criteria reasonable parents rely on in selecting their ideal daughter-in-law :s39:

Wow thank you for putting effort in writing to explain to me. Sounds very suffocating??? That before you are born they already can curate your life? I mean wow, maybe I not that level, but why does it seems like they are trying to play God? Can curate one meh? (I mean I always feel like whatever I plan didn't happen la) So is true that before you born your life is already somewhat set?

And the bragging really sound damn disgusting leh.

Another question, so in your growing up years do you really meet with people of your class? Do you know poor people exist and your life is very different or it really shock you and only when you are probably adult or something then you realised your life is above average and poor people do exist?

Do such rich people actually can make friends with people like me from the lower ses, or really only same type then can mix well?

This question applies to @Min Min too. I'm curious 你们有钱人的世界和价值观

It is very suffocating.

From their perspective, they want the best for their children; the best education, the best careers, and the best partners. However, their opinion of what is best for me may not be congruent with my personal beliefs. While I am happy to entertain opposing views so long as the other party is open to constructive discourse, they unfortunately do not share my sentiments. Their opinion is absolute; any differing perspectives are regarded as heresy and will be treated as blasphemy.

Looking back, they would only allow me to strategically socialise with individuals they deemed worth knowing, such as peers from old money families. They would organise playdates and outings when we were younger, which evolved into matchmaking sessions as we grew older. I guess if you are someone from an established family, your life would be more or less set in the sense that your parents would not allow you to fail. Even if you were terrible in your studies, they would probably buy you a place in a branded international school before sending you for foundation studies in the UK or Australia to facilitate your matriculation into a branded university.

Some people derive satisfaction from flaunting their wealth in the most superfluous ways. Anyway, I'm usually just there representing my family, or as a plus one. So I usually just practice my active listening skills while enjoying the food, which is usually pretty amazing! :s13:

I think you may be perceiving me as someone living in an ivory tower detached from reality :s13:

I studied in the Singapore public education system from primary school straight through to junior college, so I have classmates from various socioeconomic backgrounds. However, I do admit that a good majority of my secondary school friends are from well-to-do backgrounds; I have only two friends from secondary school who live in public housing. On the other hand, my mix of junior college friends are more egalitarian with a good majority of them living in public housing. In fact, my first boyfriend from junior college lived in public housing.

It was also in junior college when I met people from single-parent families for the first time in my life, as I came from a convent before that which frowned about anything that infringed upon the sanctity of holy matrimony.

I joined the Rotary Club in junior college, where I would go down to the HELP Family Services Centre (FSC) in Ang Mo Kio every Saturday to volunteer. The HELP (Help Every Lone Parent) FSC is a charity organisation which specifically aims to support single parents and their children. I would go down and tutor the children there in English, Mathematics, and Science, and also act as a big sister and provide some form of mentorship (which is quite hilarious on hindsight as I had, and still have, zero life experience :s13:). I still fondly remember that the centre is located at the void deck of the public housing block in front of a playground with a dragon head!

So I guess I was always aware of the existence of the poor and downtrodden in Singapore.

In regards to your question as to whether rich people can befriend people from humbler backgrounds, I think the answer is yes. I have found it much easier to make friends from humble backgrounds than most of the people my parents are keen for me to be acquainted with.

Besides edmw do you mingle with ppl of low ses irl
Do u feel they are intimidated by you?

To be frank, it is quite hard to mingle with people outside your immediate environment as a working adult. I think the only people I hang out with on a regular basis (if I even hang out at all) are doctors, because they are easily accessible to me. I don't really have the time or energy to go out of my immediate social circle to make new friends.

I also find it quite tiring sometimes to hang out with friends after a long week at work. You need the time and commitment to invest at least 3-4 hours of your free time, and you can't just leave halfway when you are tired and when your social battery is flat. I guess this is the allure of Hardwarezone.com; commitment-free interactions. My interest in this forum was initially piqued by the radically diverse viewpoints abound in the forum back then. The crowd then were of a rowdier breed, and I do admit that while a good number of the comments were off-putting and nauseating, it was also somewhat intriguing. I mean, these were the people whom my parents have always warned me not to mix up, and I guess the forbidden fruit always taste the sweetest. Or maybe I am just mad? :s13:

Back to your question.

Assuming that by "low ses" you are refering to poverty-stricken individuals, then my answer would be no. I honestly do not think anyone in my social circle currently lives in poverty. I think all of them are doing pretty okay, or are doing average at the very least. Come to think of it, I don't think I am currently in contact with friends who came from a polytechnic, ITE, or finished their formal education at secondary school. I guess that is because I didn't have any opportunities to mingle with such peers growing up.

I doubt they would be intimidated by me if they got to know me. I mean why should they? I'm just a clueless, overaged teenager trying to make sense of the world around me :s13:

IAmChiobu12M

I think some people just want an excuse to travel. Some of them actually do have access to private jets, but I think their aircraft are mainly regional jets with a limited range so I doubt they can reach Paris without having to make multiple pit stops.

To most collectors, a Birkin isn't just a bag, especially if it is one of those exotic ones, like those Himalayan Niloticus Birkins. Those are not easy to acquire even if you had the cash to do so, especially when the CITES certificates are not in order.

Myy parents probably have undiagnosed OCD; it is not enough that you reach their projected endpoint, you also need to achieve it via their prescribed pathway. Although I have technically met their expectations in regards of my chosen profession, they are still unhappy (and even ashamed) of the path I have taken.

Personally, I find it ridiculous that someone would even care about which secondary school, junior college, or university I have attended. However, they do. They think that anything that is not "perfect" would be seen as a blemish that will work against me when finding a life partner; apparently one's academic pedigree is one of the core criteria reasonable parents rely on in selecting their ideal daughter-in-law :s39:

It is very suffocating.

From their perspective, they want the best for their children; the best education, the best careers, and the best partners. However, their opinion of what is best for me may not be congruent with my personal beliefs. While I am happy to entertain opposing views so long as the other party is open to constructive discourse, they unfortunately do not share my sentiments. Their opinion is absolute; any differing perspectives are regarded as heresy and will be treated as blasphemy.

Looking back, they would only allow me to strategically socialise with individuals they deemed worth knowing, such as peers from old money families. They would organise playdates and outings when we were younger, which evolved into matchmaking sessions as we grew older. I guess if you are someone from an established family, your life would be more or less set in the sense that your parents would not allow you to fail. Even if you were terrible in your studies, they would probably buy you a place in a branded international school before sending you for foundation studies in the UK or Australia to facilitate your matriculation into a branded university.
Wah so is true of the Chinese saying, 投胎也是一门艺术,脱胎对了,人生直接赢 90% HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

The art of birth lottery :s13:

Some people derive satisfaction from flaunting their wealth in the most superfluous ways. Anyway, I'm usually just there representing my family, or as a plus one. So I usually just practice my active listening skills while enjoying the food, which is usually pretty amazing! :s13:
So those people who flaunt so superfluously, are they very shallow in life? To put it crudely, is it caz life too good aka eat too full so all they can do is focus on all these lame shxt? Beside being born right, they have no other achievements in life so can only use all these to cover their insecurities. Are they all the 富二代?

I think you may be perceiving me as someone living in an ivory tower detached from reality :s13:
I mean even if you are, is definitely not your fault, caz if all your parents do is to curate and create such environment for you to be in. All you are exposed would be these, and is normal to think this is the norm and everyone is just living like this.

That why I asked this question, just wondering at what age or how did you get exposed to the fact that the world is a lot sadder and darker than your protected environment. And if it shock you when you first know it.

I studied in the Singapore public education system from primary school straight through to junior college, so I have classmates from various socioeconomic backgrounds. However, I do admit that a good majority of my secondary school friends are from well-to-do backgrounds; I have only two friends from secondary school who live in public housing. On the other hand, my mix of junior college friends are more egalitarian with a good majority of them living in public housing. In fact, my first boyfriend from junior college lived in public housing.

It was also in junior college when I met people from single-parent families for the first time in my life, as I came from a convent before that which frowned about anything that infringed upon the sanctity of holy matrimony.

I joined the Rotary Club in junior college, where I would go down to the HELP Family Services Centre (FSC) in Ang Mo Kio every Saturday to volunteer. The HELP (Help Every Lone Parent) FSC is a charity organisation which specifically aims to support single parents and their children. I would go down and tutor the children there in English, Mathematics, and Science, and also act as a big sister and provide some form of mentorship (which is quite hilarious on hindsight as I had, and still have, zero life experience :s13:). I still fondly remember that the centre is located at the void deck of the public housing block in front of a playground with a dragon head!

So I guess I was always aware of the existence of the poor and downtrodden in Singapore.
Honestly I really think you are a rare kind. Quite impressive that you have no air or think you are more superior and elite than others.

My impression of those born super rich are very spoilt, entitled, think the world revolves around them, no achievement in life and even if they do is only caz they born right so everything is set for them, ill discipline, no grit, expect everything to be easy or think with money they are god.

And maybe some worse ones, might even think eeew poor people are disgusting and they are simply poor caz they are stupid or lazy without realizing how important luck and opportunity plays a big part to success.

Maybe my life bad, so I very bitter of rich kids. But I genuinely hate those who are born in a good place and inherited a lot of things, as a result have a lot of opportunities to do more. Then flex on social media how "hardworking" they are and how they are "grinding" all day everyday and "hustling". Damn turn off. I mean to be fair, not your fault that your parents are rich and in fact kudos to you to win in birth lottery, but still act one damn ups and assume your success was your "effort". I know of some are like that..
Omg damn disgusting. In my heart I'm always like just shut up and hope you fail in life so bad HAHAHAHAH so you finally wake up. Okay I know I'm mean :spin:

And you definitely do not act like this from the way you've been in the forum. You are very aware of the world yet you remain kind, humble and most importantly GROUNDED! I do believe you have a heart of gratitude that you have privileges that others don't but you don't deny them while not abusing it either.

Just curious, did your friends of those who are of more humble background and bf feel intimated by your wealth? And were you ever afraid they are only near you caz they want something from you?

And how did your bf parents react when they know their son is dating someone of such caliber? Are they very worried or stressed or feel inferior that they are nowhere near your background? How did your parents reacted to it?

Also, the fact how you describe your parents, is it caz they were also from old money and live such high life that why they are so focused in curating yours to be like them too? Is it true if the parents went through financial hardship (ie. rage to riches) they would be more prudent and would want their kids also know that everything they build were not easy and they should not take it for granted as compared to those whole family all along are old money and just passing down wealth so they feel they are high ses and this should continue.

In regards to your question as to whether rich people can befriend people from humbler backgrounds, I think the answer is yes. I have found it much easier to make friends from humble backgrounds than most of the people my parents are keen for me to be acquainted with.
How so? If you don't mind sharing?

And I know I bomb you a lot of questions but honestly I think (if you not csb) you are the only closest way for me to know the high ses world liao hahahahaha. I really do not have such people in my real life who have such affluent background. And I'm thankful you have been so nice in replying!

During 1 social setting, I had 1 time I get to know someone who's relatively well to do, I felt that wah really different league and deep down i was a bit frustrated that these people really do not understand the pain of the lower class and just blindly assume a certain set of values and think is absolute. (I purposely brought up some social topics and the injustice or poor around the world.) That when deep down i realised really not possible to mix with people of different class long run. The gap is real.

Min Min

It is very suffocating.

To be frank, it is quite hard to mingle with people outside your immediate environment as a working adult. I think the only people I hang out with on a regular basis (if I even hang out at all) are doctors, because they are easily accessible to me. I don't really have the time or energy to go out of my immediate social circle to make new friends.

I also find it quite tiring sometimes to hang out with friends after a long week at work. You need the time and commitment to invest at least 3-4 hours of your free time, and you can't just leave halfway when you are tired and when your social battery is flat. I guess this is the allure of Hardwarezone.com; commitment-free interactions. My interest in this forum was initially piqued by the radically diverse viewpoints abound in the forum back then. The crowd then were of a rowdier breed, and I do admit that while a good number of the comments were off-putting and nauseating, it was also somewhat intriguing. I mean, these were the people whom my parents have always warned me not to mix up, and I guess the forbidden fruit always taste the sweetest. Or maybe I am just mad? :s13:

Back to your question.

Assuming that by "low ses" you are refering to poverty-stricken individuals, then my answer would be no. I honestly do not think anyone in my social circle currently lives in poverty. I think all of them are doing pretty okay, or are doing average at the very least. Come to think of it, I don't think I am currently in contact with friends who came from a polytechnic, ITE, or finished their formal education at secondary school. I guess that is because I didn't have any opportunities to mingle with such peers growing up.

I doubt they would be intimidated by me if they got to know me. I mean why should they? I'm just a clueless, overaged teenager trying to make sense of the world around me :s13:

even the ng and the khoo family don’t raise their next gen the way your folks do.
Not even our local politicians
heiress to local notable parents dont have such growing up too

your folks are special

ZETMAN

even the ng and the khoo family don’t raise their next gen the way your folks do.
Not even our local politicians
heiress to local notable parents dont have such growing up too

your folks are special
Well some parents are overprotective.

I ever came across someone whom is not from well to do family but his family being so protective that at the age of 17/18 he doesnt even know how to order food from the coffeeshop.

IAmChiobu12M

I ever came across someone whom is not from well to do family but his family being so protective that at the age of 17/18 he doesnt even know how to order food from the coffeeshop.
Same my bff she's worse than Cinderella. Cinderella go to the ball just need be home by 12am. For my dinobu bff during poly w her I damn stress. She's forever I need get home before the sunset if not is like some crime and she will have anxiety. So it always felt like I'm the bad person that trying lead her astray. The one that went Japan with me.

And she have 0 clue how to use rice cooker, washing machine, and household appliances caz she has a maid. Living alone to her is a real chore and pain only until recent years her family start always travelling and she can't go due to work then she slowly learn. She say she hates whenever she's home alone caz it means she have to do chores and prep her own food.

And she nv knew dim sum can be at "coffeeshop style" or "shop house style" like swee choon or at msia. She thought it must be at high end restaurant caz that is what she only have in her life. Until I brought her go jb eat dimsum then she's like oh it can be eaten without posh restaurant or aircon setting lol.

But she's not that spoilt caz at least whenever I introduced her something "new" to her that usually is the norm to us, besides being a bit shock she will try to adapt without complain.

rrr2015

i feel that they might just to controlling his exposure to material world, afraid he might grow up making more demands or led astray

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.