HP ProLiant MicroServer - $230 USD , free shipping within US

Borderlinx shipping after 20% discount - $82.40 sgd

Total Cost : $381.40 sgd

seowbin

Add-on poison

15p63av.jpg

IBM 44E8689 IBM ServeRAID BR10i (PCIe 4x) - $49.99 USD , free shipping within US
Supermicro Mobile Rack CSE-M14TB - $89.00 USD , free shipping within US
Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit English 1pk DSP OEM System Builder DVD 10 Client - $39.90 , additional $3.99 for shipping within

Borderlinx shipping after 20% discount - $44.77 sgd

Total = $282.514SGD (assuming US to SGD conversion is 1.3)

seowbin

Final outcome
----------------
2qd1ls2.jpg

Wondering what is this for?

kf1g0m.jpg

For my vmware setup....
HP microserver is used as shared storage

2 x lenovo desktop for lab testing , can do all the feature such as vmotion, HA & FT

seowbin

performance

SSD datastore ====> 2 x F120 - sw raid0
HDD datastore ====> samsung 2tb hdd

None of my ESXi host have it's own local storage (hdd), all the disk are either nfs or iscsi located somewhere in the network

From SSD to SSD (clone request send for a VM resides on the SSD datastore to the same datastore)
2rh8ndw.png

From my HDD to SSD array (clone request send for a VM resides on the HDD datastore to SSD datastore)
(clone request send for a VM resides on the SSD datastore to the same datastore on the same server)
2qtvpn6.png

This beats QNAP anytime with much lesser $ but of course need to have certain level of windows knowledge
(i'm a owner of QNAP TS-459 pro as well but it is going downhill.. their support for latest stuffs like esxi5 sucks while readynas already resolved those issue... )

Mclairs83

nice.. anywhere to purchase tis microserver?

heard tat it uses ECC rams?

processor model?>

seowbin

i hoot from ebay...

ram can use non-ecc ram... i using kingston 4gb ram.. around $30+ bucks type... from best bargain

amd n36l

supergmail

bro, you install how many harddisk and using ECC ram?

what is the 2 usb thingy?

seowbin

i got 1 x default hdd.. i think is 160gb?
2 x samsung 2 tb hdd
1 x spare slot... intending to put 1tb seagate hdd after i RMA

my 4 x 2.5" , got 2 spare slot, the other 2 is used by 2 x f120 ssd

1 usb is my wireless adapter :s34:
another one is my wireless keyboard/mouse dongle..

no ecc ram used.. .just regular ddr3 non-ecc ram

waiting for my usb to ethernet adapter to come from china...
For the built-in nic + 1 more broadcom nic PCIe 1x , i created a teaming ... since 1gbps is not enough :s34:

Mclairs83

i hoot from ebay...

ram can use non-ecc ram... i using kingston 4gb ram.. around $30+ bucks type... from best bargain

amd n36l

now ebay selling $250 usd. :(

shipping wise abit worry, after fedex and UPS incident. =\

Mclairs83

seowbin

seowbin, just to check.. when the microserver reaches at borderlinx, how much was the weight of the package?

as i don't haf a citibank card, i will be using comgateway as my freight forwarder.. and they don't haf any discount.. so i'm alittle worried on the GST tax after SGD$400.
10.23 kg
according to the shipping record

comgateway got like round up so is 10.5kg

Mclairs83

10.23 kg
according to the shipping record

comgateway got like round up so is 10.5kg

sucks.. i got a problem.. i can't seems to add my comgateway address in paypal.

when i click on BUY on the ebay, they said they will shipped towards to singapore directly.. anyway to change this seowbin?

seowbin

can change shipping address one leh, then click add lor.. or u go ur ebay account, directly add new address.

Mclairs83

can change shipping address one leh, then click add lor.. or u go ur ebay account, directly add new address.

Okie bought.. but now..sure tio tax.. i used the shipping calculator.. est shipping cost $90..

microserver cost around $313. -.-

seowbin

congrats... welcome to the club :s13:

you try to zhng the server price lower lor.. tell them actually is $250 , see they ok or not.. :D

newsense

Nice...if I just need a media backup server, can you do raid 5 for all 8 hdd and how would you do it on this server?

cheong

Please advise whether is this good enough for hosting my own photo album online, intend to use home server 2011.

seowbin

Nice...if I just need a media backup server, can you do raid 5 for all 8 hdd and how would you do it on this server?
if you want to do raid 5, just do it in the windows level lor... there's option in disk management for you to do raid 5

in real life as as well as microsoft restriction (which is good), your 'dynamic' drive can never be your OS disk as well..

therefore if you want a 4 bay raid 5, you need to have 1 OS disk + 4 disk for raid 5

if you want 8 disk... you will need to find space in the server for 9 disks :s13:

i don't recommend you to mix 2.5" and 3.5" for raid la... speed different.. personally i will one shot buy 4 hdd of the same spec together and build it as raid 5 if i really need it

remember to backup your OS disk often as well

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.