Huawei Mate 9

Anything_Whatever

Can fellow Mate9 users help perform a simple test? Try doing a ookla speedtest for both Wi-Fi and 4G.

For my phone. It only connects to a server in Ghana for both.

Don't worry.... dun blame your phone

It's only today.... won't affect the phone or network performance.

Anyway, even it is connected to Ghana to test the speed..... it's still impressive results

Zerstorer

Don't worry.... dun blame your phone

It's only today.... won't affect the phone or network performance.

Anyway, even it is connected to Ghana to test the speed..... it's still impressive results
Have you tested? It has been so since I got the phone yesterday.

Its not impressive when the internet bandwidth is uneven and significantly lower than my LGV10 when tested side by side.

The question is why is it doing this. With the bundled speedtest app that came with the phone, the Mate 9 won't even allow me to manually select a Singapore server.

The only way to solve it was to uninstall the Speedtest app that came with the phone and install a new version direct from playstore. #fishy

Makes me want to uninstall all the bundled apps and reinstall them.

Audiology93

Can fellow Mate9 users help perform a simple test? Try doing a ookla speedtest for both Wi-Fi and 4G.

For my phone. It only connects to a server in Ghana for both.
WiFi
irKj6Jml.png

Sent from HUAWEI MHA-L29 using GAGT

Audiology93

Have you tested? It has been so since I got the phone yesterday.

Its not impressive when the internet bandwidth is uneven and significantly lower than my LGV10 when tested side by side.

The question is why is it doing this. With the bundled speedtest app that came with the phone, the Mate 9 won't even allow me to manually select a Singapore server.

The only way to solve it was to uninstall the Speedtest app that came with the phone and install a new version direct from playstore. #fishy

Makes me want to uninstall all the bundled apps and reinstall them.
Did u switch on GPS? Mine connected to some unknown countries at 1st as well but changed to SG once I turned on GPS.

ZhuTou!

Ya need to switch on gps
Location service and gps under same toggle
Off gps also off location service
Totally cannot detect ur location
Tested and proven when i first try out speedtest app
I also kena connected to ulu server

Sent from HUAWEI MATE 9 using GAGT

Audiology93

Swiftyz

Well I checked, the app that ate most of my battery is telegram. Compared my phone with friend's phone at the amount of time left when at 90% is a big difference.

At 90%, mine says 10hrs 40mins left. Friend's is 26hrs 40mins, his had wifi, data, 4G, NFC, GPS, everything on. Both phones has all app cleared. The big difference in the amount of battery left shows smth?

Audiology93

Well I checked, the app that ate most of my battery is telegram. Compared my phone with friend's phone at the amount of time left when at 90% is a big difference.

At 90%, mine says 10hrs 40mins left. Friend's is 26hrs 40mins, his had wifi, data, 4G, NFC, GPS, everything on. Both phones has all app cleared. The big difference in the amount of battery left shows smth?
Can't really rely on the "time left". Its not very accurate. Huawei battery settings says I have 23 hours left whereas GSam says i Have 32 hours left.
UfoMhVal.png

9majjAHl.png

ZhuTou!

Most chat app except whatsapp eat lots of battery
Telegram is one of them
All run in background and have push notifications
So the more chat app u have, the more battery they consume even if nobody msg u
Fb and fb messenger also eat alot

Swiftyz

Yeah I agree the time left is not so accurate.

But when I contacted the HiCare CSO, she asked me what was the time left shown when fully charged, they used that to gauge something. So it probably means something to Hua Wei?

But even so, generally mate 9 phones should have over 20hours of battery life. Like yours at 69% has over 20hours.

Mine has 10hours, which is less than half of your battery life left, but 20% more battery than you. Can the apps do so much difference? To consume so much battery like 10hours worth of battery calculated by the system?

I looked at the battery consumption, only telegram has the most, the rest are reaaaaaally little. :(

KeYoKe

Most chat app except whatsapp eat lots of battery
Telegram is one of them
All run in background and have push notifications
So the more chat app u have, the more battery they consume even if nobody msg u
Fb and fb messenger also eat alot

But when I contacted the HiCare CSO, she asked me what was the time left shown when fully charged, they used that to gauge something. So it probably means something to Hua Wei?

But even so, generally mate 9 phones should have over 20hours of battery life. Like yours at 69% has over 20hours.

Mine has 10hours, which is less than half of your battery life left, but 20% more battery than you. Can the apps do so much difference? To consume so much battery like 10hours worth of battery calculated by the system?

I looked at the battery consumption, only telegram has the most, the rest are reaaaaaally little. :(

agree with what zhutou! says. fb and messenger consume alot of batt, therefore i on battery optimization for fb app. last time i use mini for facebook

dont rely on the estimate time left too much. i believe your usage is quite heavy thus it is showing that. i remember i read somewhere it is stating that the estimated time left derives from average usage for 3 days

just use and enjoy the phone la. i used to care alot, but no point buying a phone with huge battery and stop installing the apps u use as u are afraid that there will be battery drain or worst still trying to change ur habit of using the phone.

if so scare that batt will drain, dont use your phone at all, dont install any apps and put it in airplane mode will confirm have good battery life :s13:

JUST TORTURE IT since it is meant to withstand it

ZhuTou!

Mate 9 battery very good liao
Mai complain so much la

Honestly how many phone have u use before the battery and performance can match mate 9 de?
Performance car also wont save fuel tio bo?

My mate 9 only can last 1 day without gaming due to many chat app, fb and high SOT
I feel very good liao
I have seen ppl even complain when their phone can last 2 days
Really face palm :s13:

KeYoKe

coming from nexus 5x, not sure if it is the same for mate 9.
It is at the stage when you setup pattern/pin lock and finger prints, they will prompt you whether required pin or pattern at startup, choose no.

i remember it is when u just start setting up your phone :s13:

i think it required password, after you enter password your phone will reboot again as i believe that it is using the password you enter to decrypt the files and boot into the OS of the phone

KeYoKe

Mai complain so much la

Honestly how many phone have u use before the battery and performance can match mate 9 de?

My mate 9 only can last 1 day without gaming due to many chat app, fb and high SOT
I feel very good liao

i only got wechat and whatsapp.

FB put under battery optimization. can last me 3 days with 5 hours of on screen time, but that is under light usage. heavy usage 1 day empty tank liao

Swiftyz

Mai complain so much la

I feel very good liao

:s13::s13:

Well, expected quite a bit after jumping from apple. Guess I will continue to monitor!

Audiology93

Probably because I do not have any other social media apps other than insta. FB and FB messenger are battery hog so I uninstalled all of them. I've also disabled background sync for most apps other than whatsapp.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.