Huawei Sound X speaker

w chew

I have owned the Huawei Sound X speakers for 12 days now.

It gives clear sound for such a small speaker and has good clear bass.

I initially connected the speakers using bluetooth and it gave reasonable sound even though bluetooth is a lossy compression codec.

However yesterday I discovered you can stream lossless audio via wifi to the speakers.

You have to use the bubbleupnp app on android to do this.

1982-1994

Heng I haven't sold it despite I got it last month
havent even unsealed it

w chew

Bought another unit for son but new unit had problem playing lossless audio via wifi.

Called the service center and they couldn't diagnose the problem remotely.

They reguested I bring it in to their service center.

vaxvms

last time i try this app

my phone got hang after i was out of wifi zone

dun know why can play 1 song in playlist only

lazy to troubleshoot so i deleted it

w chew

last time i try this app

my phone got hang after i was out of wifi zone

dun know why can play 1 song in playlist only

lazy to troubleshoot so i deleted it

I can only play 16 songs max per playlist using bubbleupnp. Need to buy a license for more songs in the playlist.

Sounds have a little bit more detail when playing lossless FLAC and WAV files via wifi (using bubbleupnp) compared to lossy audio via bluetooth.

However, the newer units sold in Singapore can't play lossless audio via wifi (my 2nd unit). Only the older Singapore units (my 1st unit) or units for sale in China can play lossless audio via wifi.

I brought my 2nd unit to Huawei service center in WestGate and they said it only supports MP3 and NFC.

steveyhere

I am glad I found someone who has 2 units of the Sound X.

Perhaps you can answer this question for me. According to many reviews, Sound X speakers can be linked into a Stereo pair with the left speaker playing the left channel and the right speaker playing the right channel of the song. Are you able to do that?

According to one review, you can link the speakers into stereo pair by after powering up the 2 speakers, tap on the multilink buttons simultaneously on the 2 speakers, the speakers will be linked. Really appreciate you trying that out if you have not done so. see review link https://www.porta-fi.com/huawei-sound-x-a-huawei-x-devialet-collaboration/

I used Bubble uPNP and Hi-Fi cast to stream music from my phone to Sound X using wifi, the sound is definitely better than Bluetooth. In my opinion, Hi-Fi cast is more intuitive to use than Bubble uPNP. It can play flac and Wav files but not Ape and DSD files. It has build-in Shoutcast radio stations to stream music to Sound X directly in additional other DLNA source.

Looking forward to your reply

steveyhere

I brought my 2nd unit to Huawei service center in WestGate and they said it only supports MP3 and NFC.

I think the Huawei Support center staff is not very technically competence on Sound X speaker. I sent a question to them to confirm if the Sound X speaker can be link into a Stereo pair and the staff keep saying that I cannot link 2 speakers to the same phone simultaneously by bluetooth.

I have specifically mentioned twice in my reply that I am audio casting to the speakers via Wifi and NOT Bluetooth. The impression I get is that he doesn't even know that some Phone has build in Dual Sound (like Samsung) and can play music to 2 separate audio devices using Bluetooth connection at the same time.

The point is perhaps you may want to check with Huawei support staff from another country is there a variance.

If all else fails to resolve your 2nd unit problem. Bubble uPNP allows you to apply to audio formts not natively supported by renderer using FFmpeg audio decoding.

w chew

Perhaps you can answer this question for me. According to many reviews, Sound X speakers can be linked into a Stereo pair with the left speaker playing the left channel and the right speaker playing the right channel of the song. Are you able to do that?
I tried powering off both speakers, then when flashing green, pressed both multi-function buttons together. Speaker didn't indicate a stereo pair.

w chew

However, the newer units sold in Singapore can't play lossless audio via wifi (my 2nd unit). Only the older Singapore units (my 1st unit) or units for sale in China can play lossless audio via wifi.

Today I tried wifi again only my 2nd unit and it now supports lossless audio. Don't know if its due to a firmware update as I configured the unit to auto-update the firmware.

The bubbleupnp info says it supports AAC, FLAC, MP3, OGG, WAV.

Previously, bubbleupnp info says it only supported MP3.

So some positive news here. :)

tohchr

I have owned the Huawei Sound X speakers for 12 days now.

It gives clear sound for such a small speaker and has good clear bass.

I initially connected the speakers using bluetooth and it gave reasonable sound even though bluetooth is a lossy compression codec.

However yesterday I discovered you can stream lossless audio via wifi to the speakers.

The vocal on this sound X is very clear and good. Base is not boomy like Sony speakers and it's just nice. I got mine for free when purchasing Huawei laptop. Was thinking to sell or not initially cos I got few Sony speakers at home. Then decided to try and then my Sony speakers collecting dust. I'm thinking of getting a 2nd one to make it stereo speakers. Haiz...

w chew

I'm thinking of getting a 2nd one to make it stereo speakers. Haiz...

I think only the China version can pair 2 into a stereo pair.

The Singapore units do not seem to have a way to pair them into a stereo pair. ( I tried and failed as I have 2 units )

There's no mention in the Huawei AI Life app of pairing them anyway.

You can get a bit better sound if you use wifi to play lossless audio files. The instruments (e.g. triangle) become more distinct. The bluetooth sound is already clear anyway.

w chew

I used Bubble uPNP and Hi-Fi cast to stream music from my phone to Sound X using wifi, the sound is definitely better than Bluetooth. In my opinion, Hi-Fi cast is more intuitive to use than Bubble uPNP. It can play flac and Wav files but not Ape and DSD files. It has build-in Shoutcast radio stations to stream music to Sound X directly in additional other DLNA source.

Thanks for telling me about the Hi-Fi Cast. It's a much better app than Bubble UPNP for playing lossless audio.:)

tohchr

The Singapore units do not seem to have a way to pair them into a stereo pair. ( I tried and failed as I have 2 units )

There's no mention in the Huawei AI Life app of pairing them anyway.

You can get a bit better sound if you use wifi to play lossless audio files. The instruments (e.g. triangle) become more distinct. The bluetooth sound is already clear anyway.
Wow. Thanks for the info. Luckily I had yet gotten the 2nd unit. Anyway, one unit is also very shiok liao

steveyhere

Yes. I find Hi-Fi cast is more intuitive and easier to use and using wifi to stream lossless music is so much better than bluetooth.

Anyone here know is there a way to redirect Spotify music (without premium account) using wifi instead of bluetooth to Sound X?

steveyhere

I tried powering off both speakers, then when flashing green, pressed both multi-function buttons together. Speaker didn't indicate a stereo pair.

I remembered came across a video of a Malaysian blogger on youtube managed to pair it but I couldn't locate the video now.

No harm trying again if there is a new firmware update. Keep us posted. It is a shame that such a speakers not connect to the Google ecosystem because of Trump.

steveyhere

May I know if you have added both your units to AI Link app and then simultaneously press the multi-function buttons on both units at the same time? I ask this because for Bose speakers, they can only be linked if both speakers first added to its Bose app before it can be stereo paired. It will not work if they are Bluetooth connected. I though it may be the same for Sound X as well.

Thank you for trying it out.

w chew

May I know if you have added both your units to AI Link app and then simultaneously press the multi-function buttons on both units at the same time?

Yes. Both speakers have been added to the AI Life app. They appear in the app as Sound X and Sound X(1).

They are both connected to the same wifi SSID. But no pairing took place.

Hopefully, Huawei will add the stereo pairing feature in the future via a firmware update as the ability is already possible in the hardware. (Since all the China units can do stereo pairing) It's just a feature disabled by the firmware.

My guess is they don't want the speakers to eat into the market share of the Devialet speakers which costs $1,890 each for the cheapest Devialet speaker, the Phantom Reactor 600 which is rated at 600 watts.

The Huawei Sound X is rated at 144 watts. :)

steveyhere

Yes. Both speakers have been added to the AI Life app. They appear in the app as Sound X and Sound X(1).

They are both connected to the same wifi SSID. But no pairing took place.

Hopefully, Huawei will add the stereo pairing feature in the future via a firmware update as the ability is already possible in the hardware. (Since all the China units can do stereo pairing) It's just a feature disabled by the firmware.

My guess is they don't want the speakers to eat into the market share of the Devialet speakers which costs $1,890 each for the cheapest Devialet speaker, the Phantom Reactor 600 which is rated at 600 watts.

The Huawei Sound X is rated at 144 watts. :)

Yes. Big disappointment.

feynman82

I also have 2 sound x, both SG version with latest firmware. Unfortunately, no matter what i do, i am unable to pair them into stereo. I read somewhere on a European site that Huawei Sound X pairing is only available for the Chinese version, whilst the global version (also apparently Singapore/MY) don't have this capability for now. Sooo disappointing. It's just a dumb speaker, albeit a good sounding one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.