Human Resources FAQ

matey1982

if the interviewer panel say within 2 weeks notify
this week is week 3

will chase outcome or take it as gone for good?

AntonioPuerta

this week is week 3

i would auto-assume it's gone for good.

i also have question to ask yall/any HR experts here.

if let's say i kana terminated before on my last day of probation in a full-time job in the past, and for all future jobs that have this question in their application form, "have you ever been terminated before?"

what are the chances of the HR discovering about my termination via background checks if i decide to lie and write "No."

this is assuming that the above job dont require me to submit past CPF statements. i dont think the HR got way to find out right? unless our NRIC number can reveal if we have ever been terminated before in our life?

matey1982

if let's say i kana terminated before on my last day of probation in a full-time job in the past, and for all future jobs that have this question in their application form, "have you ever been terminated before?"

what are the chances of the HR discovering about my termination via background checks if i decide to lie and write "No."

this is assuming that the above job dont require me to submit past CPF statements. i dont think the HR got way to find out right? unless our NRIC number can reveal if we have ever been terminated before in our life?

can't be all the HR folks never VAR check for your handball/offside one right?

AntonioPuerta

can't be all the HR folks never VAR check for your handball/offside one right?

i have actually encountered/worked in full-time jobs that didnt ask me "have you ever been terminated before?"

all of them are rather big companies which i rather not name LOL.

there were 1 or 2 that i lied to and managed to last 2 to 3 years inside before i ownself resign for better prospects.

so im wondering is there any way HR can check about past termination WITHOUT my submission of past CPF statements?

KnobKnob

this week is week 3

Usually if they want move you forward, within a week should be giving you heads up. 3 weeks? Lol..only hope you have is your next interviewer is on holiday so no time interview you

matey1982

i have actually encountered/worked in full-time jobs that didnt ask me "have you ever been terminated before?"

all of them are rather big companies which i rather not name LOL.

there were 1 or 2 that i lied to and managed to last 2 to 3 years inside before i ownself resign for better prospects.

so im wondering is there any way HR can check about past termination WITHOUT my submission of past CPF statements?

if they do background checks
circle rather small
sure have a way to find out why the staff actually leave the company previously

how to smoke

matey1982

Usually if they want move you forward, within a week should be giving you heads up. 3 weeks? Lol..only hope you have is your next interviewer is on holiday so no time interview you
i got try b4 the HR POC left whilst I email/text to ask for outcome (not the floodgate kind of asking)
so have to use another track to get the answer from the hiring organisation to finally know the outcome

Oppa380

Don’t include that company in your CV lor

ZETMAN

weird. why virtual interview sia?

now covid-19 restrictions alr reduced.

my impression is they hire all year round cos i think their turnover rate is high
virtual interview is the more preferred methodology for some of the folks now.

As a HR, I prefer virtual interview for first round at least. It consumes the least resource and offer the most flexibility for all parties interviewers and candidates alike. In fact, when some of the recruiters reached out to me with job opportunities, if they state that the first round is a face to face interview, I will be less interested as I associate that approach with the stick in the mud mentality which to me speaks volumes on the culture of the company.

shodan99

Hi HR experts,

In my employment contract, it was not stated that probation is 6 months instead of the usual 3 months. This came to light only when my manager informed me that last week. The reason he gave is because I was hired through headhunter and the so called "warranty" period is 6 months. So my probation is also 6 months. What kind of logic is that? Is there anyway I make a recourse? will reporting to MOM help? that is short of leaving the company.

No wonder recruiters are such a hated bunch here.

ZETMAN

Hi HR experts,

In my employment contract, it was not stated that probation is 6 months instead of the usual 3 months. This came to light only when my manager informed me that last week. The reason he gave is because I was hired through headhunter and the so called "warranty" period is 6 months. So my probation is also 6 months. What kind of logic is that? Is there anyway I make a recourse? will reporting to MOM help? that is short of leaving the company.

No wonder recruiters are such a hated bunch here.
just to clarify. Is the probation period in your employment contract stated clearly? if yes, then that is the period you should take reference to.

sometimes hiring managers have very "unique" and "funny" interpretation of things that does not align with the company's policy. Do not misdirect your anger towards recruiters or HR as it may just be the willful interpretation that your immediate manager is having.

What i suggest is for you to check your employment contract on the probation terms, then clarify with your HR. The warranty period for candidate is between the recruitment agency and your company and should not be taken as a reflection of your probation period unless otherwise inked on your employment contract.

There are some companies that adjust probation period according to the guarantee period of candidate but that is on the pretext that it is reflected in the employment contract.

shodan99

just to clarify. Is the probation period in your employment contract stated clearly? if yes, then that is the period you should take reference to.

sometimes hiring managers have very "unique" and "funny" interpretation of things that does not align with the company's policy. Do not misdirect your anger towards recruiters or HR as it may just be the willful interpretation that your immediate manager is having.

What i suggest is for you to check your employment contract on the probation terms, then clarify with your HR. The warranty period for candidate is between the recruitment agency and your company and should not be taken as a reflection of your probation period unless otherwise inked on your employment contract.

There are some companies that adjust probation period according to the guarantee period of candidate but that is on the pretext that it is reflected in the employment contract.
It is not stated in the employment contract that probation is 6 months. there is nothing on probation period whats so ever. In this case, I check what is HR policy on this.

matey1982

It is not stated in the employment contract that probation is 6 months. there is nothing on probation period whats so ever. In this case, I check what is HR policy on this.
and what the HR policy say or spell out specifically regarding the probation period?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.