Human Resources FAQ

ZuoMoJiangDe

There are many ways to get rid of employees. If tio pip, I'd use the time to find new job. Why waste each other time.

Sometimes, it's not about performance also. Could also be personality conflict.
Regulations wise, when is the earliest the employer can start posting job ads to look for the replacement?

jinsatkilife

There are many ways to get rid of employees. If tio pip, I'd use the time to find new job. Why waste each other time.

Sometimes, it's not about performance also. Could also be personality conflict.
how to find new job if the background check by new employer will reveal this?

catch 22

shodan99

how to find new job if the background check by new employer will reveal this?

catch 22
Depends bah. Small company don't bother. Bigger companies only verify your job there only. They cannot reveal your performance to your potential employer. Especially if you not applying for c suite job, nobody is interested to dig to deep lah

Refresh99

Guys, it is true that if you gone for 1st interview and you never get back any reply from the company within 3 days regarding next round (2nd interview) it means your chance is gone (For junior position)??? Even though the interviewer say will get back within 2~3 weeks.

Anybody can share your waiting time for interviews (more than 1 round).

shodan99

Guys, it is true that if you gone for 1st interview and you never get back any reply from the company within 3 days regarding next round (2nd interview) it means your chance is gone (For junior position)??? Even though the interviewer say will get back within 2~3 weeks.

Anybody can share your waiting time for interviews (more than 1 round).
Depends on company bah. Some companies make decisions quite fast, civil service probably will take weeks to months

BuffBuffForevaAttached

Today is Labour Day and I was given 2 choices yesterday...​

They asked me to choose whether to be terminated with immediate effect, or volunteer to resign and be given 1 month garden leave.

I'm still on probation and it supposedly ends in June. But for the past few months there's been quite a lot of friction with the people in power and that is why I'm getting kicked out. But actually the friction only exist within the direct/adjacent team, and I believe it is just this few people who are incompetent, incapable and not up for the challenge that I'm having sparks fly with. Because, I've been consistently opposing their 'established' (aka legacy, outdated, inefficient) ways of working, and proposing newer, better ways that can benefit not just me, but everyone else, if they are willing to adopt it and make it the new SOP. I'm doing that because that is what I would have done by default (just based on my character) anyway, and also because that is what the leadership/higher management has been advocating/pushing for.

"Everyone should have the courage and grit/persistence to not settle for mediocrity and bureaucracy"
That is a quote from one of the senior leader that I'm trying to live by, but it's just real sad that the "mediocrity and bureaucracy" happens to be the middle management that is managing me, which lead to the current situation of me getting the boot. They are just unreceptive and unwilling to change, citing "there's no need to reinvent the wheel" as an excuse for inaction. And when I try to "motivate" them to budge, they get upset and tell me to just follow their silly old ways instead. I have asked for a reason, multiple times actually, but even after that they still can't give a reason for that necessity (of using "their way") and why they are so insistent about it.

So I refused to bow to that nonsense, and they used that point as a show non-compliance/defiance to get me in trouble.

Happy Labour Day!?

BuffBuffForevaAttached

They asked me to choose whether to be terminated with immediate effect, or volunteer to resign and be given 1 month garden leave.

I'm still on probation and it supposedly ends in June. But for the past few months there's been quite a lot of friction with the people in power and that is why I'm getting kicked out. But actually the friction only exist within the direct/adjacent team, and I believe it is just this few people who are incompetent, incapable and not up for the challenge that I'm having sparks fly with. Because, I've been consistently opposing their 'established' (aka legacy, outdated, inefficient) ways of working, and proposing newer, better ways that can benefit not just me, but everyone else, if they are willing to adopt it and make it the new SOP. I'm doing that because that is what I would have done by default (just based on my character) anyway, and also because that is what the leadership/higher management has been advocating/pushing for.

"Everyone should have the courage and grit/persistence to not settle for mediocrity and bureaucracy"
That is a quote from one of the senior leader that I'm trying to live by, but it's just real sad that the "mediocrity and bureaucracy" happens to be the middle management that is managing me, which lead to the current situation of me getting the boot. They are just unreceptive and unwilling to change, citing "there's no need to reinvent the wheel" as an excuse for inaction. And when I try to "motivate" them to budge, they get upset and tell me to just follow their silly old ways instead. I have asked for a reason, multiple times actually, but even after that they still can't give a reason for that necessity (of using "their way") and why they are so insistent about it.

So I refused to bow to that nonsense, and they used that point as a show non-compliance/defiance to get me in trouble.

Happy Labour Day!?
If you somehow can have a third choice, what will you choose?

BuffBuffForevaAttached

686ecd7d6847a049e95dd76592d763a3.jpg

kazuki666

are u like a kid 1st time working?

just move on
Sorry if it's real, but it sounds like a good story for media attention. A laojiao will know to avoid giving opinion and actually even hoping to change a company's culture unless you are "the one". If you are a day to day dispensable, why would your views mean anything at the expense of the seniors who may be are indeed less capable as you. Sometimes it's not about working hard or working smart even. It's survival EQ.

dilphinus

Sorry if it's real, but it sounds like a good story for media attention. A laojiao will know to avoid giving opinion and actually even hoping to change a company's culture unless you are "the one". If you are a day to day dispensable, why would your views mean anything at the expense of the seniors who may be are indeed less capable as you. Sometimes it's not about working hard or working smart even. It's survival EQ.
Even top management wants to make changes, will also slowly make. Unless want/ok to fire the entire current batch of people.

BuffBuffForevaAttached

In chinese this is called 明哲保身(https://dictionary.writtenchinese.com/worddetail/mingzhebaoshen/219691/2/2), which honestly is a rather cowardly move that many have learned to adopt out of fear, and maybe the local culture instilled by the system.

It is a huge reason why things can't change for the better and people are suffering for whatever.

Oppa380

Some things nvr change
The worst I feel is incompetent people at top level positions and won’t leave even though their department is losing money
They are supposed to be busiest during weekend and they do not work cos weekend off

Really a joke to hire them

Milodrink

Some things nvr change
The worst I feel is incompetent people at top level positions and won’t leave even though their department is losing money
They are supposed to be busiest during weekend and they do not work cos weekend off

Really a joke to hire them

12k job usually just mouth work nia.

2k job do real work till die.

Oppa380

12k job usually just mouth work nia.

2k job do real work till die.
The fact is 12k job ideas are good but don’t bring in the money
End up waste money and isn’t sacked
Really jialat man
If fire 12k job, can save money

ZETMAN

Happy Labour Day!?
Hope that you have success in your job search.

Here are some of the points that comes to mind.

1. if you are a fresh grad new to the workforce, welcome to the harsh reality. There are always incompetency existing in all parts of organization. If they are abundance, then u need to accept that the culture of the company is just the way it is. If they are minorities, you need to recognize that they are survivors and either they have their ways or they have someone in the management that is behind them allowing for their existence. easier to remove u than the old timers whom are slackers

2.Regardless of your beliefs, the world doesnt revolves around the greater good concept and drive for efficiency is not the priority of everyone. Ppl may pay lip service and say that they are all in for it, but everyone has their agenda. Your idea for efficiency can very well be interpreted by someone whom views it as a threat to their job and in turn their survival. For the manager(s) above them, this can be read as undermining their authority and in layman term touching their pie. neither the manager nor the employee will react kindly to this.

3. Whichever senior leader's quote u live by, let me break it to you, unless he/she wield enough power, even he/she will be displaced for introducing changes, they will not risk their own career and stick their head out for u just because u bought into their quotes or beliefs since it doesnt benefit them nor further their own agendas in anyway. Lets face it, even if the biggest shot in the company e.g. CEO or MD buys into this, unless u have track records under ur belt in this company, they will not back u up and even if they did, it can change just because it suits their agenda better. U went in with gun blazing trying to change the world is not workable unless u own the company or ur father own the company. even if it is ur father's company, ur father can kick you out once he feels that u become too much of a trouble to have around.

I hate to break it to you but ur naivety of improvement for the greater good is going to hurt u in more ways than it helps if u dont keep it under control. u rush in too fast and furious and to others, u r a problem rather than a change leader.

KnobKnob

Happy Labour Day!?
Lol don't expect changes so fast one. If your dept too many old timers, you should friend friend with them first then they will listen.

You suddenly introduce wholesale changes, what does it mean for them? Means they have been slacking for years? You new bird can do everything? Like that management actually don't need them? They will feel threatened right?

Old timers always very concerned about job security one. Go any company all the same, there's a reason why they can stay so long at same company. One clear reason is resistance or not willing to try new things.

But you already go wrong step in the first few months. Better just run and don't include this role in resume

lamer

Received an offer with 25% increment with a heavier workload and lesser benefits, for eg. lesser leaves by 5 days.

Is it wise to talk to my current manager first to match the offer or just submit resignation straight away, hopping the current company will counter-offer?

Please advise

dilphinus

Received an offer with 25% increment with a heavier workload and lesser benefits, for lesser leaves by 5 days.

Is it wise to talk to my current manager first to match the offer or just submit resignation straight away, hopping the current company will counter-offer?

Please advise
You want to stay then open golden mouth to talk.

ZETMAN

Received an offer with 25% increment with a heavier workload and lesser benefits, for eg. lesser leaves by 5 days.

Please advise
I hold the principle that good horse no eat return head grass. think about what really matters to you. then make your decision accordingly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.