Human Resources FAQ

RunningDwaeji

Received an offer with 25% increment with a heavier workload and lesser benefits, for eg. lesser leaves by 5 days.

Is it wise to talk to my current manager first to match the offer or just submit resignation straight away, hopping the current company will counter-offer?

Please advise
When you have a bigger load, lease AL makes it worse. However it doesnt comes with nothing, financially you will be stronger to do more with the extra cash.

You should thing and sit on it for a week to check your priorities and long term goals before making a decision to leave or stay (with a talk on package).

Hello, is it reasonable/normal for employment contract for a regular office job to state that you have to pay them 1 month salary as compensation if you are to be terminated (due to a number of vaguely defined conditions)?

jack-320

Hello, is it reasonable/normal for employment contract for a regular office job to state that you have to pay them 1 month salary as compensation if you are to be terminated (due to a number of vaguely defined conditions)?
Well you use your logic

why still pay them compensation when you are terminated by company?

shouldn’t the company be paying you compensation instead when they terminate your employment

Well you use your logic

why still pay them compensation when you are terminated by company?

shouldn’t the company be paying you compensation instead when they terminate your employment
Of course my logic says this is BS, that's why I'm asking for opinions here.

The coy's logic says this :
Liable to pay a sum equal to One (01) month salary being a genuine pre-estimate of the loss the Company will suffer on the basis of a reasonable amount of time, effort and costs invested on you as a part of our elaborate and strategic training program for your employment with the Company, in addition to serving the One (01) month Notice Period after the probation period or one (01) month notice during the probation period .

jack-320

Liable to pay a sum equal to One (01) month salary being a genuine pre-estimate of the loss the Company will suffer on the basis of a reasonable amount of time, effort and costs invested on you as a part of our elaborate and strategic training program for your employment with the Company, in addition to serving the One (01) month Notice Period after the probation period or one (01) month notice during the probation period .
You may need to consult lawyer regarding the legality of this

But

Based on what i worked in the past

Company hiring cost should not be bore by employees

This is very clear cut

That being the case

Why still consider to confirm sign such company’s employment contract

Company wants to gian png on saving employment, training cost

You think this company is going to give you better job prospect?

You may need to consult lawyer regarding the legality of this

But

Based on what i worked in the past

Company hiring cost should not be bore by employees

This is very clear cut

That being the case

Why still consider to confirm sign such company’s employment contract

Company wants to gian png on saving employment, training cost

You think this company is going to give you better job prospect?
I'm trying to nego for that clause to be removed, that's why. Got job better than no job. Ride donkey find horse first.

And this is a coy that recruit people then "second" to other companies, so funny patterns like this seems like "normal" for them.

dilphinus

How elaborated is their training program? They pay you salary and all inclusive for months of training overseas?

If not, avoid this company like the plague.

dilphinus

I'm trying to nego for that clause to be removed, that's why. Got job better than no job. Ride donkey find horse first.

And this is a coy that recruit people then "second" to other companies, so funny patterns like this seems like "normal" for them.
This type of company is no better offer cannot join kind.

How elaborated is their training program? They pay you salary and all inclusive for months of training overseas?

If not, avoid this company like the plague.
Its not mentioned but probably just normal OJT and xinjiao follow laojiao "training". it's a 1 year contract only lol.

Nightscapez

Hello, asking a question.

I notice period is 1 month notice.
So my company is base on month instead of days.
Like if i tender on 2nd feb, my last working day will be 1st march.

i got reservist on 15th to 26th july.
i wish to tender so my company cover the reservist period.
So i intend to tender on 16th at first (sunday), i spoke with MOM they say can tender any date even non working day or public holiday, it start counting from that day.
So my last working day is 15th, then due to reservist it got push back to next working day 29th July.
But my HR refuse to, she say she will shortern my notice period by 1 day so pay me until 14th instead.

I ask around, they say company can do so. So they advice me to tender next tuesday instead, since monday is public holiday. so i tender on 18th, last working day is 17th.
HR either have to pay me 3 working date to release me earlier (and pay me due to reduce notice period)
or
i come back and serve last 3 days in 29th 30th 31st july and i got company pay during reservist.
Is this correct?

My new workplace start date is 1st august.
Almost wanted to complain to tripartite, but my friend say technically not wrong as long as they pay me for reducing my notice period.

Nightscapez

why dont u tender on 26 Jun?
because under MOM reservist is not consider as notice period.
If i tender on 26th june, will kena my reservist and my company can make me work 2 more weeks to pay back, which overlap my new job starting in 1st august.

if i tender too early like 16th 17th 18th, my company can choose to "pay me to shorten my notice period" so they dont pay me for entire reservist period.

so its kinda suck depend on my company want to play out now.

technically the most ideal situation is i tender on 16th june, then last working day hit 15th july which is first day of my reservist period. so they need push back my last working day to 29th. but it seem my company dont want, they rather pay me 1 extra day to shorten it.

Nightscapez

actually when u go reservist, its the army/SAF that pay ur company leh

why they so niao?

in the contract, got clause to pay u to shorten notice?

just 2 weeks of pay, maybe take the L or complain to SAF/MOM if they enforce clause to shorten, keep all black n white, record whatever convo u have
Correct.
So they want to niao on this cause
1) HR dont want to do the claim process
2) They reduce my headcount faster so can faster post hiring for new post also

contract no clause but my hr friend say its not cannot its subject to them

Cometdevil

Correct.
So they want to niao on this cause
1) HR dont want to do the claim process
2) They reduce my headcount faster so can faster post hiring for new post also

contract no clause but my hr friend say its not cannot its subject to them
The aim of notice period is to be fair for company to look for replacement and work handover. If they don't need that extra day, why do they have to pay you if you already leaving.

I think it's fair for them to cut short that 1 day

Nightscapez

The aim of notice period is to be fair for company to look for replacement and work handover. If they don't need that extra day, why do they have to pay you if you already leaving.

I think it's fair for them to cut short that 1 day
ya technically notice period stated on contract clearly means its like this, cannot suka suka.
now is they want to suka suka just to avoid doing the reservist pay process

Readingbooks

ya technically notice period stated on contract clearly means its like this, cannot suka suka.
now is they want to suka suka just to avoid doing the reservist pay process
But then you are the one that initiated the voluntary termination process, so the notice period is for them and not you?
I.e if you want to shorten your notice you need to pay up, but there is no need for them to pay up to shorten your notice?
End of the day, you play punk by trying to squeeze in reservist during one month notice, they play punk by ensuring you got no pay during reservist.
Play stupid game, win stupid prizes i guess?

Nightscapez

not play punk bro.
they ask me to leave since my role is being replace by vendor.
and threaten verbally if i dont leave will PIP me using lame excuse like excel not align not up to standard.

and why is it playing punk when its all legally correct and i follow the process under mom guideline?
company lose nothing since govt pay back the salary.

btw under contract term, if they shorten my notice period they suppose to pay for the day shorten, its legally under mom law too.

maybe you can post after reading up the law?
instead of being keyboard warrior since you do not understand anything and trying to act smart?
are you trying to say serving NS is a playing punk method? You can contact mindef and say that?
what you are implying is "Singaporean who serve ns and resign during this period is playing punk, they are NOT ALLOW TO RESIGN at all during this period, its playing punk" lol.

Readingbooks

not play punk bro.
they ask me to leave since my role is being replace by vendor.
and threaten verbally if i dont leave will PIP me using lame excuse like excel not align not up to standard.

and why is it playing punk when its all legally correct and i follow the process under mom guideline?
company lose nothing since govt pay back the salary.

btw under contract term, if they shorten my notice period they suppose to pay for the day shorten, its legally under mom law too.

maybe you can post after reading up the law?
instead of being keyboard warrior since you do not understand anything and trying to act smart?
are you trying to say serving NS is a playing punk method? You can contact mindef and say that?
what you are implying is "Singaporean who serve ns and resign during this period is playing punk, they are NOT ALLOW TO RESIGN at all during this period, its playing punk" lol.
While i disagree with you playing with words and equating with what i said as being against NS, i do acknowledge you have an errant employer. There are two sides of the coin but we leave that aside. I wish you best of luck and all the best for your next job.

sacrificium

Walao, don't anyhow la

Now is company want cut short notice period and pay in lieu. Op don't want to agree to this and don't want shorten notice period
Either party can choose to pay the notice period. Employee can choose to shorten by paying the notice period, same for employer.

sacrificium

Anyone knows how to report to MOM any possible contravention of MOM regulations like Employment Pass etc

Also, is a company liable to be sued if they terminate the employment of someone with mental health (self proclaimed without doctor's report) and that is affecting work quality and hours?
Company claimed that the person has mental health and is affecting the person’s work? I don’t think companies can do that without getting employees to be certified by a doctor.

sacrificium

Received an offer with 25% increment with a heavier workload and lesser benefits, for eg. lesser leaves by 5 days.

Is it wise to talk to my current manager first to match the offer or just submit resignation straight away, hopping the current company will counter-offer?

Please advise
If you want them to match, then talk to them first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.