I am an average sinkie. I don't own a car. HDB fully paid. I don't have credit cards. I have cash and I am happy. Cos I am debt free.

Laneige

Is he EDMW role model?
No
Nowadays many new citizens pr buy private
Meanwhile sg ones still in comfort zones
That’s what agent said because sg citizens still trapped by our own small small world of how hdb Shld be n how it’s v unaffordable

kenpachi82

The big problem with people is,

They use 20s, 30s, 40s' mindset to think of retirement in their 60s and 70s.

What make you all think you still want to find chicken, travel, eat ATAS $100 per meal food in your 60s and 70s?

Spend enough time with old people and you'd understand most of these things doesn't matter anymore at their stage.

By this age you have already screwed enough, ate more good food than ever and been to places you wanted to.

Even if you want to, your body can't take it anymore. That kind of food will kill you faster in your 60s and 70s and when your tastebud wane... you can't even taste the difference from $100 food and $1.00 bread.

This is the reason why most old people doesn't actually spend that much, lesser than what we youngsters are made to believe.
This is well said.
Urge more folks to read this passage.

PongRareRare

Knew this type of argument will come up. I wrote so much you pick and chose your battle? I mentioned ultimately QUALITY OF LIFE. I was merely listing some examples of what quality of life is about to some. And btw you can explore art or music before/without retiring.
I don’t think I pick and choose. Weren’t you focusing on lavish life? Your definition of quality of life is to spend without much thinking when retire, I assume?
What I am focusing on is time, time to do whatever instead of having money to do whatever. Of cos provided already have a min amount that person think he/she needs to spend.

Sammychan

I don’t think I pick and choose. Weren’t you focusing on lavish life? Your definition of quality of life is to spend without much thinking when retire, I assume?
What I am focusing on is time, time to do whatever instead of having money to do whatever. Of cos provided already have a min amount that person think he/she needs to spend.
I focused on so many things and you pick LAVISHLY to argue against? Argue against quality lifestyle. And btw who don want to live lavishly? Except those who can't afford to? Those who say they dont are lying. Are you lying? Don like that lah. People will just see you as cant eat grape say grape sour. Time we all know but how u spend ur time? Cho bo lan all day? Go shopping all day? Come on we all work so hard cos we want to achieve financial freedom. No?

Sammychan

My point is if you cho bo lan pa game or ride scooter when you retired is the same as someone who drives bmw and really enjoying life lavishly. It is the same. Lots of freedom so lets not argue against that. Where it differs is the QUALITY OF LIVING. Are you an advocator of low quality of living? If yes good for u but i do not think we should aspire to be that level. Cheers and i wish you every happiness in life.

codemasterguy

You can play games with freedom anytime. No need to do after retirement?
Its different mah. If i do not need to work, i can play game non-stop without anyone making noises. Sleep-wakeup-games-eat-****, and repeat. Start the game from beginning until the end. Blast out the volume, use big monitor and aircon, play couple of days non-stop. Super Shiok.

Sammychan

Its different mah. If i do not need to work, i can play game non-stop without anyone making noises. Sleep-wakeup-games-eat-****, and repeat. Start the game from beginning until the end. Blast out the volume, use big monitor and aircon, play couple of days non-stop. Super Shiok.
Good for u bro play hard

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.