I just got promoted to VP in my company

dambio

Is it time for me to 躺平? Worked so hard the last 3 years. Day and night nonstop. Feel like cruising for a bit now
If u can skiv at work type lor. Plus workload can always push to subordinates. Then u just claim credit.

shodan99

Be realistic lah. Not sure how many work in positions that are not entry level. The higher you climb, the more responsibilities. How can it possibly be true that you can lie flat in those positions.

Typically, positions with reporting structure means you need to review and approve work for those working under you. That is on top of your area of responsibility also. Got issue, you handle not your staff leh. Want to lie flat, just remain low level better. When sh** hit the fan, they tank, not you

LetHerGo

Still quite good lah… at least got $170-190k PA. Lose to edmw average pay but can have decent lifestyle
Yup with a good performance and bonus, should reach 250k annually.
Anyway just suck all the money u can, banks can be ruthless when it comes to cutting or retrenchment.
That's what I learned in my current bank.

identity_1991

Though a lot VP in bank but at 34yo can climb to this quite satki and good life already. Can share how you did it? Are you on graduate fast track program?
Nope. I was a normal acad student. Not straight As student. Diploma then took private degree. I would attribute it to connections ba. My last job and this job I got in through referral.

imnuts-

Gxgx ts

You in sales role? VP at your age for a non sales role is almost non existent:s22:

dreamcast18

Is it time for me to 躺平? Worked so hard the last 3 years. Day and night nonstop. Feel like cruising for a bit now
Word of advice from lao unker...

Go for big salary..not title. I often advise my mentees...call me janitor I also ok, as long as pay me big $$$....can call me anything .

For example, I have junior folks earning more than their direct manager in my team...cuz they have specialized skills. So title and role are secondary to 'show me the money'.

Another advice when negotiations for FSI job...go for big fix salary component...variable bonus don't bother. The days of 6-12 months bonus are long gone for most. I had to rebalance so much for my team to make sure their total comp don't drop.

Both my FSI's have no P or VP or the ******** AVP. It's a very local thing...quite meaningless. Good luck!

ahboy82

The fact you know means you also at this level. So your life is set too?
Cos I gt close frens both in local n foreign bank so I noe roughly how much loh. I might have been outdated.

Moi is Lowest among moi frens. Enter wrong industry no hope liao:(

IAmChiobu12M

Cos I gt close frens both in local n foreign bank so I noe roughly how much loh. I might have been outdated.

Moi is Lowest among moi frens. Enter wrong industry no hope liao:(
Chiu have high ses friends means you not that low ses. And you keep never say what you work as and your pay. How to believe you. Maybe your lowest is my highest ceiling that I can't even achieve leh.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.