I Survived CNY! Starting Work Tomorrow!

zeebrugge

Nobody came visiting yesterday on CNY Day 1. I thought everything is safe, but on CNY Day 2 my uncles and their families came visiting.

A little background: I was admitted to IMH a few years ago and was diagnosed with bipolar and now schizoaffective disorder. I have been unable to secure a full time job and so I freelanced as a part-time undertaker while also helping out with my family business. I don't have a stable income, no wife, no house, no children, no car, no credit card, no this, no that.

I am quite grateful that my visiting relatives gave me angbaos. It's the only good thing about being single at 43 years old. I did my best to put up with their idle chatter, smiling and laughing whenever I could.

One of my toxic uncles asked me why don't I go to Germany and work as a toilet cleaner, they will pay me $3000 per month. The comment was so random, I didn't know how to react, so I laughed.

Actually I respect toilet cleaners a lot, it's literally a sh1t job which many people don't want to do. I still remember washing the toilet as a conscript at Tekong BMTC, it was tough. I am glad that these days you can earn quite a lot via Skillsfuture SG support going for reskilling as a toilet cleaner here in Singapore, so you don't need to go to Germany to work as a toilet cleaner to earn a decent income. I salute toilet cleaners.

Eventually my relatives left, and I felt relieved that the damage done was under control. I had successfully kept the show going despite having an income of only around $500 - $750 per month as a freelancer and part-timer. I find it quite sad that these days I have nothing to show off, but well, I did survive the Chinese New Year once again, and I am thankful.

I started work on a part-time project already, tomorrow I am going to resume my work and continue to earn some money to pay some bills.

Nothing to show off. Strange. I feel happier than those who have everything more than I do and they had to put in even more effort than me to convince me that they are richer than me. I kept my thoughts to myself, I was paid an ang bao by each relative to keep my mouth shut and listen to them boast, and I did my job, so I guess I had earned my angbaos after all.

Thank you for not giving me a hard time.

XcoVar

I'm glad you are happy, tats what matter most, the rest are just noise. Am not too lucky as caught a flu on 1st day of CNY, feelin kinda miserable with cough, running nose and a fever. Hopefully, can recover tml.

Woof24

I enjoyed reading your post. Gave me a good chuckle. Hope all is well eventually for you TS.

Honeydewz

Back to the same old routine

475201253_1131833248315499_4931709485710769083_n.jpg

Nevereatrice

If im jj lin can imagine life sibei song for a 40s on top of the world
Multiple properties in twn and sg maybe even hk. Want go where go where
Abundance of $$$ and time
Sleep until natural wake up everyday
Huge source of Passive income
Everyday go relax
Whole world looking up to u everywhere u go

Nuclear Boy

I'm glad you are happy, tats what matter most, the rest are just noise. Am not too lucky as caught a flu on 1st day of CNY, feelin kinda miserable with cough, running nose and a fever. Hopefully, can recover tml.
This is why I wore a mask when I went to attempt IPPT a few weeks ago. Sure enough, plenty of ppl around were coughing openly. I kena cold/flu during CNY when I was younger, so I was keen not to have a repeat.

Nuclear Boy

TS, good to see you still have the drive to keep going despite what you have going on. Can't say the same for myself...

PaprikaSG

TS, you dun need to show off anything to anyone.

As long as you are happy with your life, who cares what others say about you? They dun pay your bills.

Always think positively.

Money no have

If im jj lin can imagine life sibei song for a 40s on top of the world
Multiple properties in twn and sg maybe even hk. Want go where go where
Abundance of $$$ and time
Sleep until natural wake up everyday
Huge source of Passive income
Everyday go relax
Whole world looking up to u everywhere u go
Whats jj lin net worth?

Ethan_

Think higher income local already can get. Need to work hospital. Good rate.

Ethan_

Anyway, think if just alone, 一人吃饱全家不饿. Then no need work as hard like the rest one. Enough for own self spending can already. What others want to say let them say.

Those that married especially, they have a lot of commitments and debts. Thus they can hao-lian how much they earn, but behind they also kpkb how tough and stressful it is to constantly chase after and meet the debts and commitments. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.