I suspect new citizens are voting

MoyoCase

is suspect so...by now 10% of the electorate should be new citizen yet PAP lost 10%.

iamBBFA

is suspect so...by now 10% of the electorate should be new citizen yet PAP lost 10%.
Wrong cos there are new Citizens vote if not they already lost WC and BB.
This year alot of sinkies vote Opp but new Citizens save lightning.

Sent from Donkey Kong using GAGT

MoyoCase

Wrong cos there are new Citizens vote if not they already lost WC and BB

could be .. but we dont know for sure.. There is 200K increase in electorate number from 2015

Vicodin

I don't have any data on this, but I think it might be a false stereotype to assume that NC will confirm vote PAP. Msia, India and Philippines are all vibrant democracies. If anything they'll have less cultural hesitation than sinkies to vote opposition.

Slowdown

I do believe this statement is closer to the truth than what most think.

I have many friends and colleague who are New Citizen, PR or EP. They have one common theme. Too many people in Singapore. Don't let anymore workers (i.e. lower salary than themselves) to come into the country.

Those who have not make it to our shores, their biggest wish is to be able to land on our shores. Once onboard they want to make sure they can stay. Msian dun want AT, Pinoys and Indians to displace them. Indians dun want Pinoy and Vietnamese to displace them. AT won't want newer AT to displace them.

Only after they arrived that they want the floodgate to be closed. I am referring to those in non management position. Once in management position it is different thought process. They need more lower cost alternative to come because it will make their P&L better.

Don't assume new citizens are thankful to PAP.

MoyoCase

no lah the new citizens is dispersed all over the island one ,.. then how come WP can win senkang GRC , a place where u expect new citizen a lot one..

orwell76

Remember LHL 2016 stand on SCS,a few tiong new citizens I spoked to very dulan this statement, their heart is with CCP on the 9 dash line

MoyoCase

I do believe this statement is closer to the truth than what most think.

I have many friends and colleague who are New Citizen, PR or EP. They have one common theme. Too many people in Singapore. Don't let anymore workers (i.e. lower salary than themselves) to come into the country.

Those who have not make it to our shores, their biggest wish is to be able to land on our shores. Once onboard they want to make sure they can stay. Msian dun want AT, Pinoys and Indians to displace them. Indians dun want Pinoy and Vietnamese to displace them. AT won't want newer AT to displace them.

Only after they arrived that they want the floodgate to be closed. I am referring to those in non management position. Once in management position it is different thought process. They need more lower cost alternative to come because it will make their P&L better.

Don't assume new citizens are thankful to PAP.

i agree with u . last time one FT also told me same thing. he was ****. he said that one of his own **** colleague also against more FT arriving here and supposedly he also a "victim" of this attitude of the new citizen ****.

I beleive it though cos once **** will understand what **** is all about

MoyoCase

I don't have any data on this, but I think it might be a false stereotype to assume that NC will confirm vote PAP. Msia, India and Philippines are all vibrant democracies. If anything they'll have less cultural hesitation than sinkies to vote opposition.

this i agree... just think yrself as new citizen .. if not this GE next one u already woken up.. 5 years to wake up

Whirling_Dervish

Many of my ex JC-class mates who were mainland Chinese turned naturalised Singaporean are pro-establishment. Probably out of gratitude for letting them settle in a country on a full scholarship.

Krabs.

I dun believe

they compare with their backward hometown then they auto grateful for the current status

orhneeorh

every year 20k+ new naturised citizens

that is like 400k new citizen voters over the past 20 years

total number of voters only 2.65 million nia

if the 400k all vote PAP, that is like 17% handicap for the opposition parties in the locally born voters

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.