IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

cscs3

Isn't the Changi Business Park Thinkpad servicing outlet run by IBM still? I know a few guys from there (Thomas, etc) and I always thought they were IBM employees, not Lenono employees.

Is in IBM rented building. But it was never run by IBM since Lenovo took over.

westwest1

Good luck to you. Hope the engineers gets the root of the problem and solve it once and for all.

My set confirm have many problem. Cause I loaded my image of my current system that I save before I pass to the service centre. All is working well sia. Something is seriously wrong with my set. But the wireless issue is still there. Guess I got a lemon set.

shawn_sboi

My set confirm have many problem. Cause I loaded my image of my current system that I save before I pass to the service centre. All is working well sia. Something is seriously wrong with my set. But the wireless issue is still there. Guess I got a lemon set.

Something is wrong. Go escalate the problem and get over it :)

sic_moimoi

hi westwest1,

when u mention about the wiresless issue, do u mean the intermittent connection and reconnection ??? are u using a t410?

i plan to get this ... but if this is a model problem ... i may just go over to macbook pro

ArcticCheetah

hi westwest1,

when u mention about the wiresless issue, do u mean the intermittent connection and reconnection ??? are u using a t410?

i plan to get this ... but if this is a model problem ... i may just go over to macbook pro

Can someone please enlighten him/her about laptops?:s8:
Tired of repeating like a broken tape recorder...:look:

shawn_sboi

hi westwest1,

Westwest1 wireless issue is exactly like what you said. However it may be a batch problem. :) yes he is using T410.

ArcticCheetah

The only time I will say it is a hardware issue is when I clean install the laptop and it doesn't solve the problem...

sic_moimoi

thx ... i was following the thread ... got a bit confuse thou ...

haha t410 looks like a damn good buy from tertiary insitutes.

chowj

thx ... i was following the thread ... got a bit confuse thou ...

haha t410 looks like a damn good buy from tertiary insitutes.

True, but delivery could take some time. Ordered a x201 since end of May but till now no news yet.

sic_moimoi

True, but delivery could take some time. Ordered a x201 since end of May but till now no news yet.

wah ... that is bad ... any idea when u getting ur laptop ??

did they promise when will they deliver?

westwest1

hi westwest1,

its no connection, you have to restart every time you download big size file, else it will DC on its own, sometime 1min, sometime 2hours, know problem, look around the internet. no solution at all.

sic_moimoi

its no connection, you have to restart every time you download big size file, else it will DC on its own, sometime 1min, sometime 2hours, know problem, look around the internet. no solution at all.

hemm .. hope u can get a replacement soon ...

westwest1

Westwest1 wireless issue is exactly like what you said. However it may be a batch problem. :) yes he is using T410.

The only time I will say it is a hardware issue is when I clean install the laptop and it doesn't solve the problem...

yes... confirmed... Batch issue, my image i save and load onto the loaner set all working now. even the xp mode is working. I think its got to do with the TPM chip i activated had the problem. cause before that the whole system was working fine, execpt for the wireless. Thats the reason for the multiple issue.

going to suggest to them to exchange the board of my loaner set with my own set, cause this board damn stable.

shawn_sboi

yes... confirmed... Batch issue, my image i save and load onto the loaner set all working now. even the xp mode is working. I think its got to do with the TPM chip i activated had the problem. cause before that the whole system was working fine, execpt for the wireless. Thats the reason for the multiple issue.

going to suggest to them to exchange the board of my loaner set with my own set, cause this board damn stable.

TPM chip? u meant the intel security one? or the fingerprint security? hardware security?

ginseng1

Have you people tried the wireless USB adaptor that I had suggested earlier?

Give it a try and see whether it DC.

ArcticCheetah

TPM=Trusted Platform Module.
Suppose to add to the bits when you enter a password to increase encryption complexity.

gohkhm

was gonna get a T410 , but after reading the last 5 pages , i think i better get a X201 instead. :eek:

Its not that bad lah...a lot of people still using T410 without problems. I have sold several units and fortunately none DOA or had any issues, so have yet to hear any compaints so far. But if you want to really minimise any potential problems, then yah a T410s is a good model to look out for, but may be a bit steep depending on your budget. You just missed a good deal recently where I sold one set with i5,switchable,512mb discrete,4gb,128ssd,dvd,14.1" and 3 years warranty + ADP for 2.9k

X201 is also a very good model, extremely light and long battery life, but not very good graphics performer.

Let me know if you need anything. :)

westwest1

Have you people tried the wireless USB adaptor that I had suggested earlier?

Give it a try and see whether it DC.

bro... I hate to be rude, but what is the purpose?

It have nothing to do with the on board wireless system. even if it does not dc, it does not show whether the card is working or not. Cause its a totally different wireless system.

unless u can advise us what does this test will show with regards to thinkpad system. than maybe its worth to give it a try. cause buying a extra usb card is out of the question. and its not supplied by Lenovo.

no point borrowing a usb card cause its even harder to find from friends, its 10 times easier to find a WWAN card.

gohkhm

yes... confirmed... Batch issue

Hi Westwest1, really sorry to see you going through all this. At least there's some progress now that you have isolated the problem. Did they mention anything on how to identify which batch the T410 is from to preempt the problem? So that other T410 owners can check?

westwest1

Hi Westwest1, really sorry to see you going through all this. At least there's some progress now that you have isolated the problem. Did they mention anything on how to identify which batch the T410 is from to preempt the problem? So that other T410 owners can check?

Thanks bro, figuring out this problem with a loan set really help confirmed its batch issue.

Actually, i think non of your customer are using Client security solution ver8 (CSS), because its not pre installed. only the password manager is installed by default in the image.

in order to have the CSS running, they first MUST uninstall password manager, then only they can install the CSS properly.

only from there, they can activate the TPM. from there they can setup the Single Sign On function (SSO). because I setup lock for the whole system, cause in case I ever loose my laptop, i dun think i want people to be able to view anything confidence that I might have at this point of time

I dun think many people is using my method of turning on thinkpad. Which I swipe my finger on the fingerprint reader, the Laptop will power on and log onto windows on its own. Even my dell E6400 needs to press the power on button before i can do SSO

With regards to the batch that having the problem. Lenovo still have no gotten back to me on anything yet. Going to call them on monday again...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.