IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

dasanyuan

Hi Goh, my T410's warranty should last for 4 years as I bought it from my poly's roadshow. However, the website shows that the warranty expires in 2013 .

Type: 2539
Model: A12
S/N: R91T3RL

Thanks !

This product has a special bid four year limited warranty. This product is entitled to parts, labor and on-site repair service (9x5 next business day) in approved locations. Thinkpad batteries have a one year warranty.

gohkhm

@ cstrikecz - Haha sorry, can't help you much here. You need to check with Thinkclub on this issue where you purchased the unit from. I recall some posts back that they take a while to update the system, so maybe you can wait a little more.

@dasanyuan - Bro, can I ask you for a favor? I'm missing a small screw for the LCD panel for my T61p, the one that is at the middle bottom of the screen beside the indicator lights. Was wondering if you will be kind enough to take the time from your busy schedule to mail me one. Haha....I can send you a prepaid envelope too. I would be eternally grateful for your assistance. :)

gohkhm

dont.... save up for x301... ownz every other thinkpad... :p

Are you using a T410s? I agree X301 is a looker, but no power lah. Still running on Core 2 Duo and no discrete graphics. Something which I need for my line of work, furthermore I tend to play games too...haha

I really cannot swallow the price lah...for that same amount, I can get a full-fledged W701 with 2 x HDD Raid, CUDA 96 bit discrete graphics + WWAN leh :s13:

westwest1

Woah...T410s now comes with discrete graphics, 128SSD, WWAN...cool. :p~~~~

Tempted to get one myself, but 2k+ dent to my wallet and figuring what to do with my existing T61p is a problem. Haiz...

turn it into a movie machine and attached it to your LCD TV. u can watch all the streaming movie from PPStream and PPlive with your T61p, while u use your T410s to do work.:D

gohkhm

turn it into a movie machine and attached it to your LCD TV. u can watch all the streaming movie from PPStream and PPlive with your T61p, while u use your T410s to do work.:D

Aww man....now you are really tempting me....cannot....resist....urgh...

dasanyuan

dun play game on thinkpad la. so heartache... haha i try to see if i can get a bag of screws for u. all the screws. alright? no promises. 1 screw damn lame. wanna get, get all the screws ma. haha

gohkhm

dun play game on thinkpad la. so heartache... haha i try to see if i can get a bag of screws for u. all the screws. alright? no promises. 1 screw damn lame. wanna get, get all the screws ma. haha

Wah...really thanks for your help. What is your address? I'll send over some stamps + envelope. Can PM me. Much appreciated!

Kenshin79

Thanks Goh for the speedy reply,

was hoping to find a face to face shop rather than dealing with ebay sellers.
At the very least, I can save on the days waiting for the package to reach me.

guess I have to go to the ebay sellers then.

you can actually get from authorized Lenovo stores.
AddOn in Funan has the stocks for Gobi 2000. Bought @ $269.
they will charge an installation and testing fee if you are not getting it with a brand new notebook from them.

Kenshin79

the new T410s have different specs in the market, but the main retail model has:

i5-540M 2.53GHz, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA+, nVidia Quadro NVS3100M 512MB switchable graphics (to Intel GMA X5700HD), Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Gbit LAN, Webcam, Fingerprint Reader, mediacard reader, Win7 Pro 32bit, 6cell battery, 3 years warranty.
selling @ $3199

got 2 sets recently at work, very nice machine, very speedy respond. for those who have the $$$ and prefer something lighter than T410, this is the choice!

@ dasanyuan - thinkpad can play some games one la... just tat recently they dun put very high end graphics inside T series.

Still like my old T42p with ATI FireGL T2 128MB... really solid graphics even till today but the old Pentium M cpu cant make it le haha

dasanyuan

wat i hope is that they change the processor for x3++ series up the ssd to higher capacity more ram, better grahpics & of course lower the ***** price... SLEEK man. u know... SLEEEEEK!!

minus48v

t510 models

I am confused about the different T510 models: 43842MA, 4384RZ8 & 4384AQ1

All the same price and only listed different is in the Wi-fi. What am I missing??

43842MA
ThinkPad T510
SG$2,399.00*

Intel® Core™ i5-520M Processor ( 2.40GHz 1066MHz 3MB )
Genuine Windows 7 Professional 32
Intel HD Graphics
2 GB PC3-8500 DDR3 SDRAM 1066MHz
15.6 " HD AntiGlare 1366x768
500GB 7200
ThinkPad 11b/g/n Wi-Fi wireless
DVD Recordable (Dual Layer)
Bluetooth Version 2.1 + EDR
Fingerprint Reader
Three year
UltraNav (TrackPoint and Multi-touch TouchPad)
6 Cell Lithium-Ion
---------
4384RZ8
ThinkPad T510
SG$2,399.00*
Intel HD Graphics
500GB 7200
ThinkPad 11b/g/n Wi-Fi wireless
Fingerprint Reader
Three year
6 Cell Lithium-Ion
-------------------
4384AQ1
ThinkPad T510
SG$2,399.00*

Intel HD Graphics
500GB 7200
Intel Wireless Wi-Fi Link 1000
Fingerprint Reader
Three year
6 Cell Lithium-Ion

shawn_sboi

you can actually get from authorized Lenovo stores.
AddOn in Funan has the stocks for Gobi 2000. Bought @ $269.
they will charge an installation and testing fee if you are not getting it with a brand new notebook from them.

Wa so expensive? $269.... like that i rather spend on others.

cobalt

X201 and Acer 4740G

I am very tempted to purchase the x201 due to its portablity and slim design.I notice the offer for poly staff with the specs are great .Any idea on the clarity image on the 2mp webcam compare to the acer 4740G webcam which is superbly clear.

Kenshin79

thinkpad wwan is always that type of price. $269 is reasonable le, at least for sg retail stores. frankly, i am not sure if it has to do with IDA or what, all the integrated WWAN modules are damn expensive in SG regardless of brand...

some shops even dare to tell me $300+ and still need to order somemore.

Kenshin79

I am confused about the different T510 models: 43842MA, 4384RZ8 & 4384AQ1

All the same price and only listed different is in the Wi-fi. What am I missing??

you are not missing anything.
ThinkPads are corporate models which can come packaged with different Wi-Fi card due to certain industrial needs and applications. the Intel branded ones may not be supported in certain areas and its performance is definitely not the best around. some companies need Cisco wireless for certain security setup.

Kenshin79

I am very tempted to purchase the x201 due to its portablity and slim design.I notice the offer for poly staff with the specs are great .Any idea on the clarity image on the 2mp webcam compare to the acer 4740G webcam which is superbly clear.

i havent seen the acer webcam but the webcams on ThinkPads are all pretty decent and good enough for msn, skype etc. on a sidenote, comparing X201 to 4740G is like comparing apple and mango... very different notebooks in terms of size and build.

the X201 is perhaps one of the most solid and longest battery life ultraportable for laptops. i personally like Sony Z and TT series too, but in terms of durability ThinkPad X series are very much top-notch.

Kenshin79

wat i hope is that they change the processor for x3++ series up the ssd to higher capacity more ram, better grahpics & of course lower the ***** price... SLEEK man. u know... SLEEEEEK!!

based on current situation, they may even discontinue the X3++ series... the T400s, T410s really killed the X301 in terms of almost everything except mass. for less than a inch and 200grams more AND cheaper, T400s, T410s really put X301 to shame...

ahtea

Wa so expensive? $269.... like that i rather spend on others.
Sadly speaking, was told by one of the vendors when I wanted to add a PCI-e WWAN card to my Thinkpad, Thinkpads only work with Lenovo certified WWAN cards.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.