IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

ahtea

thinkpad wwan is always that type of price. $269 is reasonable le, at least for sg retail stores. frankly, i am not sure if it has to do with IDA or what, all the integrated WWAN modules are damn expensive in SG regardless of brand...

some shops even dare to tell me $300+ and still need to order somemore.
I do not think it is due to IDA or whatsoever. More of the demand and supply issue. Such cards are rather rare in Singapore's market still.

dasanyuan

t400s really solid. have to agree. i think they will discont the x3++ series soon... so sad.

goh, pm me ur machine type serial no.

naruto13

duno what happen my x201 thinkvantage just disappear, reinstall n said compability issue.

but for the battery and wifi one is still there. only the above one disappear, which when u on can see serial number etc one.

ahtea

duno what happen my x201 thinkvantage just disappear, reinstall n said compability issue.

but for the battery and wifi one is still there. only the above one disappear, which when u on can see serial number etc one.
What's the exact error message?

Disappear meaning? The program went missing from your Programs and Features list or you can no longer activate it?

naruto13

What's the exact error message?

Disappear meaning? The program went missing from your Programs and Features list or you can no longer activate it?

should it be in startup programs?

programs files only have think-vantage updates, even clicking that got error, came out compability issue.

went missing from my desktop, normal from right to left on the taskbar on bottom of win 7 is battery then wifi then the software that went missing.

i did reinstall but restart liao also the program nv came back.

before that i was prompt by the software to do update, which is inside the program that went missing.

ahtea

should it be in startup programs?

programs files only have think-vantage updates, even clicking that got error, came out compability issue.

went missing from my desktop, normal from right to left on the taskbar on bottom of win 7 is battery then wifi then the software that went missing.

i did reinstall but restart liao also the program nv came back.

before that i was prompt by the software to do update, which is inside the program that went missing.
I know what application you are talking about.

Did you try pressing the blue "ThinkVantage" button on your laptop?

Look under Control Panel's Program and Features to see if you find the "missing" software in the listing.

If possible, capture a screen shot of the error. It gives us a better idea here.

gohkhm

thinkpad wwan is always that type of price. $269 is reasonable le, at least for sg retail stores. frankly, i am not sure if it has to do with IDA or what, all the integrated WWAN modules are damn expensive in SG regardless of brand...

some shops even dare to tell me $300+ and still need to order somemore.

Hahaha. IDA probably charging $50 for the darned sticker "Approved by IDA"

So far I checked the cheapest is Lenovo SG website retailing for $230, but not sure if that includes GST leh.

@ Dasanyuan - pm you already...thanks again mate!

Does anybody knows how thinkpad cools? Is it by sucking air from the bottom thru all the holes and hot air get blew out by the fan on the left top corner?Which cooler is more appropriate for thinkpad w510. Any suggestion

gohkhm

Does anybody knows how thinkpad cools? Is it by sucking air from the bottom thru all the holes and hot air get blew out by the fan on the left top corner?Which cooler is more appropriate for thinkpad w510. Any suggestion

Pretty much all the coolers work the same way - ventilate from the bottom by pushing air upwards. You mean there are other coolers that do it differently?

shawn_sboi

W510 doesn't need cooler... it's temp is between 40-50 degree for normal usuage. I asked for the image few weeks back, i posted it at page 98...

This is a burnin test, stressing the processor to 100%

9rofae.jpg

OKK77

Does the service centre still have the front-portion extension for T61 docks? The part that is supposed to be hooked up when I use the wide-screen versions. Apparently, I didn't get it when I bought my dock two years ago. Damn!

Chua Zhiming

Hi guys , i am currently thinking of buying either the Thinkpad T410 or the W510 , this is my first notebook purchase. :o

Because its a school-discounted notebook , the price and specs are different from retail i think.

Can anyone advise on which is more value for money? Weight is no issue, performance most important.

http://www.thinkclub.sg/

btw, whats this turbo-boost for the processor?

Thanks for the advices ! :)

shawn_sboi

Hi guys , i am currently thinking of buying either the Thinkpad T410 or the W510 , this is my first notebook purchase. :o

Because its a school-discounted notebook , the price and specs are different from retail i think.

Can anyone advise on which is more value for money? Weight is no issue, performance most important.

http://www.thinkclub.sg/

btw, whats this turbo-boost for the processor?

Thanks for the advices ! :)

Haha hsa been explained before. http://www.intel.com/support/processors/sb/cs-029908.htm

W510 ftw! cause i'm using it though. However battery life is not as good, even though i never use it. T410 is not bad too :) depends on your choice.

Chua Zhiming

greenbeam1980

Exteneded Warranty For W510

Any Thinkpad users who just purchased their lappy at Republic Polytechnic recently?

I purchased my W510 in march but till now my extended warranty is still not updated yet(still at 3 yrs).
Anyone has the same problem as me?

Has called up Juzz1 twice, they mentioned it takes Lenovo some time for the updating. 2 mths not enough for updating??

shawn_sboi

Any Thinkpad users who just purchased their lappy at Republic Polytechnic recently?

I purchased my W510 in march but till now my extended warranty is still not updated yet(still at 3 yrs).
Anyone has the same problem as me?

Has called up Juzz1 twice, they mentioned it takes Lenovo some time for the updating. 2 mths not enough for updating??

Call the lenovo hotline :) mine is showing 4 years. :) I called lenovo to reflect it up on their warrenty website.

W510 doesn't need cooler... it's temp is between 40-50 degree for normal usuage. I asked for the image few weeks back, i posted it at page 98...

This is a burnin test, stressing the processor to 100%

9rofae.jpg

but mine is always abt 58 to 63 deg after 2 hrs usage and I dun game at all. It jus web browsing and maybe a few windows at one time . Some YouTube and msn messenger. So I dun Noe it that kind of temp normal or not. Or maybe my setting is wrong or not well set. Bro Shawn can guide me a bit on what setting to watch out and adjust to make the temp dwn somore? Thanks

shawn_sboi

but mine is always abt 58 to 63 deg after 2 hrs usage and I dun game at all. It jus web browsing and maybe a few windows at one time . Some YouTube and msn messenger. So I dun Noe it that kind of temp normal or not. Or maybe my setting is wrong or not well set. Bro Shawn can guide me a bit on what setting to watch out and adjust to make the temp dwn somore? Thanks

ooo 58 to 63 even normal usuage? that's weird, try to lift the back of your W510 up using rubber grips or Cooling wedge. :) should bring the temp down by abit. I don't use any cooler, maybe you can get one and post up the temp differences.

gohkhm

Thanks for the link !

Hmm , both the T410 and W510 got 4.5 / 5 stars...

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=5573&review=lenovo+thinkpad+w510

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?newsID=5525&review=lenovo+thinkpad+t410

Are the below differences worth $400 ?
- I5 vs I7 processor
- Nvidia Quadro NVS3100m 256MB vs Nvidia Quadro FX880M 1GB
- 14.1 WXGA vs 15.6" HD
- 3USB ports vs 4USB ports

About there... try to avoid wxga on a 14". I find 1280x768 a little low for that size. Get at least wxga+. HD is not that far off - only 1366x768, but for a 15.6" its still rather low res.

runestyx

Does anybody know when the x201 tablet multitouch will be available locally at retail shops?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.